Customer Reviews for

Dune: House Atreides (Prelude to Dune Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Prelude to Dune stands on its own merits

Dune: House Atreides, the first of three books leading up to the events of the original Dune series, successfully (re)introduces the characters and themes of the Frank Herbert books, although it is burdened by the legacy the classic Dune books have left behind. Brian...
Dune: House Atreides, the first of three books leading up to the events of the original Dune series, successfully (re)introduces the characters and themes of the Frank Herbert books, although it is burdened by the legacy the classic Dune books have left behind. Brian Herbert, a most gentle and honorable soul I have had the pleasure of meeting on a couple of occasions at book signings, and Kevin J. Anderson, have undertaken an almost impossible task in trying to fill out the missing story lines of the original books. To those who quip that they are just out to make an easy buck, know that this undertaking was not done in haste, and no decision was taken lightly. Brian and Kevin have done their homework and their goal is to finish the story. But to do so requires telling us what lead up to the events in Dune. Creating the 1000 page Dune Concordance used as their Dune encyclopedia, and writing 1800 pages plus to get to the point of being able to finish the Dune story line, not to mention a probably detour to the Butlerian Jihad events 10000 years earlier, is no way to go about making an easy buck! Both authors are accomplished writers who did not need to take on such a tremendous challenge. Yet they have, and although I think the story gets off to a slow start, the last 300 pages made it hard to put the book down. Although one who has read the original books will be familiar with the characters, the story in House Atreides is well enough written to keep the reader's interest, and keep one wondering how things will play out. The authors follow a number of plot threads that generally coalesce into one thread that is followed at the end. My one complaint would be that early on the story line tends to jump around just a little too much. I would have liked to see a little longer spells following one plot or another. Perhaps this clearer focus later on made the book a more gripping read for me as I turned the pages. Having not read the original Dune since the mid 1980's, and only having been able to 'catch' up with Frank Herbert's later Dune books because he sadly passed away - he seemed to write them far faster than I could read them - I cannot easily compare this new book with the original. However, I do not feel compelled to do so either. House Atreides stands on its own merits. It is a book that new fans can enjoy, and old fans should be able to as well. It cannot be as original as the original - that's just the nature of things - but that does not lessen the quality of the book. As the authors become more comfortable with the Dune world they are writing about/in, and their storyline becomes more developed I suspect the future offerings, House Harkonnen, and then House Corrino, will be even more compelling reads. I recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dune for Idiots

This is probably the worst prequel or sci-fi book that i have finished reading. After 100 pages I felt like returning this back to the public library. It is full of inconsistencies & hollow themes. Whereas Dune was a philosophical novel, this is a story...
This is probably the worst prequel or sci-fi book that i have finished reading. After 100 pages I felt like returning this back to the public library. It is full of inconsistencies & hollow themes. Whereas Dune was a philosophical novel, this is a story for book of the month club. Here are some things I found awkward: 1)Duncan Idaho killing off a few Harkoneen house troops at age 8? I mean, get real, how pathetic is that house? 2)The Thielex did not have ghola tanks until thousands of years after Leto 11, and there were no 'no-ships' either. 3)That snot nose kid twin who is pampered & then becomes a 'genius' creating a trans-stellar link to his naviator brother, come on! 4)Pardot Kienes instantly becoming a 'prophet' in a nomadic intergroup of Fremen, unplausible at best! 5)House Atreides' economy relies on fish, sandals, and rice but it's still a great house compared to Ix that manufactures advanced components, think about it, 3rd world vs Silicon Valley...who will win? 6)The treatment of the aristocrats and the suboids revolt on Ix was just too much to bear, come on, are we supposed to support that puke kid & his snob sister all while the suboids are suffering? And the takeover of the world in a few days after the author told us how 'advanced & wealthy Ix was'. There were other inconsistencies, unbelievable truths, and half hearted attempts on the part of the authors to create a Dune world, but they failed, and failed miserably!

posted by Anonymous on March 16, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    Prelude to Dune stands on its own merits

    Dune: House Atreides, the first of three books leading up to the events of the original Dune series, successfully (re)introduces the characters and themes of the Frank Herbert books, although it is burdened by the legacy the classic Dune books have left behind. Brian Herbert, a most gentle and honorable soul I have had the pleasure of meeting on a couple of occasions at book signings, and Kevin J. Anderson, have undertaken an almost impossible task in trying to fill out the missing story lines of the original books. To those who quip that they are just out to make an easy buck, know that this undertaking was not done in haste, and no decision was taken lightly. Brian and Kevin have done their homework and their goal is to finish the story. But to do so requires telling us what lead up to the events in Dune. Creating the 1000 page Dune Concordance used as their Dune encyclopedia, and writing 1800 pages plus to get to the point of being able to finish the Dune story line, not to mention a probably detour to the Butlerian Jihad events 10000 years earlier, is no way to go about making an easy buck! Both authors are accomplished writers who did not need to take on such a tremendous challenge. Yet they have, and although I think the story gets off to a slow start, the last 300 pages made it hard to put the book down. Although one who has read the original books will be familiar with the characters, the story in House Atreides is well enough written to keep the reader's interest, and keep one wondering how things will play out. The authors follow a number of plot threads that generally coalesce into one thread that is followed at the end. My one complaint would be that early on the story line tends to jump around just a little too much. I would have liked to see a little longer spells following one plot or another. Perhaps this clearer focus later on made the book a more gripping read for me as I turned the pages. Having not read the original Dune since the mid 1980's, and only having been able to 'catch' up with Frank Herbert's later Dune books because he sadly passed away - he seemed to write them far faster than I could read them - I cannot easily compare this new book with the original. However, I do not feel compelled to do so either. House Atreides stands on its own merits. It is a book that new fans can enjoy, and old fans should be able to as well. It cannot be as original as the original - that's just the nature of things - but that does not lessen the quality of the book. As the authors become more comfortable with the Dune world they are writing about/in, and their storyline becomes more developed I suspect the future offerings, House Harkonnen, and then House Corrino, will be even more compelling reads. I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    A fair attempt

    The original Dune series was enigmatic and challenging. It demanded that the readers pay attention and draw connections that Frank Herbert did not always make immediately clear. With House Atriedes the treatment of the characters and subject is too light and entirely too elementary. I respect the challenge that young Herbert faces following in his father's tracks but I was disappointed in the lack of depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Dune for Idiots

    This is probably the worst prequel or sci-fi book that i have finished reading. After 100 pages I felt like returning this back to the public library. It is full of inconsistencies & hollow themes. Whereas Dune was a philosophical novel, this is a story for book of the month club. Here are some things I found awkward: 1)Duncan Idaho killing off a few Harkoneen house troops at age 8? I mean, get real, how pathetic is that house? 2)The Thielex did not have ghola tanks until thousands of years after Leto 11, and there were no 'no-ships' either. 3)That snot nose kid twin who is pampered & then becomes a 'genius' creating a trans-stellar link to his naviator brother, come on! 4)Pardot Kienes instantly becoming a 'prophet' in a nomadic intergroup of Fremen, unplausible at best! 5)House Atreides' economy relies on fish, sandals, and rice but it's still a great house compared to Ix that manufactures advanced components, think about it, 3rd world vs Silicon Valley...who will win? 6)The treatment of the aristocrats and the suboids revolt on Ix was just too much to bear, come on, are we supposed to support that puke kid & his snob sister all while the suboids are suffering? And the takeover of the world in a few days after the author told us how 'advanced & wealthy Ix was'. There were other inconsistencies, unbelievable truths, and half hearted attempts on the part of the authors to create a Dune world, but they failed, and failed miserably!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Noah

    Is here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Loved it

    Read it once and loved it. Rereading it in chronological order with the entire series makes it a even better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Classic Dune

    If you're a fan of the Dune series you won't be disappointed by House Atredies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    House Atreides, House trilogy (prelude to Dune), Book 1

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Good Intro into the World of Dune

    Book fills in the early life of the Old Duke and establishes how he came to be. Must read if you are a Dune fan, or just want to know more about Duke Atreides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    A page turner/massive info

    This book is a must read for anyone interested in the world of Dune. Mush history is explained so you better understand teh book Dune. I am now in the middle of House Harkonnen and it is just as full of insight into the original book Dune. A must read trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    Magnificent!!!

    When I first read the last of the original Dune series I thought that it was all over and that there were some questions that would never be answered. Then, when I heard about a whole new series of Dune books I was hyped to say the least. The series of 'House' books really add something to the originals. Are the better than the elder Herbert's novels? Most assuredly not but at the same time the stories are fresh and they also give the readers an idea of what was going on before and up to Paul Atreides' birth. One of the best plots is the study of Leto Atreides and his relationship with his father and mother. I find it fascinating how alike and diffrent Leto's relationship with his mom and dad is to Paul's relationship with Leto and the Lady Jessica. We also see the back stories of Gurney Halleck and Duncan Idaho that was only hinted at in the movie and miniseries. I have to give a big thumbs up to this undertaking, and while I can't say that I feel the same about the Machine chronicles of Dune, I will say that the authors are right on the money with this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    A very different feel to the original Dune saga

    I read this book when it first came out, after already having read the original Dune saga years before. At first, I was disconcerted by how different the voices of the two authors are from Frank Herbert's own, which seemed almost hypnotic at times, and full of hidden meaning. In any case, this book focused on the nitty-gritty of life in those times, of the details of how things were staged for Frank's coming saga. Though I yearned to hear his voice coming through, after all, why I picked up the book in the first place, I have to say that this book had its own compelling rhythm. While not set with the deep, resonating prophetic tones of the original series, I found the fleshing out of the Dune world by these two very satisfying, offering a view into the rich history Frank used as a tapestry for his own excellent series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    Dune: House Atreides (Prelude to Dune Series #1)

    I've seen alot of comparison between this and the original 'Dune' novels, but I think people need to accept that Brian Herbert is NOT his father, and he will NEVER BE his father. This is still an excellent book. Also some changes have been made, for instance this is (so far as I can tell) the first mention of the Butlerian Jihad as a time of 'freeing humanity' from thinking machines, in the original novels it seemed to merely be a time when some over zealous freaks got together and said 'Hey, let's all go out and destroy any thinking machines we can find.' On that note at least this book is more realistic. Also some changes have been made in the technology legally allowed, but that only makes since. In the time of the original 'Dune' banning 'thinking machines' for fear they could take over the universe would seem to mean computers in general. But readers in the new millinium would understand basic computers couldn't possibly do that, it would take full-blown AI technology. And while many people complain about the 'No-Ship' I feel the sheer confusion it creates lives up to Franks Herbert's saying 'wheels within wheels within wheels' so well it's easily excusable. The only problem I've found is they use lasguns to much (they were suppose to be virtually taboo), but I suppose that's o.k.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2003

    Dune: House Atreides (Prelude to Dune Series #1)

    O.k., I've seen alot of unfair judgements about this book, let me make a few things clear that other so-called 'Dune' fans must have missed: 1. While there was a good deal more AI technology in this book than in the original 'Dune', it was frowned upon because of the Butlerian Jihad. Furthermore when Frank Herbert wrote his book the idea of computers taking over the universe seemed reasonable. But now readers realize that we're not about to be taken over by our microwave oven, and only full-blown AI technology could do that, so we can allow for some grey areas like the Meks. 2. Yes, some characters are flat, so was Gurney Hallek from the original Dune, but we excused him. 3. The No-Ship was discovered at this point, but then lost for thousands of years. It seems a bit silly that it had the same name as it did in Leto's time, but it's still excusable if you say the Ixians probably found some plans on Richese that had been left behind by the inventor. All and all this is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Lucas needs to read this trilogy

    Great Representation, Characters and story... Lucas could learn how to write a trilogy correctly from this..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    Lives up to expectations.

    This book is great! I never thought that there would be a prequel, but I am determind to read all of the Dune books now, written by both Frank and Brian Herbert. You have to read it yourself to understand and believe it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    House Atreides excellent Prequel

    I have only recently gotten into any of the Dune books, and I must say, I can't get enough! After reading the original Dune, I went and bought all 6 of the original series. When looking, I saw House Atreides and bought it too. While the style is a little different, all the characters, places, and more that I love from the other Dune books are there. I have already read all of the books published except House Corrino. All of the Dune series books are excellent reading choices! I can't wait for Herbert and Anderson to write more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Great start to a prequel

    I read the other Dune books before I read House Atriedes, so that I would understand the characters a bit more. The book is a good read, and it answers some of the questions from Dune, that Frank Herbert couldn't answer yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    Better than expected

    I wasn't sure I was going to like this novel as it wasn't written by Frank Herbert. It was a delight to read. It's nice to have a fleshed out history for the characters that I enjoyed reading about in the original Dune and subsequent sequels. The style is somewhat different than Frank's style and that's okay. I read it in a couple of evenings. Well worth the time. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2001

    An Insightfull Prelude to Dune

    Any Dune fan would leap at antoher chance to explore the world that Frank Herbert has so masterfully crafted. Dune is an intriging world, and this book is a look at the actions and lives preceding Herbert's book. Although lacking in the power and rich language Herbert weilded, Atreides House was very interesting, and very insightfull for those working off the scant and breif summaries included in the appendix of Dune. I commend the authors for their work, this book is very interesting though a spectacle for the slightest critisism. A great Adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    A MUST READ FOR DUNE LOVERS

    This book is well written and holds your attention from the first page. A perfect lead-in to Dune giving backgrounds for many important characters and planet settings. The authors' follow-up notes are very interesting and insightful. Brian Herbert and his co-author have done a wonderful job of maintaining Frank Herbert's voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5