Customer Reviews for

Dude, Where's My Country?

Average Rating 3.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    Informed

    In "Dude, wheres my country?" Moore does a great job of spilling out the actual truth of the past scandals with bush and corporote buisness, etc.<BR/>Throughout the book his casual yet very informative style of writing helps the reader understand issues alot better. Though the book is about mostly the wrongs of the country, Moore does a great job of keeping the reader entertained with his humorous antics, such as the letter from god.<BR/>Overall, it's a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    he know how to relate...

    Michael Moore does a fantastic job of grabbing peoples attention and letting them know what's really going on. In Dude, Where's My Country he writes about George W. Bush and the myriad of lies he's told to the American people. He talks about liberals and conservatives and what those terms really mean. This book contains a letter from God denying being the messenger of Bush, how to get Oprah Winfrey to run for President and an illustration of a form for a Direct Deposit of Tax Refund of $1 Million or More. What I like about Michael Moore is his sense of humor. He never loses sight of the lighter side of things. He points out what's wrong with this country but not in a cynical way. He shows us what to do to change what we don't like. Michael Moore knows how to relate to the average American and it comes through in his writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Llearn more about Bushfire

    By posting to the rouge Bushfire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Alli

    Sup people im trying too find my way around im ne wto this whole chatting world where can i go to talk with people not wherewolvesbor cats + i cant headlines so if u can put ur name in the review box tht would b cool ~alli

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    RESULT 9

    ~Ash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    funny, interresting, real

    Micheal moore is a very encouraged man. I think, most people are to anxious to tell there opiniion. Most people also won´t read the patriot act and then ask the republicans for it.A brave book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    A Masterpiece

    With the same wit as Stuipid White Men Moore doesn't again to show what kind of president we really have. If you liked Stuipid White Men I think you will like this. If you are a Bush supporter this is definitely not for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2004

    Michael Rowing A Scuttled Boat

    Dude, Michael Moore's country was the USSR, which fouled the bedsheets about 15 years ago. Michael (along with the Hollywood/Media/Clinton crowd)is spitting mad that the USA was not able to be delivered to Marxism before that philosophy took a swan dive. He's still fighting the good, if losing, fight, however, which is why I give this work 3 stars for effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    A Must Read

    I have looked into every fact within this book adn everything Moore claims is backed up by solid fact, or witty satire. Cannot wait for his movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    What a jerk!

    I don't see why any of you people like this book. I sincerly think that Mr. Moore is trying to brainwash and destroy this country. I read this book so I can get inside a liberal's head. What a mistake. He dosen't even do the research. He has a team of fact finders do it for him. And if he's so smart, I don't see why he won't debate Sean Hannity, one of the best talk show hosts out there. Moore is barely a writer and this is barely a book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    Excellent, just excellent

    Michael Moore is brilliant. What more is there to say? Read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    This review is directed at those on the Right

    I am far to the left politically, but I would like to make a suggestion to those on the political right who seek to gain some insight into leftist politics by reading this book. It probably won't happen. Moore's books are more to provoke the reader into discovering the truth on one's own. At least that's what I hope happens (that's what has happened when I have read his works). Do not take everything Moore writes at face value. It is not an accurate portrayal of leftist thought. Some individuals I know who have read both this book and Al Franken's Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them recommend the latter because it is more meticulously researched and footnoted (though I have not read it). So, my suggestion to those of the political right is to read Al Franken's book also to gain some insight into the minds of your political opponents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Great book

    I loved this book and found that it gave me a lot of information that I missed during his film 'Fahrenheit 9/11'. It is informative, very well researched and written, and frequently funny. The chapter with the letter from God alone is worth reading the book. Any voter who has not yet made up his or her mind, should definitely read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    Visionary; send a weed-wacker to the White House

    This is an excellent book, alternately (I hope I've used that word right) hilarious, inspiring, chilling, and outrageous. Yes, Michael Moore does use sensationalism and shock-value and even some occasional spin-doctoring, but, hey, who doesn't? Who hasn't? The end (waking people up and getting the right information and message to the public) more than justifies the means (name-calling, sarcasm, and making fun of McDonalds--I don't care how fattening their food is, in small doses, it tastes great). In this book, Mr. Moore is even commendably fair to conservative end of the political spectrum, which is more than can be said for many conservatives active in the political-medial scene. Whether you're right, left, or just a confused middle-of-the-roader, you should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Very Informative

    Great book with excellent insights. I have been a Bush supporter since his election, but this book paired with his movie, has opened my eyes to reality. I am very frightened for the future of our country

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Terrorism happens...Oh well, learn to deal with it

    I consider myself a fairly conservative polical thinker. I picked up this book with the intention to try and understand the liberals perspective. Really what I came away with is that Michael Moore is full of extreme conspiracy theories. Between all his ranting and raving about Bush trying to take over the world and comparing our presidency to Hitler, Moore blessed us with fake dreams about the future without plastic and electricity and tried to convince us that he represents the voice of the people killed on 9/11. The only part of the book that I thought was enlightening was when he talked about Bush and his cabinets oil ties and interest in the middle east. On the whole, this book was very disappointing. Don't read unless it is the last resort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Not as good as 'Stupid White Men'

    'Dude Where's My Country' was pretty good, but it definitely didn't feel as good of a read as 'Stupid White Men', also by Michael Moore. 'Dude' was a lot shorter, and it failed to totally surprise me and astonish me as 'White Men' did. I also still don't understand how and why Michael Moore managed to write a page and a half about why Oprah should run for president... Read it if you're bored and have nothing better to read. However, definitely not a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    he is only shifting the blame

    It surprises me that so many people forget think anti-American sentiments occured over these four short years, or even the years during Bush Sr.'s term. I have interviewed many in foreign countries with anti-American feelings and found that much of it has little to do with the corporate corruption here or just WHO the president is. Much of this hatred of Americans comes from first-hand experience that is passed along to friends and families. People need to remember that when they are visiting in foreign countries, they represent the entire United States and new stereotypes can and will be formed in accordance with their actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    simplify,simplify,simplify

    This book provides great insight as to the causes of Anti American hatred around the world. Lets face it the MAJORITY of people in this world love American people and hate American foreign policy.Eventually this will lead to outright hatred of American citizens if we don't see through the lies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Truth is Truth

    For far to long our country has relied on labels to classify people. Liberal, right-wing, black, white, everyone has to have a label, it makes us more comfortable. But if we just look at each other as humans sharing a planet things become a lot different. We all breathe the same air. We all want the best for our families. We all die. This book shows that some people who are still into making sure that they are the most powerful and rich (more labels) will do anything to keep that club a very small and private one. Michael sometimes goes to far in trying to create humor, but always tries to uncover the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5