Customer Reviews for

Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Shadewhisper

    Is here ok she asks quietly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Moonpelt

    Gtg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Shadowpelt

    Yeah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent writing.

    Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris is a practical theology. It takes the matters many find confusing or weighty and relates them in a clever narrative style. With chapter titles ranging from 'God with a Bellybutton' to 'The Invisible Made Visible,' the attitude of the book is clearly conversational. Somehow the author is able to quickly deliver on deep topics in only 185 pages.

    Like - I love the writing. His theology is spot on and his shepherd's heart is clear but the way Harris writes is truly entertaining. On several occasions I laid the book down and just thought to myself what a great writer Joshua is.

    No Like - I have no complaints.

    Is it for you? - I would strongly recommend the book on two fronts. Dug Down Deep may be a fascinating introduction to Theology for those with little to no theological education. It would give the novice a framework of understanding that can later be filled in with books like Grudem's Theology. For those with a formal education this book is a refreshing review. It ties it together and attempts to force all of the theories into the realm of flesh and blood. Everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

    This is a book that I wish I could've read 30 years ago! Joshua Harris does a great job of making deep truths easy to understand. I am giving this book out as a gift as often as I can! Love, love, love it and the fact that it made we want to read the Bible even more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Dug Down Deep"

    Do you wonder why you believe what you believe? Do you have more head knowledge than heart knowledge about God? If so, this is the book for you! Joshua Harris uses practical stories and Scripture to point out how each of us can come to know God more deeply, thereby becoming a better Christian. Chapters like, "Ripping, Burning, Eating," "God With A Bellybutton," and "Changed, Changing, To Be Changed" pull the reader in, as each chapter begins with a wonderful quote setting the tone for what you are about to read. His easily understood principles and encouragement make it easy to find yourself in a deeper relationship with God.


    This is the first book I have read by Joshua Harris, but it won't be my last! I found his writing style pulled me in just as Max Lucado's does. The book is great for a personal Bible study, but would also be wonderful for groups. There are many discussion points here, and either way you read it, you will want to talk with someone about what you learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good stuff

    This was just an outstanding book all around. I am an old-school Max Lucado fan and I found this book to be very much written in the same style of what I have read by Lucado. Josh Harris has developed the same knack of teaching through story telling and getting some major points of theology across in a simple and easy to understand manner. I enjoyed reading his personal stories and his humor was refreshing.

    I particularly liked the last two chapters in the book the best - which I took very personally. Josh makes the very sobering point that our goal should not to be able to win a debate or an argument - but to present the gospel in love. Theology should be a tool in that endeavor - not in being puffed up with personal knowledge.

    Finally there are lot of nuggets of wisdom in this book. I found myself writing down a lot of quotes from both Josh and others (like C. J. Manhaney) while reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great deep and conversational book!

    The following book was received from WaterBrook Multnomah to read and review.

    I have enjoyed books by Joshua Harris in the past, recently Stop Dating the Church! So, when I saw this new book by him available to read and review, I very happily signed up. And I am very glad I did.

    "I've come to learn that theology matters. And it matters not because we want a good grade on a test but because what we know about God shapes the way we think and live." pg. 10

    The book Dug Down Deep is a book about "Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters." This book was about theology and doctrine, but also somewhat an autobiography of Joshua Harris. Mixing these two subjects together, made this book enjoyable, but at the same time challenging (In the best way!).

    While reading this book, I began to think many things (These are some of my personal thoughts while reading)...

    What do I believe?

    Does it truly make a difference in my daily life?

    Am I truly enjoying a deep and intimate relationship with Jesus?

    Or am I just living life on the surface?

    Am I truly living a life that aims to glorify God?

    I loved how this book helped me to think about these things and realize that I always want to be growing in my relationship with Christ and growing to be more like Him. And the more I learn about Him and His Greatness, the more I realize how much I need Him active in my personal life!

    "We live in a world that endlessly longs for personal, physical, relational, and political change. People search for change everywhere. But ultimately, only the gospel of Jesus Christ offers real hope for radical, lasting change because only through faith in Jesus can a person's nature be changed." pg. 149

    This book talks about many deep, theological topics (Like justification, adoption, and sanctification) in a way that makes the common reader understand and not feel overwhelmed or inadequate to be reading such a book. I personally love books about theology and found this book to help me grow in my understand of our amazing Savior!

    Dug Down Deep really encouraged me to make sure that I know what I believe, believe it to be true, and live it every day! I personally enjoyed Chapter 3, Near But Not In My Pocket, the best!

    I slightly disagree with Joshua Harris' theological views in Chapter 9, I Believe in the Holy Spirit, on the gift of speaking in tongues, an issue that is well debated in the Christian church, in general. However, the fact that we slightly disagree on this topic does not deter me from reading books by Joshua Harris in the future, because I truly do believe that his heart is in the right place and the fundamentals of his Christian doctrines of grace are correct and biblically sound.

    Overall, I would highly recommend this book and found it to be highly encouraging, as I have found with all the Joshua Harris book I have read.

    Thank you again to WaterBrook Multnomah for providing me a copy of this book to read and review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    I loved it !

    I loved this book from the very first page. As a matter of fact my daughter and I read it together. She loves it too. So that goes to show you that this book is for Christians of every age. I love how Joshua gets down to the nitty gritty of knowing what you believe.I had so many thought provoking "God" moments while reading this book. My fave was when he was talking about when Jesus asked Peter, "Who do you say I am?". Think about it for a second...who do you say Jesus is? Man, I started getting all these thoughts running through my head like, Who do I say Jesus is with my life? I call Him Lord with my lips but is that what my life says? If you are looking for a great read that will have you rethinking some details that you thought didn't matter; then this book is for you. You should buy it ... like right now... I'm serious... its great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    Great Book! Faith Changing!

    I received this book to review and as I sat down to read it...I just knew it was going to be awesome. I have to say I actually enjoyed reading most of this book. Mr. Harris uses language that makes you feel as though he were sitting in front of you speaking. He doesn't sound "uppity" at all.

    If you are someone who is either just beginning to learn about your faith or someone who has had faith for a while but really felt as if something was lacking...I would suggest this book. Mr. Harris uses illustrations from his own life..so all throughout the book you get this feeling of "I'm really not alone....someone else has been through the exact same thing...". I really feel as if this book has helped me to be more in touch with myself...with my spiritual self...and with God. I feel like I "know God" better..and that helps me to better understand my faith.

    Some phrases from the book that I took the time to put a sticky note near:

    " My friend Curtis says that most people today think only of themselves. He calls this "me-ology." I guess that's true. I know it was true of me and still can be. It's a lot easier to be an expert on what I think and feel and want than to give myself to knowing an invisible, universe-creating God. "

    " We have grown up in our own religious culture. And often this culture, with its own rituals and music and moral values, comes to represent Christianity far more than specific beliefs about God do. "


    " I learned that God's purpose for me is inextricably tied to his purpose for his people. My faith isn't all about me. It isn't only about my story and my journey. Being a Christian is about us belonging to God and to each other and then together fulfilling God's mission in the world. "


    Wow!! How on Earth someone could ignore statements like that...is beyond me. Mr. Harris delivers a powerful message in terms that even the person just beginning to walk in their Christian faith or people of below average intelligence could understand. This book will appeal to a broad range of people...and it will change lives.

    This review was originally published at: http://www.handshouseandheartfull.com/2010/01/dug-down-deep-book-review-by-joshua.html and I received a free book to review, nothing else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring New Book!

    I have been a fan of Joshua Harris since I Kissed Dating Goodbye. His book Stop Dating the Church did nothing short of changing my view of God's plan for the church. I have all of his books and frequently lend them out and recommend them to friends. When I heard he was writing a new book, I was thrilled to read it. Dug Down Deep soared beyond my expectations.

    Parting from what he is known for, Harris digs into the topics of orthodoxy, theology, and doctrine. Many authors would form these topics into dry, dusty textbooks, but Harris did nothing close to this. Dug Down Deep relates doctrine to everyday life. Harris explores such things as theology proper, God's sovereignty, and Christology. He shares how he built his life on truth, on a proper knowledge of God.

    Dug Down Deep is subtitled "Unearthing what I believe and why it matters." This is a highly personal book. Harris writes in a warm, engaging manner. I found it hard to put this book down. I wish I could give this book to everyone I know-believers and unbelievers alike. It is hard to resist the deep-rooted faith Harris has found. Buy a copy; you will not regret the fresh fire you find while reading Dug Down Deep.

    This book was provided for my review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1