Customer Reviews for

Dune

Average Rating 4.5
( 687 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(525)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book But Digital Download is Too Expensive

This is an excellent book and I would highly recommend it to anyone. My only problem is why is the digital download version twice the price of the paperback edition? You can go into any bookstore and buy this book for $8 for paperback and used bookstore can get it for...
This is an excellent book and I would highly recommend it to anyone. My only problem is why is the digital download version twice the price of the paperback edition? You can go into any bookstore and buy this book for $8 for paperback and used bookstore can get it for $2 - $4, yet the digital download is $16. I buy brand new bestsellers for less than that. Don't know what the publisher is thinking here. I know the price is set by the publisher and not B&N because they all are that way so not blaming B&N. The publisher needs to learn something about the cost savings for digital downloads because there is no reason why the digital version should cost twice as much as the paperback version.

posted by going4broke2005 on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not on the Nook

As Duke pointed out, the nook has trouble displaying this ebook correctly. A buddy loaned this to me, very cool feature by the way, and I couldn't wait to start reading it. From the opening lines though I noticed that some of the text was cut off on the right side of ...
As Duke pointed out, the nook has trouble displaying this ebook correctly. A buddy loaned this to me, very cool feature by the way, and I couldn't wait to start reading it. From the opening lines though I noticed that some of the text was cut off on the right side of the page, as if the page justification wasn't quite right. Changing font/size made no difference, the error was always present. Now is the book unreadable? No, far from it, and the book likes fine using the B&N reader software ... but I wanted to check this out on the nook. The whole point of having an ereader is to make the reading experience more convenient, not endure some shoddy version of a favorite title. Whatever the problem is, and I hope it's something minor, FIX IT. Maybe ditching the legacy file format and getting an actual .epub out to the masses would help fix things, who knows. But please, sort this out.

posted by Roseph on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 688 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Excellent Book But Digital Download is Too Expensive

    This is an excellent book and I would highly recommend it to anyone. My only problem is why is the digital download version twice the price of the paperback edition? You can go into any bookstore and buy this book for $8 for paperback and used bookstore can get it for $2 - $4, yet the digital download is $16. I buy brand new bestsellers for less than that. Don't know what the publisher is thinking here. I know the price is set by the publisher and not B&N because they all are that way so not blaming B&N. The publisher needs to learn something about the cost savings for digital downloads because there is no reason why the digital version should cost twice as much as the paperback version.

    41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Works Fine With Nook Now

    Great book. Works fine with Nook now after the April 2010 Nook update/patch.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    Not on the Nook

    As Duke pointed out, the nook has trouble displaying this ebook correctly. A buddy loaned this to me, very cool feature by the way, and I couldn't wait to start reading it. From the opening lines though I noticed that some of the text was cut off on the right side of the page, as if the page justification wasn't quite right. Changing font/size made no difference, the error was always present. Now is the book unreadable? No, far from it, and the book likes fine using the B&N reader software ... but I wanted to check this out on the nook. The whole point of having an ereader is to make the reading experience more convenient, not endure some shoddy version of a favorite title. Whatever the problem is, and I hope it's something minor, FIX IT. Maybe ditching the legacy file format and getting an actual .epub out to the masses would help fix things, who knows. But please, sort this out.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Stupid Price

    $15.00? Are you kidding me? Buy the paperback for $7.99.

    15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Does not play well with nook.

    This is not a review of the book itself but rather a review of the digital download. Dune (40th Anniversary Edition) has problems on the nook. About 10% of the last letters at the end of a line are cut off. This happens with all font sizes and both fonts.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    Frank Herbert's Seminal SciFi Classic

    Frank Herbert did not simply write a great science fiction novel; he created an entire universe of amazing detail that is filled with characters so well developed that they become real enough to be believed -- no matter how very different they are from our own selves. Herbert laid a fabric of many plot lines, intrigues, and twists that the reader might become intractably enmeshed in the worlds of Dune eagerly and anxiously awaiting the next book in the series (as the Dune universe has been lovingly and skillfully continued by Frank's son Brian and his writing partner, Kevin J. Anderson). When I first read Dune back in 1987 I was so strongly attracted that I finished it in a day and a half, and then immediately began reading the remaining four books of the then extant series inside of four days. A rare thing for me.

    One should regard Dune as a master classic of scifi on par with any of the great scifi writers: Asimov, Heinlein, etc.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    A Classic

    This is a novel which transcends the time in which it was written. Not content to be merely a gripping story about a gifted and cursed boy who becomes a man who changes the destiny of humanity, Dune reveals its true value in its portrayal of a deep understanding of our species's past and present using an original, deep, and organic future. Nearly 50 years on, Arrakis and its surrounding politics and religious fervor are as relevant as ever, and Frank Herbert's expertise in crafting a believable world consistent unto itself assures this relevance will not be lost on readers growing up in a different age.

    While Dune is one of the best science fiction novels ever written, it would be a disservice to classify it only as such. Indeed, Dune, like other great works of fiction, uses a skillfully constructed setting to tell a story any reader would benefit from. The science fiction trappings serve as exciting window dressing for the main attraction: a profound look into the histories and natures of societies, of self-righteousness, of decadence, of religious fanatacism, and of people who wield such things as weapons.

    Herbert's classic is a must read for anyone who wants to read one of the best books ever written about power and influence by and via large masses of humanity.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So Creatively Written that it is an Experience.

    I read Frank Herbert's Dune as a teenager and I just lived in the pages, and it still remains a favorite of mine. This edition is a larger book size than what I had then. As I reread this later edition today, I relive Dune once again. It is an inspiration to see how others adapt to a planet with a difficult environment. The different cultures are presented well. The science fiction concepts are excellent. And, I experience the smell of spices when reading parts of it. This is science fiction at its finest. The writting style is superb--of another world quality. There is much wisdom in Dune, and as a fan of Asian philosophy, I can write that Dune is depth.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    What gives?

    Charging this much for a digital version should be a crime. What would Herbert say?

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    My Fav book of all time!

    I'm going on the record to say that this is my favorite book of all time. It's scope is beyond description. I read it once a year and I guess I've read it about a dozen times. I even love the so-so movies that have been made based on the book. I never get tired of the characters and just the entire universe in general. I'm even listening to the new audio version of the book which is a great production.<BR/><BR/>- Robert

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    A defining work and a life changer

    I read 'Dune' when it first came out in the early 70's and I can truly say that the work changed my life. The door to the world of Science Fiction had already been cracked open for my by the juvenile-oriented works of Robert Heinlein and Isaac Asimov. 'Dune' blew that door right off its hinges. As I look back over 30 years of dedicated Sci-Fi reading, there are other books that stand with Dune as works head and shoulders above the general milieu of the genre, but those are measured by their ability to reach as high as Dune itself. If you read only one science fiction novel in your life, make it Dune.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Must Have

    The book "DUNE", by Frank Herbert is a science fiction novel. Dune was originally published in 1965 with 537 pages, and won the Nebula Award and the Hugo Award in the following year. Dune is a science fiction novel which started a saga and many spin-offs. In this review, I will give a brief summary and an evaluation of the author and book. I believe Frank Herman has created a truly unique book. The writing is very powerful, although the author created words, so some people may find it hard to remember certain concepts of the book. Dune makes reference to Islamic and Arabic words, like Fedaykin and in real life Feday'yin. Dune also has the concepts of Zen paradoxes, religion, ecology. I myself found the book very interesting and powerful. I would definitely recommend it to others, as even today it is still a unique book, and for ten dollars, it is definitely worth it.
    Dune takes place in the far future where humans have colonized countless planets throughout the universe, with various royal houses all led by the Emperor Shaddam Corrino IV. Technology has become extremely advanced, although computers and artificial intelligence are prohibited, because of an incident prior to the book. Because of lack of A.I, humans called Mentats have highly developed minds to perform the functions of these machines. Besides the royal houses and the emperor, there are three other major groups. The Space Guild who makes space travel possible through the use of Navigators, humans mutated by excessive and huge amounts of mélange, but they are also addicted to the mélange, a powerful spice with special properties. Also, is the shadowy matriarchy known as the Bene Gesserit, whose goal is to keep the Human Race alive while advancing it. They also rely on mélange for their powers, but also become addicted. Lastly, is the CHOAM Corporation, who is the base of the economy, with shares and directorships which determine a royal house's income and financial leverage. In Dune, everyone wants control of the desert world of Arrakis, because it is the only source of the most valuable thing in the universe: the spice Melange. It is the most valuable substance because of its uses to everyone: the Space Guild needs it for Navigators, the Bene Gesserit need it for their powers, and the royal houses and CHOAM want it for its huge financial gain. The story centers around Paul Altreides, heir to the Altreides royal house. The Altreides and the Harkonnens, another royal house, have a long lasting feud. Altreides' military is starting to rival the Emperor's, and so gives him Arrakis, as part of a Harkonnen plot to the Altreides.
    I found Dune very enjoyable and well worth my money. If you liked Dune, then you should also check out the other books in the series, Dune Messiah, Children of Dune, God Emperor of Dune, Heretics of Dune, and Chapterhouse: Dune. I definitely recommend buying the book or finding it in your local library.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing to compare to

    When I was in my early 20's (30 years ago) I read both The Lord of the Rings and Dune. I spent many subsequent years trying to recapture the magic of those two novels, with no success. Like LoTR, Dune is so far beyond anything that's ever been written in its genre that there in no comparison. And to think it was written in the 60's is absolutely mind-boggling. It was decades ahead of its time. You're lucky if you get one like this per century, and Dune is the one.<BR/><BR/>Recently I listened to the audio version, which is superb. And I realized how much of the novel I was unable to grasp back then, how deep the themes are and how amazing the premise is. If you've read it already, give the audio a try, you'll be riveted.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Excellent digital edition of an outstanding book

    I've had this version of Dune since it first became available, and at that time the ebook was plagued with formatting errors. I just wanted to chime in and let any interested parties know that these problems have long been remedied. There are no longer "cut off" lines of text and the introductory bits of each chapter are properly formatted and aligned. So if you're already a fan, buy this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    An excellent read--but eBook version full of errors

    I don't know whether the text needed to be re-keyed in by hand, or the OCR software employed on a scanned copy is poor, but in either case the Nook version of Frank Herbert's classic novel is rife with typographical errors. Words are misspelled, spaces have been omitted, sometimes entire words are missing, and many special characters fail to display properly. Considering this is the "40th Anniversary Edition" and costs more than the physical paperback version of the novel (presumably because of the additional effort needed to render into electronic form), I expected more. At the very least a thorough proofreading. I've half a mind to demand a refund.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Wow

    I first read this book in middle school almost 17 years ago & it still grabs hold of you!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Still an Epic SciFi Classic

    It's been a good 20 years since I've read Dune. I've been introducing my 10-year old to science fiction and thought I'd see if he was ready for Herbert's classic. I'd forgotten the intensity of the story-telling. Herbert's language is big and bold and you get a sense of the poetry his son writes that Frank H. used when crafting this SciFi classic. There is no levity in the story. All aspects of the plot are deep and weighty and dramatic.

    I found myself realizing how the core plot can be found in many an epic tale - Kings and Queens battling over power and treasure. The setting is science fiction, but there's a significant fantasy component baked into the prophetic and magical powers of the two lead characters: Paul and his mother Jessica.

    This story is placed in a space-traveling future on a planet called Dune...as desolate, dry and remote as the name sounds. The Atreides family is in a generations-long battle with the Harkonnen family. Both are embroiled in the treacherous manipulations of the Imperial Emperor, the all-female religion-building Bene Gesserit, and the space traveling monopoly holding Guild.

    Herbert has built an imaginative, vast and realistic Universe. It's clear from this debut novel in a series whose publications stretch over 40 years, that Herbert put a tremendous amount of thought and effort into layering on the flesh of his world's history, past, and future. And all aspects are based in bits and pieces of our own histories, religions and cultures. And this doesn't even cover the very clear and obvious ecological message wrapped around the true central figure of the book - Planet Dune. The metaphysical philosophizing works well within the royal dramas and intrigues.

    This edition contains an afterward written by Herbert's son Brian who's carried on the Dune tradition with a series of books published over the last several years placed in the Dune universe along various timelines relative to Dune.

    Stay away from the movies, but absolutely jump (back) into this book. At about 500 pages, it's still a fast and exciting read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dune - old but still relevant!

    This is one of those classic sci-fi books that I picked up second hand at a beach shop and it has become one of my favorites! The story is epic that details a planet in turmoil due to its' severe environment and inhabitants. The political intrigue is complex and timeless. This story is wonderful for indepth conversations on religion, politics, and story telling. Dune becomes real and continues throughout the saga in Herbert's sequels. You will so enjoy this tale!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    Outstanding book!

    i had loaned my original copy of this fine book, and had to get a replacement to keep my full set complete. this is my fourth time rereading this set. there's no equal, and im not normally a science fiction reader.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Magnificent!

    As a 16 year old who loved to read sci-fi and fantasy in 1980, Dune blew me away! Its the only book I ever read in a single day! From the opening scene of the "gom jabbar" to the final fight between Paul and Feyd I was enthralled. I still read it every couple years and each time I gain new insight into mankind and every aspect that drives humanity. I dont know of many stories whose themes encompass so much of what it means to be human in such a concise and well written manner. Shakespeare himself would be green with envy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 688 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35