BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dukan Diet: 2 Steps to Lose the Weight, 2 Steps to Keep It Off Forever

Average Rating 3
( 482 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(101)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

It works!

I tried this diet based on information I could get off of the internet because when I began it was not yet published in the U.S. I have been overweight most of my life, but was never successful at losing weight and had pretty much given up even thinking it was possible....
I tried this diet based on information I could get off of the internet because when I began it was not yet published in the U.S. I have been overweight most of my life, but was never successful at losing weight and had pretty much given up even thinking it was possible. But now I have lost over 30 LBS!!! 10 more to go! I can hardly believe it because this was SO EASY. I lost my attraction to sweets within 3 days (and always used to think there was nothing too rich or too sweet), and was never hungry. If you think you just can't lose weight, try Dr. Dukan's method. I am so happy I did ... and my husband lost 30 lbs also. His diabetes is now under control, so THANK YOU DR. DUKAN!

posted by 8022618 on April 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Bad advice

I bought this book in hopes to shed a few pounds for my wedding. After reading, I realized the advice was absolute junk. The author suggests to drink diet soda and use aspartame sweeteners!! This method is cannot possibly be healthy. The first phases you can't eat fruit...
I bought this book in hopes to shed a few pounds for my wedding. After reading, I realized the advice was absolute junk. The author suggests to drink diet soda and use aspartame sweeteners!! This method is cannot possibly be healthy. The first phases you can't eat fruits or vegetables.

posted by 6672916 on December 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 485 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    It works!

    I tried this diet based on information I could get off of the internet because when I began it was not yet published in the U.S. I have been overweight most of my life, but was never successful at losing weight and had pretty much given up even thinking it was possible. But now I have lost over 30 LBS!!! 10 more to go! I can hardly believe it because this was SO EASY. I lost my attraction to sweets within 3 days (and always used to think there was nothing too rich or too sweet), and was never hungry. If you think you just can't lose weight, try Dr. Dukan's method. I am so happy I did ... and my husband lost 30 lbs also. His diabetes is now under control, so THANK YOU DR. DUKAN!

    43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Devised by Dr. Pierre Dukan, a French medical doctor who has spent his career helping people to lose weight, the Dukan Diet rejects counting calories and promises permanent weight loss while allowing adherents to eat as much as they like.

    Originally published in 2000, the Dukan Diet swept across France, championed by people who successfully lost weight following its unique four phase regime. The Dukan Diet has helped millions in France, where it has been number one for more than ten years and adopted in twenty countries, including the United Kingdom, Poland, Korea and Brazil. All together, The Dukan Diet has sold more than 3 million copies worldwide.

    The Diet: 4 Easy Steps to Permanent Weight Loss

    Phase one: Attack
    Using Dr. Dukan's True Weight calculator, dieters determine a reasonable and healthy weight loss goal. Then they begin the Dukan Attack phase a two-to-seven-day period during which only unlimited lean protein and a daily Oat bran galette (or pancake) are consumed and dramatic weight loss is achieved.

    Phase Two: Cruise
    Dieters alternate days of unlimited lean protein with days of protein combined with healthful vegetables until they reach their True Weight.

    Phase Three: Consolidation
    Dieters stay on this phase for 5 days for every pound lost. At this point the diet allows unlimited protein and vegetables, and other foods (such as cheese and bread) are reintroduced. Dieters are also allowed two weekly celebration meals to stave off boredom.

    Phase Four: Stabilization
    This is the maintenance portion of the plan, in which followers are allowed to eat whatever they like without regaining weight - provided that they follow 3 unbreakable rules including eating only unlimited lean protein one set day per week.

    For each phase, The Dukan Diet offers clear simple guidelines for long term success. The Dukan Diet is the perfect diet for people who want fast weight loss, that can be maintained without counting calories or weighing portions.

    35 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    LOVE THIS

    It is really as easy as the quote on the cover, "2 steps to lose the weight, 2 steps to keep it off forever." I am halfway through the diet (on the second step to lose the weight) and I have seen great results. I recommend this to anyone who has motivation and can read ;)

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Enjoying my options

    Have found it very easy to follow, with only a very slight headache on day 2 of the attack phase. A plan I feel like i can live for life.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    Try it!

    I have been on diets since I was 10 years old. But, when I tipped the scales at my highest weight ever eariler this year, I knew something had to change. I liked the idea of this diet, especially no counting calories or portions. It is easy to follow. Of course, you will need to exercise some will power. And, you will need to EXERCISE a little bit. However, I have lost 15 pounds in a little over a month. I will definitely make this a lifestyle change. I was so convinced I would fail at this diet that I didn't take any "before" measurements or pictures. Now, I wish I did! Try it!! You will forget you are on a diet, that's how good you will eat!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Great book. Excellent diet plan and easy to follow

    I loved the book, the way it is written is wonderful. Very insightful into the way we eat and how to lose weight. Would recommend the book and the diet. I have lost 14 pounds already!!!! (only 2 weeks)

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Last Diet You Will Ever Have To Be On!

    This is a great book! I was on the diet after finding it in a magazine. I lost weight so quickly that I was already at phase 2 when I bought the book. The book explains why it works and what you need to do to be healthy on this diet. I am down 37 lbs and am keeping it off.
    Book is filled with recipes and provides a list of the 100's of foods you can have on this diet. Everyone I know that is trying this diet is having success!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Bad advice

    I bought this book in hopes to shed a few pounds for my wedding. After reading, I realized the advice was absolute junk. The author suggests to drink diet soda and use aspartame sweeteners!! This method is cannot possibly be healthy. The first phases you can't eat fruits or vegetables.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Excellent eating plan

    This diet is practical, it is the same concept for the Bariatric surgery diet menu after and before surgery.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    I started the diet hoping to shed some 15 or so pounds that had

    I started the diet hoping to shed some 15 or so pounds that had crept up on me. I started the diet about mid-January and have successfully kept off the weight. Since starting the diet, I must admit that I have strayed in the last month or two, but I primarily stick to a little-to-no-carb diet. This diet is not for someone without willpower. It is difficult at first, but it does get easier with time. I took multi-vitamins daily (and still do) to supplement any vitamins and minerals that I was not getting during the first month or two. Good luck!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Repeats the much of the same

    The book is a quick read and gives a good foundation but last two Chapters cover reciepts and selling the internet site. The book has alot of fillers

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    I have been on many diets over the years and this one has been t

    I have been on many diets over the years and this one has been the most successful. I have lost 47 pounds and my husband and everyone says I look great. Went from size 16 to buying size 6 jeans (with 1% spandex). I have five more pounds to go. After the first few weeks it got easier and easier. All you have to do is stick with it and take one day at a time.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Lovein' it so far

    Lots of rules makes this unambiguous...so for me, easier to stick to. There's a timeline and a forever plan that is not going to be impossible to live with. I've learned to cook some recipes that I really enjoy,including custard and super easy Oat Bran Pancakes, which can be either sweet or savory.

    And I've lost 15 lbs in about 3 weeks, so that helps!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Good plan

    Followed the plan for 2 weeks now. I have lost 10 lbs. Easy to follow

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Diet

    The book is not bad. It just not an eating program that would fit my dietary beliefs. Sorry i didn't read more about it before I ordered.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Totally INSANE!!!

    Diet soda? PROVEN cancer causing sweetners? NO fruits and veggies??? Seriously? Models sometimes stay thin chain smoking and/or using cocaine or ADD medication to kill appetite, why not try that, i mean SERIOUSLY! Or maybe laxatives?! Ugh! (In case it was not made clear smoking and/or illegal/leagal drugs are NOT safe!!!)

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    not an original idea

    not an original idea

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Too restrictive

    Ask yourself this: Can you maintain this way of eating for life? My answer was heck no. Don't waste your money.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Highly recommended! A diet plan that makes sense & works!

    The book clearly outlines the plan, makes it easy to follow and in the first 6 days I've lost 7lbs.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Good book

    Good book sensible advice. Lost 6.2 pounds in the attack phase. Felt great noy hungry. Still doing well in the cruise phase it isn't a diet a way of life. I recommend to try it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 485 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25