BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dude, Where's My Country?

Average Rating 3.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    I Pity Moore....

    Moore belongs in journalism like an Amish guy belongs in Curcuit City. He is by no means a journalist or brilliant, (if I want political banter I will stick with Ann Coulter who is semi- educated in her thought) and his childishness makes me, as many other reviewers have stated, only more fascinated and content with my government, specificaly George Bush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Beats a Dead Horse

    While some may consider 'Dude, Where's My Country' to be a humorous case against conservatism and Republicansim, this book actually gives me more faith in my government, because it truly reassures me that liberal critics of George Bush have reached the bottom of the barrel in terms of evidence against him. When Moore has to turn to the old 'Freedom Fries' joke and unsubstantiated ranting in a desperate attempt to get our president out of office, I am assured that quite the contrary will happen this November. Final Word: Factually false + unsupported opinions = not worth your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    Buy this book for your teen - NOW

    Great ideas and a entertaining read. My teensagers loved it! Moore gave us hope. I am buying this book for all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Mr. Moore is a real man.

    I saw him speak in person on his Dude, wheres my country book tour, it was incredible. He has so much to say. The facts in this book are scary, we need to do something, and do it fast. Thank you for this great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    READ ONE CHAPTER!!...

    'Dude!' - Read one chapter of this book and you'll be hooked. I couldn't put it down. Mr. Moore continues to crack me - and rial me up in equal parts. Truly inspired work from a man committed to his country. See y'all this November...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE!

    Seriously folks, it's time to wake up and realize what is going on behind closed doors. This book isn't about republicans versus democrats or right wing versus liberals. This book is about starting a revolution against arrogant political and coorporate leaders who believe they have the world wrapped around their fingers. The world, and our country especially, needs to evolve and demonstrate respect, honor, and true liberty. America is losing face around the world thanks to this arrogant administration who bombs people for one reason that's a lie, then says it about liberation of Iraqi's, never mentioning WMD's since. We owe the world an apology by voting him out of office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    You'll like it if you like propaganda.

    He makes many valid points in his book that are both thought provoking and scary; however, as is being shown by knowledgeable critics, much of his 'proof' has been used out-of-context to irrationally support his distorted views.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    READ IT . !!!

    It is HARD, it is FUNNY and it is FULL of stuff that will surprise you! Did you know BUSH was in bed with the Halliburton (Chaney & Co.) guys to built a pipeline through Afgan county!? (What quest for peace?) Irak's WMDs? Gimmie a break! 400+ American Troops have died in Irak... read the true WHY! It is only $14.95 at Barns & Noble... you will get a kick out of it; ok, I know it is a bit harish but the FACT STATEMENTS and REFERENCES will spin any one 'OUT OF OFFICE!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Anyone with a bit of education should know...

    Anyone with the slightest bit of education would know that this guy is a sham. His 'supporting facts' are nothing but biased representations; that 'cuts and pastes' the truth. Biliographical citations do not mean very much since most of his answers are not tangible and are unfounded. (If you look past his hype and take what he says with a grain of salt, you'll see what I mean) Not all references are used accordingly. If you would like the same entertainment as the OJ trial or the White House intern scandal...only then would this be good reading. Other than that...it should not be taken seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    A decent read. . .

    This book was insightful and entertaining. It seems a few of the reviewers don't read with the 'fair and balanced' approach and actually fulfill Moore's description of a conservative - a person filled with hate. The toilet paper comment below demonstrates fully how grown up some of these readers are. It is amazing how a book by Ann Coulter or Rush Limbaugh can be touted by a conservative as gold even though each I have read further support hate and anger. This is not a revolutionary book on policy change etc. Just a blue collar approach to modern politics and an underlying attack on conservative values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Very Informing and Hilarious!!!!

    Moore discusses all of the questions we Americans had when 9/11 occurred. These are the same questions the Bush administration is trying so hard to dodge. He talks about the real reasons why America went to war (and its not about the WMD's). Thank you Mr. Moore for informing us in a hilarious way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    The Era of Conservative Blather is OVER

    Mike sets it straight down on paper for the whole world to see... the right wing of the Republican party has been given a blank check to exploit and lie their way to power for far too long. Read this book from cover to cover. When you finish, you will know that it is time to fight back. Time to tune all these Fox News RNC phonies out, because the working class people of this country are sick and tired of the lies they sell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Dude give it a rest

    In a perfect world Mr. Moore would pack his things and move to France. This book is a big waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Moore foolishness

    Another Bush-bashing book and people think this guy is right on the money. First of all people shouldn't blame Bush for their problems instead they should look to their Congress men and women who actually make the legislation that people whine about. Don't forget your state legislation as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Give Me a Break

    It is great to see that yet another liberal detests America, our freedom of economic success and belief in the values that have maintained our greatness. I find great humor in how Mr. Moore is a champion free speech as long as it does not contradict his ideology. I would love to see this guy on Limbaugh. Donate the $15.00 cover price to the homeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Honest Republican Conservative

    When George W. Bush was first elected, I was ecstatic that we were finally getting true leadership in the White House. Sadly, I am completely disillusioned with this President. For years we conservatives preached that no man, not even the President of the United States is above the law, and I won¿t apologize for the impeachment of the prior President for lying about consensual sex. However, I am somewhat disturbed that this president lied and keep lying to us about the justification for WAR... what hypocrisy on our part!!! Michael Moore this is a great book¿ I don¿t always agree with you, but this time you hit the nail right on the head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Very Poor

    If Mr Moore finds himself to be such a genius why isn't he running for Democratic nomination? This book is all rant and no substance. Blah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Refreshing words from a sage in the wilderness

    Having just read and re-read 'Dude, Where's My Country' by Michael Moore I must say that this book should be in every thinking person's library. If I were George W. Bush I would be very frightened of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    Excellent read

    Moore is an insightful man who opens the eyes of people to the truth of our country. It is a must read for Conservatives and Liberals alike. You've been lied to. There is a way to save our country, and Michael Moorn is on the right track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    Tax cuts = greed ???

    Moore is correct about Iraq and Israel. However, he is totally off when it comes to tax cuts. Just b/c you don't want 39% of your income going to special interest in Washington doesn't mean you are greedy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5