Customer Reviews for

Dumb Witness (Hercule Poirot Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Gem Among Christie's A Literary Gem--Absolutely Fabulous

The Dumb Witness is (probably) the first Agatha Christie book I've ever read and certainly one of the best. It taught me a lot about the character Hastings (who is now one of my favorite protagonists of all time) and sucked me into the marvellous world of Poirot and mur...
The Dumb Witness is (probably) the first Agatha Christie book I've ever read and certainly one of the best. It taught me a lot about the character Hastings (who is now one of my favorite protagonists of all time) and sucked me into the marvellous world of Poirot and murder mysteries in general. It's brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

posted by 13163498 on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dumb Witness is DUMB

this book stinks. it had a really slow start and its about a old lady who tripped over the stairs because of the dog's little ball (Bob) and Poiort says its b/c of a little string that supposely tripped Miss Arundell. its just lame. I am a Chrisite fan but this book was...
this book stinks. it had a really slow start and its about a old lady who tripped over the stairs because of the dog's little ball (Bob) and Poiort says its b/c of a little string that supposely tripped Miss Arundell. its just lame. I am a Chrisite fan but this book was not good at all.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    LEXI TO ELIJAH

    Im lovked out..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    A Gem Among Christie's A Literary Gem--Absolutely Fabulous

    The Dumb Witness is (probably) the first Agatha Christie book I've ever read and certainly one of the best. It taught me a lot about the character Hastings (who is now one of my favorite protagonists of all time) and sucked me into the marvellous world of Poirot and murder mysteries in general. It's brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    An Agatha Christie Must-Read

    This was the first Agatha Christie novel that I had ever read. As I began to read, I realized that I couldn't put the book down. This novel got me hooked on Agatha Christie's books and on the mystery genre in general. If you ever get the chance, read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Dumb Witness is DUMB

    this book stinks. it had a really slow start and its about a old lady who tripped over the stairs because of the dog's little ball (Bob) and Poiort says its b/c of a little string that supposely tripped Miss Arundell. its just lame. I am a Chrisite fan but this book was not good at all.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Wonderful

    A rich old woman writes to Poirot claiming that someone was trying to kill her, the part of the letter that made Poirot intrested was the date.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    A Mute Witness

    Poirot receives a letter from an old, well off lady who says that someone is trying to kill her.One attempt has as already been made but it fails. Unfortunatly the same can not be said for the second attempt and the lady is dead before Poirot can even talk to her. The suspects are members of her family who all needed money but the only witness to this crime is the old lady's dog Bob.He ,of course, can not speak but can he in his own way show Poirot the killer?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    Execellent one of Christie's best!!!

    this book was outstanding! i couldn't put it down! i love how it unfolds in such an interesting fashion. the dog, bob, plays a big role in this novel! I strongly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I honestly could not put this book down! Itis a little long, but who cares? It lasts longer. The dog,Bob, plays a significant role in this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant book. Ending hits you like a land mine.

    Brilliant book. Ending hits you like a land mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Kevin

    What?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Slave

    Uhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Claire

    How old u?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2