Customer Reviews for

The Duke (Knight Miscellany Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wow. Just... wow.

Okay - so I've read a TON of romance over the last year. I average about 3 to 4 books a week. My favorites are Julia Quinn's Bridgerton Series, S. Laurens' Cynster Series (just the first 6 or so), D. Gabaldon's Outlander Series and so on. I have to say after reading ...
Okay - so I've read a TON of romance over the last year. I average about 3 to 4 books a week. My favorites are Julia Quinn's Bridgerton Series, S. Laurens' Cynster Series (just the first 6 or so), D. Gabaldon's Outlander Series and so on. I have to say after reading The Pirate Prince, Princess and Prince Charming (my first 3 Gaelen Foley novels), I wasn't expecting a lot from The Duke. But whoa.

I mean... whoa. I'm not even half way through this book and already I've smiled, grinned, teared-up, frowned in anguish and FELT more for these characters and with these characters than I have for a long time. I felt COMPELLED to write my first ever full review of a book.

Brava Ms. Foley! Wow. The maturity of writing style and poignancy of the heart-rending, blushing, tripping, dare-we-hope? romance of Robert and Belinda... not to mention the first really spicy scene in Robert's library... *whew* *fans self* I can't wait to finish it!

posted by Sambagirl on September 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Woman set in Regency England

It was okay. The part I didn't like was how Belinda and Hawkscliffe could be soooo in love and yet he was going to marry someone else just because of his title and position in society. I guess I'm just used to those Highland Lairds who do what the hell they want when th...
It was okay. The part I didn't like was how Belinda and Hawkscliffe could be soooo in love and yet he was going to marry someone else just because of his title and position in society. I guess I'm just used to those Highland Lairds who do what the hell they want when the hell they want and screw everyone else's opinion!

posted by MaryPatK on January 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    This was probably my favorite book of all time. It made my heart

    This was probably my favorite book of all time. It made my heart race, it made me cry. One of the most beautiful love stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great read

    Page turner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. Just... wow.

    Okay - so I've read a TON of romance over the last year. I average about 3 to 4 books a week. My favorites are Julia Quinn's Bridgerton Series, S. Laurens' Cynster Series (just the first 6 or so), D. Gabaldon's Outlander Series and so on. I have to say after reading The Pirate Prince, Princess and Prince Charming (my first 3 Gaelen Foley novels), I wasn't expecting a lot from The Duke. But whoa.

    I mean... whoa. I'm not even half way through this book and already I've smiled, grinned, teared-up, frowned in anguish and FELT more for these characters and with these characters than I have for a long time. I felt COMPELLED to write my first ever full review of a book.

    Brava Ms. Foley! Wow. The maturity of writing style and poignancy of the heart-rending, blushing, tripping, dare-we-hope? romance of Robert and Belinda... not to mention the first really spicy scene in Robert's library... *whew* *fans self* I can't wait to finish it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    A very romantic story.

    This was my favourite out of all the knight series.It was amazing from beginnig to end.Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Woman set in Regency England

    It was okay. The part I didn't like was how Belinda and Hawkscliffe could be soooo in love and yet he was going to marry someone else just because of his title and position in society. I guess I'm just used to those Highland Lairds who do what the hell they want when the hell they want and screw everyone else's opinion!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    A wonderful Story

    I just finsihed reading this book today and I can not say enough good things about it. It was a great story. The duke is a great hero in the story and Bel is a great herione. They are great for eachother. This story was very well written. The scenes are great. The bathtub scene was really good. Go out and read this book you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Amazing

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Love! From beginning to end this book is AMAZING!!!

    Love! From beginning to end this book is AMAZING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    One of my favorites

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Love!!!

    I have read this book several times...and each time it seems to get better. Gaelen Foley is one of my very favorite authors and I can't wait to see more of her work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    recommend

    Good read. Made me look for more form this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Truly wonderful

    Oh how happy I am to have found this amazing story! A wonderful romance that defies all odds. Starting with this book, I have read through all the Knights Miscellany Series, as well as the Spice Trilogy. These books by Gaelen Foley have been some of the most beautiful and amazing love stories I have ever read. I can't wait to read them all over again, starting with The Duke!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Best romance I've read in a long time!

    This book was wonderful - I couldn't put it down. My heart was in my throat for many parts. Buying the next book in this series right now I can't wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    What a surprise!

    I really recommend this book. I red about it in Heroes heartbreaking website and bought it. I didn't regret it. It was a beautiful romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gaelen Foley never fails to deliver

    "The Duke" is a wonderful exciting read. You never know what is going to come next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Really good story

    This was a relatively quick read. Characters were well developed, although some questions were never answered. (Perhaps in other books in the series?) Overall, I would recommend for those who like romance novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    wonderful

    Gaelen Foley really surprised me! I'm a huge fan of Judith McNaught and Julie Garwood but haven't been able to find another author that I really enjoy until now! I finished this book in two days, I had a hard time putting it down! Can't wait to start the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great start to the Knight series

    I actually read the other books and this was the only one left for me to read. I love gaelen and the whole series, this wasn't the exception although i felt the end was a little rushed and left me thinking what happened to the some of the other characters in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    In a Word: 'Beautiful'

    Belinda Hamilton's father has been thrown into debtor's prison and the man responsible for her family's ruin now pursues an unhealthy obsession with Bel. She is living on the streets, making her way in the world by selling oranges and fending on the nearly violent affections of Dolph Beckinridge, the man responsible for her desperate situation. One day, after visiting her father in prison, Bel is brutally attacked and raped. Dazed and traumatized by her ordeal Bel somehow ends up in a halfway house for prostitutes. Following her attack Bel is determined to better her situation and leave the dangerous streets of London by any means necessary. She goes to Harriette Wilson, a legendary courtesan, and it is there that she learns the ways of the Cyprians. Suddenly Bel is the most sought after demirep in the entire city. She is determined to find a kind and decent protector to keep her safe from the dangers of the world. But she cannot be kept safe from her own heart. Robert Knight has just endured the death of the woman he loved from afar. The wife of a close friend, Lucy was everything Robert thought he could have wanted in a woman. Robert suspects the woman's relative, Dolph Beckinridge, of her murder and so he sets out to ruin the man. He starts off by procuring Belinda Hamilton, Dolph's obsession, as his new mistress. Little does he know that this seemingly professional courtesan is not what she appears to be. Initially someone might think that Bel's decision to whore herself for a high price is completely disgusting, but I could reallly see her reasoning behind her choice. After suffering such humiliations for so long I understood that it was a choice to gain control of her life, not necessarily to submit. Robert does not respect Bel at first, he has no desire to dally with a courtesan but to seek revenge on Dolph. But Bel soon proves that she is no hardened and common prostitute, but rather a woman of substance and intelligence. Robert begins to understand that he loves her, regardless of her choice of profession. Please don't mistake Robert's initial low opinion of Bel for misogyny, he was raised his entire life to look down on absolutely everyone, especially courtesans. Eventually he learns to see Bel for the woman she is and not the whore London society has deemed her. The romance that ensues is beautiful. Belinda's vulnerability and determination warm Robert's cold and stoic demeanor slowly, but with such perfection. This is the first book in the Knight Miscellany and I highly recommend the entire series. Although it is not necessary to read the books in order I suggest that you do, starting with The Duke. You'll fall in love with Robert and Bel's story almost immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    A Royal Joy to Read...

    This is the 2nd novel by Gaelen Foley¿s that I bought via B & N. I also read ¿Prince Charming¿ (pretty good) and now this one, ¿The Duke¿. This was one of the most complete and enjoyable novels I have read in a very long time! Reason¿it had it all. Interesting and likeable main hero and heroine, pleasing and detailed story line and memorable ending. Although I did not like that Bel was violated by an evil prison warden very early on and thought that might turn me off to the story instead¿it allowed Bel to have a well rounded character. A woman who had a simple but, good life before she was harmed and then¿one who can stand on her own after she is no longer innocent. I liked that Bel took the cards life dealt her and made the best of everything ¿ whether she had to sell oranges to stay alive or become a well known courtesan for money, food and a home. She was nobody¿s victim. Thus¿her warm character, gentle, sensuous ways and hearty soul made her loved by all. In turn, the Duke, Robert¿was handsome, intelligent and so very honest and loving. Although he was taken in by some people ¿ so much that he almost appeared a simpleton ¿ it really showed how he believed deeply in people until they showed otherwise. Bel & Robert meet and interact as she needs a protector and he needs her help to solve a crime. He was so very gentle and warm and giving with Bel that he became a one of a kind hero. I liked how multi dimensional these chacaters were - they did things for their friends, family and those in need. They weren't stuck on themselves or what money could buy. They experienced life to the fullest. The love scenes in this book were close to perfect ¿ it took time for the attraction to properly build to a high level, then Robert got pleased, then Bel got pleased and then eventually they found pleasure as one. This book will make you wish for your very own Duke. The love scenes are what many women fantasize about. It¿s steamy and sexy while still being very tasteful. Robert was so strict with himself on his career, friends, lifestyle and more that I wasn¿t sure how he was going to get out of marrying the right socialite for his career and keep Bel on the side as his mistress and love. Bel clearly wasn¿t about to be second to anyone. Robert found that out the hard way. Know that the ending was a beauty ¿ it involved the theatre, a white horse and a red rose for love. Robert and Bel¿s love is why we all dream. I sure appreciate when I can smile from ear to ear in pleasure when I am through with a novel and did I ever smile with this one! Buy The Duke, read it, keep it in your library and know that this author and story will stay with you long after you turn the final page. This book was five stars and then some!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5