Customer Reviews for

Dune: House Harkonnen (Prelude to Dune Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    Popular fiction yes, Dune Novel NO

    All I can ask is where did it all go wrong? This book devotes so much of its effort on plots that just lead nowhere. For instance, the introduction and killing of victor by his mother, what a bad sub-plot that had no real place in this novel, also the deaths of the entire former ixion leaders was dry. Also there was too much lack of action by the emperor and the houses in responce to the repeated 'violations'. for some unknown reasone the authors spend so much time trying to spin indivdual stories together when they shouldn't be involved with eachother. there are prehaps 50 to a hundered pages of actual importance in this 600 page book, the rest is just filler. It is sad to say but this book doesn't deserve its title, or to be part of a the Dune Saga in any shape or form. The whole book has a feel of a rush job, and from reading interviews I get the impression that they finished their third book already, probably even more of a rush. WHEN WILL AUTHORS RELIZE THAT READERS WOULD RATHER WAIT 5 YEARS PER SEQUAL THEN READ 5 BOOKS IN 3 years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Bad

    The first 100 pages were great, the net 50 were OK and the ret was just bad. This book takes place in the year 10,168 AG, and follows the three main houses. What was so bad about this book that it just seemed unnecicary, (729 pages?) After a while I stopped cring and fell asleep and woke up in tim or the credits. The Pardot Kynes parts are as boring as crap, Shaddam IV has grown dull, and i could care less about the Amal. This is getting worse. -D 70%

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Noah

    Im here s.e.x.y!!! ;D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Kate

    Noah i wanna break im sorry plz dont rply im aorry u r still my love but im tired of hiding this bye love... :,(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Excellent

    I loved the original series, this book gave a great background! Loved it even more when i reread the entire series in chronological order instead of the written order

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Excellent Background to Dune

    Excellent book. I'm new to the Dune-iverse. Loved the book. Gave me a great deal of background and picked up very nicely after House Atreides.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Fantastic and Faithful

    House Harkonnen is second in greatness only to that of Houase Atreides, as seems to be the fate of the Harkonnens in literary science fiction history. I believe that this book builds on what its predecessor started, and that this is a faitful telling of the continuing struggle between houses Atreides and Harkonnen. One of the best plots in this book is Leto's relationship with his concubine,Kailea. The relationship begins in House Atreides with both children developing a crush on each other and grows into a heated romance. The deterioration of that relationship, and the harsh and cruel things that Kailea does to hurt Leto, is both tragic and mesmerizing to read. Also, there is a scene in the original Dune novel where Leto is distraught over the assassin attempting to kill Paul, in House Harkonnen, we see how an event which occurs in Leto's life leads up to the fear that surfaces in Leto when history repeats itself with his second son. All in all, this is a must read book for any Dune fan and I do not think that they would be disappointed in what Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson have put together.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Prequel keeps getting better

    House Atriedes was good, but those House Harkonnan was a little bit better. I like the sub=plots that include the Beast Rabban's parents and the introduction to Feyd. I also like how it explains why Jessica disobeyed the Bene Gesserits and gave Leto a son.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    WAY, WAY better than I could have hoped for!

    I have read ALL the Dune epics and was amazed at how well Frank Herbert's son Brian and Kevin Anderson picked up the torch to these novels. Although you may see a word, or sentence, that you know Frank would never include, non the less the plot the characters and the development of story lines is FABULOUS. I am absolutely drooling with anticipation for the next book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2001

    The Dynamic Work of A grateful Son

    What Brian Hebert and Kevin J Anderson did to continue the work of his father with, Dune: House Atredies, is freaking fantastic. I love the fact that they gave a history to the characters in Dune, and gave Duke Leto the full focus in the story .That was the thing I regretted in Dune even though I know the story was based on Paul, and is progression from a young naive boy to a savior of a entire planet, I appaluaded the fact that they gave Leto some depth and descibed how he became the man he is in Dune.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Pleasantly surprising

    While House Atreides was more fun and had a better story (in my opinion), this one was more educational. We get to learn about our favorite characters from Frank Herbert's timeless classic Dune. I suggest re-reading Dune after completing this book. It makes an already extremely complicated book even more complicated. Can't wait for the next book (House Corrino?)...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2001

    wierd

    weird yet suspenseful to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Excellent... Entertaining.... Can't wait for the next in the series

    The book was excellent. It grabbed my attention and I was hooked from begining to end. There are a lot characters and details and the majority of them tie together to give us an idea of where the 'Dune' book got started from. Some elements were thrown in that could have done without... but I am certain that 10 years from now someone is going to tie all this together. I thank the authors for the great job and hope to read the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    Can't wait for the next installment

    After reading Dune: House Atreides, I knew that I would continue to read the remainder of the Dune prequels. And boy am I glad I did! Although not in Frank Herberts' style (after all how could it possibly be)it is insightfull, full of character building information leading up to the original Dune series and somewhat gruesome (being named Dune: House Harkonnen how could it not be though). I won't even comment on some of the negative reviews that I've seen. Being #11 on the New York Times Bestseller list should be voice enough for these authors. It is a smashing success that will undoubtedly keep me reading the remainder of the series (Dune: House Corrino due out next year). Can't wait to taste some more spice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    Gritty and visceral

    This second installment of the prequel series is better than House Atreides in that the true evil and debauchery of the Harkonnens is revealed. The darker side of the Known Galaxy is paraded without gloss and the histories of the familiar characters from the original series motivations are made clearer. The deep, abiding hatred of the Harkonnens by literally everyone, the suspicion and loathing of the Theilaxu (with good reason), and the bravery and character of the Atreides and their loyal companions. The real reason Jessica betrayed her Bene Gesserit orders to bear a daugher and give Duke Leto a son. That was the plot line of 'Victor'. The amazing abilities of Duncan Idaho and their source, the rolling ugliness of Gurney Halleck and his bloodthirsty hatred of every Harkonnen. Those details merely alluded to in the original series, are brought to life with terrible clarity. There were some awkward plot twists, but I am not waiting for a Ghola of Frank Herbert to continue writing his stories. For entertainment purposes, these books are high quality. I eagerly await any and all installments forthcoming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2000

    Read for Dune's history, not for a good SF novel

    The redeeming bit about both this book and its predecessor is that the new stories are culled from the notes of Frank Herbert. Many of the events, in and of themselves, ring true to the designs of the original Dune masterworks. However, (and I'm making a HUGE assumption about who's to blame here) Kevin J. Anderson's contributions to the story and his writing style are out of place. An example of a poor contribution (if it is such) is the introduction of a creature called an 'elecran.' An elecran is a near-mythical beast that is essentially a sentient thundercloud. It can be killed by making it lose contact with the Caladanian seas, and it attacks the main characters solely to illustrate aspects of the characters which have already been revealed. Not only was that inefficient writing, but poor plotting. And the creature simply does not come across as real. It's existence is not justified the way sandworms' are. (BTW, the reason I blame Anderson is that his other books read this way, that Brian had collaborated with his dad in the past and should know better, and that, even if it _was_ in Frank's notes, Herbert Sr. would never include such a creature in the final text.) There are also stylistic problems, not just in voice and content, but even in the mundane things. ('had showed' vs. 'had shown' Which do you think they used?) But, for all its flaws, it is fascinating to discover why certain characters became who they are at the start of Dune (although I'm still trying to discover why Liet Kynes, planetologist to the Emperor, doesn't know Gurney Halleck at the beginning of Dune even though they apparently meet in this book). I plan to get the next installment simply to continue filling in the gaps of Dune's history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2000

    This book is not at all worthy of being part of the dune series....

    This book has way too many 'fuzzy' areas... and even though the entire plot was designed to key into the book Dune it self it does a horrible job. Not only is the plot in this book weak around IX but it also has so many other loopholes. Like when Leto is on the boat and the 'sea monster' is coming straight at them.. What was that all about? Second I found no where in Dune concerning Leto's son Victor.... this is one of the weakest plot in the story... along with idea of the artificial spice development on IX.... and the weak idea around the freedom fighters within IX is just left open... perhaps for future prequels...but even so it just faded away from the book.... the book itself focus more on Gurney on Giedi Prime, Duncan becoming a sword master and the out of place kanly among two Houses the have nothing to do with the saga (Yet, I don¿t know where the authors are going with that) then it does explain all the other essential items to the story most notably the rise and disappearance of Ix later on in the saga... the previous book House Atreides was far far better than this one... it was actually on solid ground in conjunction with the original book. This book however dallies in places that just plain wrong... its just disappointing...they are too many loopholes in the entire story. Also during the first part of the story the reader does not have a clear idea of how mush time is passing by¿ once you reach the second half the entire book seems to go into fast forward mode. And then suddenly it slows down to a crawl. This is showed in Dune itself but it was MUCH more smoother then this books choppy time flow. Also the book does not dwell too much in the politics that surround the imperiam.. In other words this book is just plain bad compared to all the other Dune books. It seems that the book was rushed. Taking all the other books into account this one is by far the worst. God Emperor of Dune was pretty dry.. but it essential for the two ending books¿ I suggest that people wait for the book to come out in soft cover. There is really no point and a waste of money for you to buy it right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2000

    wooohoooo - i'm the 1st review :)

    book 1 was fantastic, i'm glad book 2 is not taking 2 years to publish (like jordon does)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3