Customer Reviews for

Dune: House Harkonnen (Prelude to Dune Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Noah

    Im here s.e.x.y!!! ;D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Kate

    Noah i wanna break im sorry plz dont rply im aorry u r still my love but im tired of hiding this bye love... :,(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Excellent

    I loved the original series, this book gave a great background! Loved it even more when i reread the entire series in chronological order instead of the written order

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Excellent Background to Dune

    Excellent book. I'm new to the Dune-iverse. Loved the book. Gave me a great deal of background and picked up very nicely after House Atreides.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Prequel keeps getting better

    House Atriedes was good, but those House Harkonnan was a little bit better. I like the sub=plots that include the Beast Rabban's parents and the introduction to Feyd. I also like how it explains why Jessica disobeyed the Bene Gesserits and gave Leto a son.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    WAY, WAY better than I could have hoped for!

    I have read ALL the Dune epics and was amazed at how well Frank Herbert's son Brian and Kevin Anderson picked up the torch to these novels. Although you may see a word, or sentence, that you know Frank would never include, non the less the plot the characters and the development of story lines is FABULOUS. I am absolutely drooling with anticipation for the next book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2001

    The Dynamic Work of A grateful Son

    What Brian Hebert and Kevin J Anderson did to continue the work of his father with, Dune: House Atredies, is freaking fantastic. I love the fact that they gave a history to the characters in Dune, and gave Duke Leto the full focus in the story .That was the thing I regretted in Dune even though I know the story was based on Paul, and is progression from a young naive boy to a savior of a entire planet, I appaluaded the fact that they gave Leto some depth and descibed how he became the man he is in Dune.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Pleasantly surprising

    While House Atreides was more fun and had a better story (in my opinion), this one was more educational. We get to learn about our favorite characters from Frank Herbert's timeless classic Dune. I suggest re-reading Dune after completing this book. It makes an already extremely complicated book even more complicated. Can't wait for the next book (House Corrino?)...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Excellent... Entertaining.... Can't wait for the next in the series

    The book was excellent. It grabbed my attention and I was hooked from begining to end. There are a lot characters and details and the majority of them tie together to give us an idea of where the 'Dune' book got started from. Some elements were thrown in that could have done without... but I am certain that 10 years from now someone is going to tie all this together. I thank the authors for the great job and hope to read the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    Gritty and visceral

    This second installment of the prequel series is better than House Atreides in that the true evil and debauchery of the Harkonnens is revealed. The darker side of the Known Galaxy is paraded without gloss and the histories of the familiar characters from the original series motivations are made clearer. The deep, abiding hatred of the Harkonnens by literally everyone, the suspicion and loathing of the Theilaxu (with good reason), and the bravery and character of the Atreides and their loyal companions. The real reason Jessica betrayed her Bene Gesserit orders to bear a daugher and give Duke Leto a son. That was the plot line of 'Victor'. The amazing abilities of Duncan Idaho and their source, the rolling ugliness of Gurney Halleck and his bloodthirsty hatred of every Harkonnen. Those details merely alluded to in the original series, are brought to life with terrible clarity. There were some awkward plot twists, but I am not waiting for a Ghola of Frank Herbert to continue writing his stories. For entertainment purposes, these books are high quality. I eagerly await any and all installments forthcoming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2000

    wooohoooo - i'm the 1st review :)

    book 1 was fantastic, i'm glad book 2 is not taking 2 years to publish (like jordon does)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2