BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dune

Average Rating 4.5
( 690 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(526)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book But Digital Download is Too Expensive

This is an excellent book and I would highly recommend it to anyone. My only problem is why is the digital download version twice the price of the paperback edition? You can go into any bookstore and buy this book for $8 for paperback and used bookstore can get it for...
This is an excellent book and I would highly recommend it to anyone. My only problem is why is the digital download version twice the price of the paperback edition? You can go into any bookstore and buy this book for $8 for paperback and used bookstore can get it for $2 - $4, yet the digital download is $16. I buy brand new bestsellers for less than that. Don't know what the publisher is thinking here. I know the price is set by the publisher and not B&N because they all are that way so not blaming B&N. The publisher needs to learn something about the cost savings for digital downloads because there is no reason why the digital version should cost twice as much as the paperback version.

posted by going4broke2005 on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not on the Nook

As Duke pointed out, the nook has trouble displaying this ebook correctly. A buddy loaned this to me, very cool feature by the way, and I couldn't wait to start reading it. From the opening lines though I noticed that some of the text was cut off on the right side of ...
As Duke pointed out, the nook has trouble displaying this ebook correctly. A buddy loaned this to me, very cool feature by the way, and I couldn't wait to start reading it. From the opening lines though I noticed that some of the text was cut off on the right side of the page, as if the page justification wasn't quite right. Changing font/size made no difference, the error was always present. Now is the book unreadable? No, far from it, and the book likes fine using the B&N reader software ... but I wanted to check this out on the nook. The whole point of having an ereader is to make the reading experience more convenient, not endure some shoddy version of a favorite title. Whatever the problem is, and I hope it's something minor, FIX IT. Maybe ditching the legacy file format and getting an actual .epub out to the masses would help fix things, who knows. But please, sort this out.

posted by Roseph on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    Desert Tale

    I was disappointed with this novel since despite some prophetic qualities in the description of Herbert's Dune milieau the writing was colorless, lacking in irony and his use of internal Dune vernacular tiresome and confusing. The action is limited and the story is carried mostly by dialogue or soliquey. The baron is the most ironic and colorful character and we don't see much of him after the 1st third or so. I will admit Herberts influence on some of the scifi that came later but his writing as the dessicated planet he tries to describe. Paul's growth as a character seemed far from convincing. The one irony I found interesting is that the Bene gerserit (or whatever they were called). I have not read any of the other Dune novels, nor played any game spin-offs so I am judging this on its own merits.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    I never got into it!

    I heard that this book was really good book from my friends and my librarian, but I really couldn't ever get into it...I thought it would pick up from the slow begining but it never did. I was real disappointed, I opened the book expecting a book that I couldn't put down but it never caught on. Sorry to those who love the book but I would NEVER read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    You

    Thursdayl s I POP T M

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Dune: this book is about a boy thrown into the plans of many dif

    Dune:
    this book is about a boy thrown into the plans of many different organizations while still learning the powers of himself. He is part of an overtaking of his fathers throne and has to live the natives of Arrakis, the fremen. These people see him as a religous leader and he actually becomes the tale. He is able to see the past, present, and future.
    This book has the theme of no matter what happens, you can always fight back. I did not like how long it took for the story to be set up, and just when the book was getting good, the book was over, leaving a bad taste when done with the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Muslims in space... thats about it, Hate it.

    Muslims in space... thats about it, Hate it.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Classic book but full of typos

    The nook version has typos like every other page. Mostyly minor. Still very dissapointinh because this nook book cost so much more than most other nook books and even the actual paper book for dune. I also feel like it was missing a few pages. Even entire sections. There were passages i remeber reading in the past that were nonexistent in the nook version. However it might have just been a memory of the other dune books...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Not so great for fans of action

    I have just finished reading the Sci Fi space book, Dune, written by Frank Herbert. The book was a very good idea and was well written but a little hard to follow. The book didn't really explain itself well, except for the glossary at the end, but that was pretty much the only reference you had. Even though the concept was fascinating, the author could have done a better job in telling the reader what was going on in more depth.
    To me, the book was a very good idea and gives the reader a lot to think about. The story left me wanting to think about it and imagine all the possibilities from reading the book. It sent my imagination soaring, and it was very exciting to learn from an imagination of another man. The book was a well thought out idea, but I would say it could be made into a better and easier to understand book.
    The characters to me were very interesting with great, bold personalities. They had a zing to them that made them unique in their own way. They all had some tone of great intelligence to them, and they sounded like they were really important and well thought out. The names didn't stand out at all and were quite boring and dull, but it helped me know which person was which, so I could always remember what and who the character was when their name popped up in the story.
    The main character, Paul, has to go on an epic quest to find his destiny and help the "Freeman" on the planet "Dune", which is mainly the point of the story. Well, he doesn't really know it, but he will later on learn. He is a boy born into a type of school, mainly for girls, to learn the school's ways. It's a little hard to explain unless you read the book, but it's like the school is teaching the "students" some sort of "powers." if that's what you want to call it. But it's a little more complicated than that. It is more of a way of thinking. it's a little strange.
    I thought the scenery was a clear definition of how it looked according to the book. The made up planets were described really well, and I could picture it clearly in my head while I imagined the possibilities the planets could have and what they would be like. The descriptions helped add to the problem being given in the story and how it basically affects the story itself, which made it more interesting.
    "Dune", a desert planet where the story mostly takes place, has a war going on between two independent groups. Think of it as fighting WWII on Death Valley; it's a tough place to battle on. The reason they are fighting? It's over a type of spice. You're probably thinking: "Spice? Who cares! A war over spice!? That's outrageous!!" But it's not. This is a super "magical" spice that mainly allows you to live longer and travel far and fast in space! Two for the price of one, huh? So you can see why there is a war going on here, considering the spice is found only on Dune.
    The storyline or plot is OK, but if you are looking for an action thriller book, this may not be the right one for you. I thought the characters talked too much and not enough was really going on. But that may just be me. Things are happening but not enough; it's mainly dialogue and thoughts of the characters with some narrating here and there, but that's my opinion.
    Personally it wasn't that good to me, and I think it could be made into a way better story.
    It's probably because it's an older book than what you would read today. Other than that, I liked the concept of it and liked the imagina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1