Customer Reviews for

A Duke of Her Own

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Disappointing!

    What a shallow story line. Too fake and lacking in depth for my liking. How can the chaperone be compromised yet still retain her job and how does a loving brother suddenly turn rogue without the writer showing some possible traits he could be so?
    I think the author should have worked harder at making the story more believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Mvl

    I liked most of this book but i just didnt like that the two main characters didnt have money. I want fiction not reality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Where have I been? Why did I think Lorraine Heath wrote only abo

    Where have I been? Why did I think Lorraine Heath wrote only about Texas? I LOVED this book!! It's exactly the kind of historical romance I look for. Great characters (and chemistry between them). The hero seemed to be a selfish, irresponsible rake, but as we (and the heroine) learned more and more about him, that was not the case at all. Ms. Heath does a fantastic job at creating sexual tension; I especially loved the way the hero would try to fantastize about the rich American girl he needed to marry and was so annoyed because the heroine kept taking her place in his fantasies. I read the first 145 pp before work. I read the rest straight through when I got home. And I wish I hadn't finished it so I could keep reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    Sexy Passionate Heartache Romance

    London during the late 1800's was a time of change. Many titled gentlemen with no money were scouting the ballrooms looking for the many rich American heiresses that wanted to purchase a title. Where does that leave someone like the lovely Lady Louisa Wentworth, the daughter of an Earl with no dowry? Refusing to become a gentleman's mistress she advertises to become a lady's chaperone to one of the many heiresses, promsing to make only the best match. She is accepted by the Rose family, who have two daughters Jenny and Kate. Soon her brother Alex, the sixth Earl of Ravensley, and his friends, Michael Tremayne, the fourth Marquess of Falconridge and Randolph Selwyn, the fifth Duke of Hawkhurst want to be in the running. They all want the beautiful Jenny Rose, but Louisa knows this trio of rogues only want the money and does not trust them with Jenny or Kate who are looking for passion and love in a relationship. Immediately Jenny and Kate's mother, Mrs. Rose knocks the Marquess and Louisa's brother, the Earl out of the running, as only a Duke will do for her daughters. Louisa is relieved, but then it soon becomes difficult because the handsome Duke of Hawkhurst is definitely in the running and he is one who she not only mistrusts and dislikes, but she finds herself uncomfortably drawn to him. Likewise, Hawkhurst cannot get Louisa out of his thoughts. When he is with Jenny Rose, all he sees, smells and wants is Louisa. His lust finally spins out of control when he sets up a plan to catch Jenny in marriage so he can get away from her chaperone who is driving him out of his mind with lust, when it is Louisa that shows up instead of Jenny Rose to spoil the plan. The lust he feels for Louisa can no longer be held back and he compromises her. They are found by her brother Alex and the Rose's son Jeremy Rose. He is then forced to marry the penniless Lady Louisa. The struggle then begins between both Louisa and Hawkhurst because there is such passion that is quickly turning to love in this relationship, but also disappointment, as Louisa realizes Hawkhurst really did need Jenny Rose's money not only for his estates, but for his mother and an illegitimate sister he has kept secret for years. The story is a true delight from the courtship, lust, passion, love, stuggle, and sacrifices that must be made in love. The ending is a near heartbreaker, but has all the components of a true romance that is as old as time. Boy gets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl. A truly wonderful heartwarming read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Well done...

    Set in London, 1888. Lady Louisa Wentworth is now twenty-six years old. With no dowry and only her breeding to offer for anyone considering marriage, Louisa decides to forget wedding and takes matters into her own hands. She places an ad within a lady's paper offering to chaperone a genteel American lady in need of social guidance. With all the recent American heiresses entering town, in hopes of marrying into titles, it is not long before Louisa is hired by the Rose Family. ................. Alexander 'Alex' Wentworth is the sixth Earl of Ravensley and Louisa's brother. He is NOT happy about his sister hiring out as a chaperone, but admits they are in need of the money. Alex wants Louisa to help him wed one of the two Rose daughters, but his sister does not believe it would be a good match for either of the girls. ................. The Duke of Hawkhurst 'Hawk' is one of Alex's close friends and also wants a good word put in with the Rose daughters. Louisa has feelings for Hawk, though she tries to keep it hidden. Besides, Hawk also needs to wed for money. But then Louisa and Hawk are caught in a compromising position. ................ **** A well done regency romance that will certainly capture your attention quickly. There is nothing truly new or original in the story however, it is well worth your time and money. This is a terrific way to spend a rainy afternoon! ****

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Great story!

    I enjoyed reading this book so much. I laughed out loud and cried, too. Reading what the characters are thinking and feeling made the book hard to put down. I was riveted to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2