Customer Reviews for

Dune: House Corrino (Prelude to Dune Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Amazing

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    House Corrino, House trilogy (prelude to Dune, Book 3

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A book to keep and re-read

    I was skeptical about the three house prequels to Dune. Waiting to be disappointed, I was VERY pleasently surprised by the flow, thoroughness and attention to detail that Brian and Kevin put into yet another book. Having reread the series several times, except for one or two time-line issues, this and it's companions give new insight into the original dune novel and the sequels that Frank Herbert himself wrote.

    BRAVO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    Excellant

    This is a worthy conclusion to this trilogy. There was enough action involved to keep you on the edge of your seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    Hooked on Melange

    The stunning prequel to the Dune masterpiece comes to and end in the 3rd book of the trilogy, House Corrino. Brian Herbert & Kevin J. Anderson weave the intricate plots, legendary characters & non-stop action into a climatic conclusion with the overthrow of the Tleilaxu on Ix, the Emperor Shaddam IV in disgrace and the birth of the Kwisatz Haderach, Paul Atreides. After finishing House Corrino, I feel compelled to immerse myself into the original Dune classic! In this the 3rd book, Herbert/Anderson continue their approach and focus on the book's namesake: House Corrino. Exploring the world of the Emperor and the affects power and greed have on him and his friend/cohort Hasimir Fenrig. Viewing the world through their eyes brings out the stark comparisons in characters; the noble and honest Duke Leto, the evil and twisted Tleilaxu, the perverse Baron Harkonnen, the single-mindedness of the Bene Gesserit and the rest of the amazing cast of characters to many to name. The authors faced a daunting task in creating a new beginning to a world all to familiar and entrenched in our minds. The mythos of the Dune world is a complicated one in which we know the end/beginning and the exploration of that world is a challenge to understand. Now we understand. My only complaint is that it had to end! Or, did it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    Loved It...Now can we have a sequel to Chapterhouse?

    As with the other prequel novels, this one helps to flesh out the pre-Atreidean Imperium...so much so that the original novels seem less 'meaty'. However, This novel would not exist without the wonderful vison of F. Herbert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    THRILLING CONCLUSION TO THE TRILOGY

    Just as the 3 STAR WARS movies were building to the scene of Darth Vader throwing the Emperor into the engergy core, the Dune: House books have built to this exciting, heart-rending conclusion. By the time you get through the other two books, you are completely involved with all the characters and plots. In HOUSE CORRINO, we are given an up close and personal look into Shaddam's Palace and behavior. His only rival in depravity would have to be the Baron, and even the Baron is surprised at the Padishah Emperor's actions. Prince Rhombur is a mighty hero and the kind legends are made of. You stand beside the Atreides soldiers at the 'Battle For Ix' and feel their pain and triumph. The real reason Jessica bears a son instead of the ordered Atreides daughter comes true and the fear and doubt she feels is genuine. She questions her own motives and dreads the reactions of her Sisters when they learn her secret. I was enthralled and enchanted. My husband dared to say that perhaps these two authors wrote Dune books better than F. Herbert? I remained silent, but couldn't disagree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Great Saga

    Man, Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson are genuises when it comes to the rebirth of 'Dune'. 'House Corrino' should be a great hit! I can't wait untill it comes out in October.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2