Customer Reviews for

Dune

Average Rating 4.5
( 696 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(530)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book But Digital Download is Too Expensive

This is an excellent book and I would highly recommend it to anyone. My only problem is why is the digital download version twice the price of the paperback edition? You can go into any bookstore and buy this book for $8 for paperback and used bookstore can get it for...
This is an excellent book and I would highly recommend it to anyone. My only problem is why is the digital download version twice the price of the paperback edition? You can go into any bookstore and buy this book for $8 for paperback and used bookstore can get it for $2 - $4, yet the digital download is $16. I buy brand new bestsellers for less than that. Don't know what the publisher is thinking here. I know the price is set by the publisher and not B&N because they all are that way so not blaming B&N. The publisher needs to learn something about the cost savings for digital downloads because there is no reason why the digital version should cost twice as much as the paperback version.

posted by going4broke2005 on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not on the Nook

As Duke pointed out, the nook has trouble displaying this ebook correctly. A buddy loaned this to me, very cool feature by the way, and I couldn't wait to start reading it. From the opening lines though I noticed that some of the text was cut off on the right side of ...
As Duke pointed out, the nook has trouble displaying this ebook correctly. A buddy loaned this to me, very cool feature by the way, and I couldn't wait to start reading it. From the opening lines though I noticed that some of the text was cut off on the right side of the page, as if the page justification wasn't quite right. Changing font/size made no difference, the error was always present. Now is the book unreadable? No, far from it, and the book likes fine using the B&N reader software ... but I wanted to check this out on the nook. The whole point of having an ereader is to make the reading experience more convenient, not endure some shoddy version of a favorite title. Whatever the problem is, and I hope it's something minor, FIX IT. Maybe ditching the legacy file format and getting an actual .epub out to the masses would help fix things, who knows. But please, sort this out.

posted by Roseph on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 530 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    do you really need to read a review before you read dune.  If yo

    do you really need to read a review before you read dune.  If you're here you have already heard how good it is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Spledid

    I live this book and everything about it, it was all I was waiting while reading through all 11 prequels! 100% A*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Abyss from Tribe of a Hundred Beating hearts

    Different abyss. You mistaked that rper for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Abyss of the Revo

    Kk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Great novel

    Started reading Dune because of NPR Science Friday's review of Dune in their July's "SciFri Book Club" coverage. Highly recommend listening to this broadcast if you are unfamiliar with Dune.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I truly enjoyed this book even though I had watched the movie. The movie made sense AFTER I read the book. :) Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    This book

    This book was so boss I almost thought is was morw boss then I was. That ranks highly on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Awsome book

    A little slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    One of the best ...

    One of the best sagas in science fictio , I inclide all eight Dune books here (includng those co tinued by the late Herbert's son with Kevin J. Anderson). It is not only a saga about space, despair, hope but of those things that are always present in every human drama: love, hate, political agendas, intriguw, betrayal, and the concept of the Benne Geserit is intriguing as well as their hightened abilities by melange or "spice"and the debate of clones and gholas, human copies or true incarnations?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Absolutely read this series

    This is the second or third time I have read Dune. The whole series is wonderful with vivid descriptions of the places and people that bring the stories to life for the reader. The difference between Dune the book and Dune the movie is considerable, in my opinion, and make reading the book as a comparison even more worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    I would highly recommend it to anyone

    I would highly recommend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    A novel so masterful that it transcends the genre of science fic

    A novel so masterful that it transcends the genre of science fiction.  The sweeping story has such an a level of complexity and detail that you never want to leave the world that he has created.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    I've read this book more than a dozen times. It's one of my all-time favorites.

    It's an intelligent story of loyalty and betrayal, power and politics. Herbert's description of the universe could have been written about American politics, medieval England, or tribal struggles on the African interior. The Game of Thrones is a direct descendant of this style of writing. Frank Herbert was one of the classic science fiction writers whose work transcends the genre. The characters are compelling and intriguing. I have read this book more than a dozen times and every few years I find myself drawn to reading it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Have you seen it on '1600 Penn', the show?

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ABOVE^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    As a lifelong science fiction and fantasy fanatic, I have to say

    As a lifelong science fiction and fantasy fanatic, I have to say that this book is far and away my favorite. I am an individual who has seldom read a book, or anything else for that matter, more than once, yet I have read this book at least 3 times and loved it each time. This book is the greatest masterpiece of science fiction I have ever encountered and would recommend it to anyone. The world creation, the interactions, the raw power of Frank Herbert's vision is beyond compare. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Amazing classic!

    Wonderful, thought provoking novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    A sci-fi classic!!!

    A sci-fi classic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    a masterpiece

    Not much to be said lol, this book is perfect except for that little mentally stunted retards afterword lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Im bored out of my mind...

    I want to chat with someone... not whatever.... im bored, if u want 2 chat please go to the next result

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Vitaniclaw

    She looks behind her... "oops. Oh well" she pads to the corner and lays down.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 530 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 27