Customer Reviews for

Duma Key

Average Rating 4
( 563 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

One of King's Best

I have read most of Mr. Kings books since my fist book read by him called Salem's Lot. Duma Key was his first book to take place out of the New England area. If is not my favorite book written by him but it is in my top five after The Stand, IT, Green Mile and Dreamca...
I have read most of Mr. Kings books since my fist book read by him called Salem's Lot. Duma Key was his first book to take place out of the New England area. If is not my favorite book written by him but it is in my top five after The Stand, IT, Green Mile and Dreamcatcher. Duma Key is one of those books I would read until I had to put up because I was ready to fall asleep. Just a great, great book.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I hate to say it, but could've done without it

I am a big Stephen King fan, but after reading this one, I think his newest novels will receive a pass from me. I don't know if he's lost his touch since he's gotten older or what, but this is NOT a favorite by any means. The idea was good, but it took SO LONG to actu...
I am a big Stephen King fan, but after reading this one, I think his newest novels will receive a pass from me. I don't know if he's lost his touch since he's gotten older or what, but this is NOT a favorite by any means. The idea was good, but it took SO LONG to actually get to some action in this book, and then the action wasn't exciting. It seems that about 350-400 pages after Edgar arrives on Duma Key, all I read about was 'talking' under-house shells, his missing arm itching, and his paintings. Tolerable if it was kept to a minimum, but it wasn't. Another thing I didn't like was the injection of his political views (through Edgar) into the story. I've never read King or any other novelist to find out their politics; if I want political commentary, I'll buy a book specifically for that, or I'll turn on one of the cable news outlets. Anyway, the 'action' at the end: lacking. There were a few moments that I started to think, "Ok, maybe this will redeem that last 600 pages", but no, it doesn't.

posted by Sarah_N_NC on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 563 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    One of King's Best

    I have read most of Mr. Kings books since my fist book read by him called Salem's Lot. Duma Key was his first book to take place out of the New England area. If is not my favorite book written by him but it is in my top five after The Stand, IT, Green Mile and Dreamcatcher. Duma Key is one of those books I would read until I had to put up because I was ready to fall asleep. Just a great, great book.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant and powerful with the perfect amount of creepy and freaky

    Ahh... what can I say about Duma Key, other than it being an extraordinary experience, a literary breath of fresh air, a masterpiece of color and texture without any actual paint being used. I guess there are some people out there think it's boring or long but I instantaneously felt a bond with the book and I can say that I absolutely loved it! The writing itself was so colorful and interesting that I enjoyed each and every page, there was in no rush to get to the ending by any means, but I did like the end, it matched the enigmatic feel of the story and it had a lush, tropical feel to it but it was tainted by something dark and eerie and quite frankly very creepy because it was deadly. Those affected could have never imagine their demise, and whether they believed in it or not, it was coming. I was attracted to this book right away, partially because of the cover; it always begged to be read and as an artist it touched my sensors in ways that kept me thinking of it often so I finally had to sit down and read it and also because one of my best friend who started reading it and I had to follow suit so we could enjoy and discuss it together, it as a real threat to read it at the same time and marvel at the unfolding story.

    Edgar Freemantle is a handicapped man who moves to a mythical island of Duma Key, a place that doesn't exist in reality but seems more real than half the vacation spots I've been in. He rents a salmon colored house and starts painting with his remaining arm, paintings that change his life - at first for the better but later he realizes that his new found gift is very hungry, and it hungers for things most precious to him. His recovery seems to progress until he starts feeling his missing arm, at the same time strange storms are coming to the island and things that shouldn't be real are happening, Edgar knows that his paintings have more power and meaning than he could have ever imagined and it's up to him to solve the mystery that has enshrouded Duma Key for generations and left many skeletons during it's rein. The story jumps off the cliff with an appearance of a ship on the horizon, Edgar knows that its not good news, something strange and deadly is on that ship and the closer it gets to him during those storms the stranger the hold on his sudden artistic talents and the results are quite shocking, but hey they make for great reading. After reading it I can safely say that it's one of my favorite books ever, I even got the hard cover version so I could have the full dust jacket with it's glorious art to see while I read the paperback and carried it with me everywhere. This might not be for everyone, but that's totally fine with me, I loved it and it made an impact on me, I'm sure there are people out there who wont like it, and that's fine, It only makes me feel lucky that I'm not one of them!

    This story is like an exotic fruit bowl, gorgeous from every angle and full of mouth watering rainbow of flavors. The characters in this tale are extremely realistic, from the kooky and zany to mysterious and deadly, each plays a part that paints such a grand picture that the more I think about it the more I feel the need to read it again, just to dip back into that pool of "ahh.." it creates.. It's really hard to explain but this book was marvelous and it made a bond with my imagination, one that will stay with me for a long time. There is plenty of original mystery and horror and love and growth combined with

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    Duma Key by Stephen King

    I love Stephen King books. This is a long reading book, but you can get lost for hours in it.
    Keeps you enthralled and wanting to find out what happens next. I actually bought it on CD also so that I could work around the house and listen to the story.
    Excellent.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I hate to say it, but could've done without it

    I am a big Stephen King fan, but after reading this one, I think his newest novels will receive a pass from me. I don't know if he's lost his touch since he's gotten older or what, but this is NOT a favorite by any means. The idea was good, but it took SO LONG to actually get to some action in this book, and then the action wasn't exciting. It seems that about 350-400 pages after Edgar arrives on Duma Key, all I read about was 'talking' under-house shells, his missing arm itching, and his paintings. Tolerable if it was kept to a minimum, but it wasn't. Another thing I didn't like was the injection of his political views (through Edgar) into the story. I've never read King or any other novelist to find out their politics; if I want political commentary, I'll buy a book specifically for that, or I'll turn on one of the cable news outlets. Anyway, the 'action' at the end: lacking. There were a few moments that I started to think, "Ok, maybe this will redeem that last 600 pages", but no, it doesn't.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    I loved this book and didn't want to put it down. However, I only gave it 4 stars because King needed to add a few more details to complete the story for me; and of course I did not appreciate the way certain characters had to die. I actually found the back story of Elizabeth Eastlake so good that I wish King would have spent more time writing about her. I really wanted to know what the main character ever did with the rest of his paintings. Did he sell them or destroy them? I also feel that this book would make a fantastic graphic novel and I would love to look at the art that King so vividly describes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    All I can say is WOW!

    As usual, Stephen King knows how to write a story. "Duma Key" starts off totally different than most of his books in that I began to think he had just gone to "mildly weird" instead of his usual "jerk you off the chair" weird. I was reading along thinking it was just an enjoyable read when the book shifted into more of what you expect from reading Mr. King's books - a story that won't allow you to put the book down. Thank you, Stephen King, for sharing the stories in your head with the rest of us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    His best work to date

    I have read and/or listened to all of Mr. King's work and this, I feel, is by far his best work to date. Couple that with John Slattery's dead-on skills at interpreting the characters through his voice as he's reading the story and you've got one memorable experience. I've listened to this book several times now & I find something new each time. As I read in one professional review (and I agree with), King doesn't wander off course in this novel as he sometimes had a tendency to do in his earlier work (I have yet to read "Under the Dome", but one might guess from the sheer size of the novel that some deviation from the main course might take place). The story is to the point, the characters are as memorable as some of my personal favorites (take, Andy Dufresne for example). All in all, a great read/listen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Perhaps annealed by Kings horror

    First off, let me preface this review with the assurance that I LOVE Stephen King's books. I love his effortless way of writing. I love his characters and the weird warp of his stories. Now, having said that, I have to say this story isn't going on my top-favorites from King. I personally felt he could have taken more chances with the main character, thrown a little more "OH HOLY $--t!" moments at us. Don't get me wrong, there were many moments that teetered on that for me, but not like, well, The Shining, for example. That book had me so wrapped up in terror, it was hard for me to breathe without scaring the bejeesus out of myself. But Duma Key is a more mature work, and had I not had anything from King's vast library of horror to compare it to, it would have been a solid 4 stars. As it is, the bar is raised higher for me for Mr. King and this one rated a 3.5 (altho the rating system only let me rate whole numbers). It was a good, enjoyable adventure. But as far as "in-your-face" horror a la King, it felt more like a combination of his scary stories and his mainstream fiction stories. It was a nice combo, just not what I *personally* was looking for when I read this book. That being said, the writing is fantastic as always. Still, a King fan all the way.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Nice use of the supernatural

    King always, always does a great job of making me feel as if Im "in" the story and along for the ride. I love the bits of knowledge incorporated in all his works. His stories leave me full and satisfied but I always find myself hungry soon after for more. I enjoyed the use of the supernatural and at times, my right arm was itching with Edgars. This story is great inspiration for anyone with creative and or artistic talent that hasnt yet gone public. I had 2 questions at the end of the book but wont post them as it is a crime to ruin the plot or ending for someone else in my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great Read - couldn't put it down.

    My boyfriend bought me a Nook for Christmas. I purchased this book, and had it read in 6 days. Great story. One of Stephen King's best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Incredible

    Read rhis book, it is so mutha truckin good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Love love love

    Excellent excellent characters. Loved every page. Definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Unexpected

    I have to admitt I haven't read a King novel in over 25 years. I saw this book on sale and thought I'd give it a try. I liked it. I loved Edgar's relationship with Wireman. I laughed at his relationship with "Red" - you bad bad man. I had some preconceived notion that the book was going to be scary (maybe b/c I read his early books as a youngster) but it was just enjoyable. If you haven't tried King in a while, give it another try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    something new

    I am an avid Stephen King fan, and this book was another success, but it was also something different from his norm. He's THE master of his genre, but he may have missed a second calling as a comic writer. There were a couple of scenes in this book that had me laughing til I cried. It was wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Ranks with The Stand as one of my all-time King favorites!

    Duma Key is vintage King -- meaning it's almost impossible to put this book down once you turn page one. The main character is Edgar Freemantle, a construction company owner, who is still trying to recover from an almost fatal injury caused by a crane at one of his work sites. Yes, the plot does have a ring of familiarity, doesn't it, considering King's own brush with death after being hit by a car a little over ten years ago. The crane accident results in Edgar loosing an arm and in a round about way, his family when brain injury causes Edgar to have bouts of amnesia and anger issues. Edgar's doctor orders a change of scenery to help him in his recovery and something pulls Edgar to south Florida's, Duma Key. While in Duma Key, Edgar picks up a paint brush -- and lets just say, the fun begins.

    With a small cast of endearing characters and a story-line that simply enthralls, Duma Key will make you think twice about vacationing at the beach this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Duma Key is a must read

    I just finished reading Duma Key and loved it. The way Stephen King writes, I felt like I was there on Duma Key. The characters seem so real and when the bad stuff starts, it sucks you right in. There are very unexpected plot turns that left me in tears. The way Stephen King decribes things, I could feel the pain the people were suffering. Also, things he reference compel me to research further, such as music and art. Great book for your library and I would recommend it for everyone who loves a good, scary story with a touch of sentiment. Buy it now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Great

    Enjoyed the book and a good twist...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    one of his best

    Sometimes I read a long book and wish it were shorter. But reading Stephen King's Duma Key was not one of those times. The story is beautifully plotted and paced, from the slightly off-kilter wonder of the first page-"Pictures are magic, as you know"-to the real-world tragedy of a brain-injured one-armed man, to the fearful, awful revelations around page 600.

    The heroes in this novel are very real, very wounded people, old enough to know a bit about life, and sad enough to maybe wish they knew less. There's a woman suffering with Alzheimers, sometimes there, sometimes far far away, and sometimes somewhere in between. There's the man who cares for her. And there's the builder turned artist, whose brain injury leaves him struggling for words, whose honesty compels him to blame himself when his family drives him away, and whose pictures come to glorious life in the author's vivid descriptions.

    There are lessons about forgiveness and hope, about flawed relationships, and love and loss. They're lessons just as valid to the only slightly wounded as to these characters coming to terms with the hurts of their pasts. And there's a beautiful sympathy in the telling. Meanwhile there are undercurrents of whispering fear, childlike requests that hide a child's memories, and grown-up obstinacy that hides an all-too-familiar childlike fear.

    I loved the characters and wished I could see them healed. But Stephen King is a master of making the most of only partial healing, reflecting the real world in the imaginary, as his character's pictures reflect their own strange truths.

    Duma Key is a haunting book filled with complex characters, thoughts and images; a long, slow, scary and wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    great book

    a little to long and it seems to drag the plot out, but it was still very enjoyable and I do recommend it, make sure you have a couple of days available when you start it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A King Masterpiece

    worst attempt was to read The Stand, which I found to be too realistic... So I sat him aside for a while. I'm really glad I got back into him, and Duma Key was a great book to start with.

    I think this book was brilliant. King writes from Edgar Freemantle's point of view. We get to go through his rehabilitation with him. In the begining I had a hard time understanding what Edgar was trying to say, but as the book goes on and Edgar learns to speak again, and I got used to how he talked I didn't notice the speech problems.

    The story took me a VERY LONG time to read. I think I bought this one back in March and I just finished it, so just shy of 6 months. Part of this was because I was reading other books and part of it was because the beginning was kind of slow. But once I got about halfway through and was really connected to the story it only took me a few days to finish it.

    As the story got going, and I started to figure out what was going on, I couldn't stop reading it. I had a few sleepless nights with this one.

    As usual King's writing takes you on a trip along with the characters. I could see what was going on clear as day. There was very little that I couldn't picture. Even the weird stuff was described so well I could see exactly what King was describing.

    This was a great book, and I'm glad I stuck it out. 700 pages seemed pretty daunting, but there was so much that made the story that had it been cut to make the book shorter I know I wouldn't have liked this one. If you like Stephen King and haven't read this one go get it, it's well worth it. If you've never read King and think 700 pages is too much just take my word, you won't be disappointed. Just promise you'll read through at least halfway before you decide if you want to finish it or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 563 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29