Customer Reviews for

The Duke and I (Bridgerton Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Witty Regency romance

In 1813, Simon Basset, the duke of Hastings, is prime meat for the mothers of débutantes and is front-page news for the gossipmongers of the ton. Everyone seems to need to read the recurring installments of Simon¿s non-matrimonial life as described by columnist Lady Wh...
In 1813, Simon Basset, the duke of Hastings, is prime meat for the mothers of débutantes and is front-page news for the gossipmongers of the ton. Everyone seems to need to read the recurring installments of Simon¿s non-matrimonial life as described by columnist Lady Whistledown. Rumors abound that the bachelor has selected a fiancee, a veritable nobody named Daphne Bridgerton.

Actually, Simon and Daphne have cut a deal to pretend they will be getting married. He is no longer a candidate for every mother and she has the opportunity of meeting beaus since she has been relegated upward by a duke. Daphne does not want to marry anyone except the love of her life. Simon wants to marry no one. However, neither one accounted for love exploding between them when they first made their agreement.

Very few writers are on a par with witty Julia Quinn (see HOW TO MARRY A MARQUIS) when it comes to a humorous, entertaining Regency romance. The mighty Quinn¿s latest novel, THE DUKE AND I is a jocular tale that will leave sub-genre fans fully satiated yet desiring more works, especially starring Lady Whistledown and her column.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Scenes were too graphic. Not necessary - Otherwise a great story!

I can not recommend this book due to the graphic sex scenes. Ruins the book.

posted by cindyluski on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 321 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Witty Regency romance

    In 1813, Simon Basset, the duke of Hastings, is prime meat for the mothers of débutantes and is front-page news for the gossipmongers of the ton. Everyone seems to need to read the recurring installments of Simon¿s non-matrimonial life as described by columnist Lady Whistledown. Rumors abound that the bachelor has selected a fiancee, a veritable nobody named Daphne Bridgerton. <P>Actually, Simon and Daphne have cut a deal to pretend they will be getting married. He is no longer a candidate for every mother and she has the opportunity of meeting beaus since she has been relegated upward by a duke. Daphne does not want to marry anyone except the love of her life. Simon wants to marry no one. However, neither one accounted for love exploding between them when they first made their agreement. <P>Very few writers are on a par with witty Julia Quinn (see HOW TO MARRY A MARQUIS) when it comes to a humorous, entertaining Regency romance. The mighty Quinn¿s latest novel, THE DUKE AND I is a jocular tale that will leave sub-genre fans fully satiated yet desiring more works, especially starring Lady Whistledown and her column. <P>Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Outstanding

    I have been sampling historical romances (about fifty authors in all) and this easily changed my views that the genre contains content not worthy of commentary. With multi-dimensional main characters, a simple yet thoroughly engaging plot, and excellent writing, this first 'Bridgerton' has captivated me enough to get a Nook, simply to be able to access the entire series. Julia Quinn is easily one of my favorite authors.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    !

    Sure wish bn would stop harriet klausner from revealing all in her 'reviews'. I read reviews to c if the book is good or not, not to have the entire plot dissected by this wannabe review queen.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Scenes were too graphic. Not necessary - Otherwise a great story!

    I can not recommend this book due to the graphic sex scenes. Ruins the book.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is the first book that I read by Julia Quinn! And I fell in love with her writing, it is soooo good. The story line was interesting and very enjoyable. The characters were funny and felt like real people. It was just amazing and I have been trying to get my hands on all of Julia Quinns books!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Great book and well written. Enjoyed the plot because it was dif

    Great book and well written. Enjoyed the plot because it was different from many other romance book I've read. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Pretty Good.....................................................

    Pretty Good..................................................................
    Nice girl from nice family meets nice duke from horrid family.   Predictable but well written.   I would like to know what was in the letters though.   I would  definetly read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    What else is there to say?! Reading a book by Julia Quinn is absolutely heaven! Good story here, great writing; humorous, witty, fun. I laugh til I cry at times. Wonderful book! Wonderful author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    If you like Series Books these are the books for you. With a infamous author who writes down everything about everyone at every ball to the oldest daugther of the Bridgerton Family to the Duke of Hastings. A good love story is in here also and friendship and love for the family. I have also read: The Duke And I 2nd Epilogue, The Viscount Who Loved Me, The Viscount Who Loved Me 2nd Epilogue, An Offer From A Gentlemen, An Offer From A Gentlemen 2nd Epilogue.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Superb!

    This book is absolutely superb. I started reading this morning and I am hooked. Sadly, I have no battery power on my nook (ahhhhhhhh!!!!) so I will have to finish when I get home. No more ad hoc break from work ;)
    Ms. Quinn writing style is captivating. I immediately fell in love with the characters; their strength and wittiness. Thus far one of the best books I've read in a while. Can't wait to finish!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    One of my Faves

    this was a very good romance novel, that introduced us to the Bridgertons. Wonderful family. Simon has a lot of issues but I was glad that Daphne was there to help him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    Good start to the series

    This story was a good start to the series, though it was the promise of more stories to read that helped me make it through. The characters the author has created are relatable and easy to sympathize with. Overall, I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Duke Place

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Loved it

    Great book just the right amount of everything, love this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Loved this book so much I've continued buying the whole series!

    Stephanie Laurens Cynster series was my absolute favorite, but upon discovering the Brigerton's I've got another whole family to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was wonderful and all I could have hoped for. I love Q

    This book was wonderful and all I could have hoped for. I love Quinn's romances for their witty humor and how she can take us into each character's life with such ease. The Duke and I delivers and then some. Simon and Daphne are wonderful. Julia Quinn has created characters who are down-to-earth and so likeable, they feel like well-known friends. Simon is intelligent and makes Daphne's ( and my ) knees weak. I especially enjoyed Daphne who is a strong woman who knows what she wants and loves her family and her duke in ways that feel real, not overly romanticized. You will laugh, fall in love, and maybe even cry a little. It is one of Julia's best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    good read

    I have read this story line, but liked the main female lead. I will be reading the others in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Ah, Julia Quinn, one of the geniuses behind historical romances

    Ah, Julia Quinn, one of the geniuses behind historical romances of our generation. For the last three years, I have been meaning to pick up a book by her but never got the chance until earlier this month and I am speechless. I fully understand why she's such a big hit all over the world.

    'The Duke and I' is the first book of the Bridgerton Series. A series that each represents a member of the Bridgerton Family. In this case, 'The Duke and I' was all about Daphne, the eldest daughter of the family.

    For Daphne the one thing she hated the most was when her mother introduces her to every amiable bachelor at every ball they went to. Don't get her wrong, Daphne wants to marry but every gentleman she likes turns out to only want her as friend and all the men who would even think about marrying her seemed to be the odd ones with weird habits and weird faces. Hence, she has her moments of self-doubt, unrequited love and so much more. In the end, she can't take anymore of suitors she can't see herself happy with and the indirect rejection with the bachelors she actually sees herself marrying.

    But then one day, Simon, a friend of her eldest brother comes back into town and after running away from his share of single women. He confides in Daphne and comes up with the wonderful idea of faking their 'interest' for each other to keep the women and men at bay. And it worked!

    I adored the plot! What kind of hopeless romantic woman wouldn't? It had all the characteristics of the best historical romances I have ever read. It had your unrequited love pains, the steamy moments, the snarky banters, the shy romantic scenes, and most of all, the conflict that brings the couple closer than ever. And honestly, I would love to see this romance in the big screens.

    Julia Quinn built her characters around hardships that each and every one of them faced. In this book, we were made to hate Simon's father for disowning him because of his son's disability. Likewise, we were made to love every one of the Bridgerton children from the eldest to the youngest. Their bond and love for each other is as realistic as it gets. Imagine bickering in the sophisticated dialogue of the 1800's.

    This book was page-turning and is one of those books that keeps you up all night with its sweet moments, and hilarious banter. And no matter how many historical romances I manage to read. I will always enjoy them. And this book was no different. If you're a romance junkie waiting for your next fix, why not try the historical kind? Julia Quinn might surprise you with her amazing Jane Austen writing. I'm definitely getting the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Boring!

    The first 1 hundred pages merely covers about 3-4 conversations within 2 days. The scenes feel dragged out and unnecessary and do not meaningfully contribute to the establishment of a romantic relationship between the 2 characters. When your book is only 280 pages long, I do not see how you can take 100 pages merely to set the scene and spend endless time on sarcastic candor between characters. I'm an avid reader of romance novels but this one is the first I've read in a while that I'm struggling to get through. Read the Wallflower series by Lisa Kleypas instead!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Very well written, not as predictable as I thought!

    Very well written, not as predictable as I thought!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 321 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17