Customer Reviews for

Dune: The Butlerian Jihad (Legends of Dune Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    To Many Pages for Kids Book

    I did enjoy some of the previous books by Anderson and Herbert before they teamed up with Koontz, Clancy and their ilk. This book should be about 10 pages with colorful graphics. Then maybe I could finish reading it. I would recommend getting it from the library if your that interested.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Great

    As a new comer to the Duniverse, I decided to travel through it chronological. Although I'm 201% sure that this comes nowhere near the fansty that the late Frank Herbert wrote, I still found it a fun and exciting tale of the 11,000 year off future, and I will countinue to journy throughout it. A*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Good

    I love anything by these authors, nd frank, I live in the dune universe everytime I feel the pages on my fingertips (or touchscreen) lol..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Bro

    Me too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Oh thank u

    I am soo bored, with nuthin to do.... that stuff that their doin in the other result is just gross....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Dune series

    I have read the entire series in the order they were written over the years. Now i am re-READING in chronological order and i can say that i appreciate the additions to the original series much more. This book is packed full of adventure and really adds a nice foundation to the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    The Book & The Service

    The Butlerian Jihad is, as I knew it would be a fantastic work of science fiction which transcends its genre. Once again Brian Herbert & Kevin J Anderson prove themselves worthy inheritors of the legacy of Frank Herbert.

    I would also like to Give my thanks and commend Barnes & Noble Books for their fantastic service. When I lived in my home town of New York City there was always a particular joy in my visits to any of the local B&N branches, and now that I live abroad I continue to enjoy the courtesy and effectiveness of their on-line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I think it stinks that Barnes and Noble mixed in reviews from th

    I think it stinks that Barnes and Noble mixed in reviews from the classic Frank Herbert's Dune in with reviews of Brian's, The Butlerian Jihad, in order to bring up the rating of this abominable book. Brian Herbert couldn't pass a college level essay course. If his father wasn't Frank Herbert, there's not one publisher that would give him the time of day. This book is terrible even with Kevin Anderson contributing to it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great Book

    Was disappointed to end the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended A Must Read!

    Perhaps the best book of the Legends of Dune trilogy. It was my favorite of the three novels. 'The Butlerian Jihad' sets up the story of how Arrakis will eventually become the center of the universe. It shows us the beginnings of the Sisterhood prior to the Dune Chronicles. One of my favorite characters by far of the entire trilogy Norma Cenva's spectacular contribution to humanity with the gift of space folding technology is told in length. Without introduction, (perhaps Kevin J. Anderson & Brian Herbert will write a book about the beginnings of the Titan cymeks,) the Titan cymeks are a very interesting instance in Dune history that will slowly and eventually develop into the beginnings of the rivalries between House Atriedes, House Harkonnen, and House Corrino. Also, humanity's war for freedom against the thinking machines is one of several hypocritical elements that are not ignored throughout the saga. The possession of slaves, by those planets that slavery is legal, is rationalized with the argument that they are indebted to do their part in the war against Omnius. No one human is allowed to be neutral, having no part in the war. Erasmus is an A.I. machine that is all his own. His individuality, actions, and thoughts are childish, horrific, and entertainingly funny. I would most definitely recommend reading this trilogy before you continue the saga with Dune 7, 'Hunters of Dune' and 'Sandworms of Dune', which wrap-up the story from Frank Herbert's 'Heretics of Dune' and 'Chapterhouse Dune'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ok I have always been a huge fan of Frank Herberts main series so i thought i would enjoy this. It is nice to get a few more answers and a bit more color added to the storyline. It is not a bad story at all actually if it werent for the god awfull and insulting presentation. This book is written at a 6th grade reading level and removes a good level of the philosophizing i enjoyed in the other books, and replaces it with mindless pointless action. if i wanted action id go see a movie. I want to think when i read. If you are a dune fan its a nice little read. If your not stear clear of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Erasimus is not Mr. Spock!

    The book was ok and granted I have been spoiled by Frank Herberts elaborate epic storytelling, but I could have done without the robot who wants to understand humans(better to compare him to a sadistic Mr. Data then to Spock). Unfortunatly Erasimus is crucial to the storyline. Points in favor for the story are that we get to see the beginnings of house Atreides and of the frendship between Vorian Atreides and Xaviar Harkonnen that begin the sequence of events leading to the betrayal and downfall of house Harkonnen. Also, many other new beginnings such as the Bene Gesserit. Points against the book: Most of Frank Herberts loyal fans have college reading skills and are downright insulted by how often a summary of what happened before is given. If we took out all the repeat information and the reminders of what happened last the book would be half the size! Overall I would say the book is worth reading for the background and the answers given to all those questions we have had about humanity's origins. However do not expect the depth of plot and intricate, interwoven character development and interaction that you have enjoyed in Frank Herberts books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    i know i know, i've only read 208 pages

    C'mon people,,, I've read 208 pages of this book and what do you expect ? if you've read the origional Dune novels this book should please you, you should know what is coming to a certain extent.. but in 208 pages of this first book in this series, it already has a dramatis persone that should turn out to be VERY interesting when it begins to weave.. at least, they are building up to it i believe. Very pleased in the novel so far,, although it seems to be written in more of a 'fantasy' style compared to the Origional Dune Chronicals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Good in spite of most critic's opinions

    This book is an entertaining read that tells us about the origins of Frank Herbert's expansive universe, introduces interesting new characters and concepts, and delves into the concept that I have seen written in every single dune novel, which is 'history is always written by the winners.' We learn that the characters in the original dune novels were misinformed in many areas. I won't spoil it for those who want to read this, and leave out details. On a final note, to those who have spoken negatively of this book, of course it's not as good as the original trilogy. Only a simpleton would expect it to be. In my opinion, most people who give negative reviews to continuations of old series like Dune, are small- and close-minded and unwilling to accept anything but what they have deemed 'the right way' to write. Cut Brian and Kevin a break, stop wishing they were as good as Frank, and just enjoy a well thought out piece of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Best Book they have written

    The Butlerian Jihad is a remarkable book that approaches the sheer genious and excellence of the original Dune by Frank Herbert. This is the finest book yet by these two authors to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    IF you like Dune then you will love these

    This book brings new light to the past and how the Dune universe came to be. Anyone looking for a way to pass some time that doesnt reguire batteries or a remote should look into all of Frank and his son Brian's master piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    Answering many questions

    Brian and Kevin ignore your critics!!! This book takes a controversial view of the 'actual' events behind the history written in the original Dune novels. This is often the case in reality. Just because history is written, doesn't mean it is true. So Tio Holzman STOLE credit for the holzman generator, SO WHAT!!! Leto is the decendent of a Cymek who kept his sperm in a bank, SO WHAT!!! This book is a great read. The author's will have to apologize with the human race for not letting EVERYONE write this story for them. If everything was ROSY than there wouldn't be much point in the story, would there?? Many GREAT heroes are born from adversity and so is the case with Paul in the original books. If you want a bed of roses read a romance, here in the SCIFI world, I have to say that this is an awesome book. Many questions have been answered and many more questions asked. I will be reading the rest of this trilogy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    Terrible

    The Butlerian Jihad is, by far, one of the worst books I've ever read. To say that the characters are one-dimensional is to ascribe to them one more dimension than they deserve. The book is extremely redundant, simplistic, and spends far too much time exploring the worn out relationship between the unfeeling robots and the creative and emotional humans that has plagued every last piece of bad science fiction out there. The entire book is really Star Wars/Trek-ish. Vorian Atreides' rapport with his robot (or should I say 'droid'?) companion is mind-numbing and could have come straight from any Star Wars movie. Serena's dialogues with Erasmus could have been lifted verbatim from those insipid Data/Pulaski conversations in TNG. The back cover promises 'the amazing tale of the Zensunni Wanderers, who escape bondage to flee to the desert world where they will declare themselves the Free Men of Dune,' but fails to deliver on that promise. If you haven't read this book yet, save yourself the trouble and leave the story of the Jihad up to your imagination.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Stimulating and fun!

    I must say that what I enjoyed most about this book is the way it helps to answer so many of the questions raised in other books of the Dune series. I found the writing was insightful, and stayed in the spirit of the vision Frank began. A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Dune Maessiah comes from sperm bank!!!

    I read the house trilogy, and was able to accept that it wasn't the original but played off the original plots and characters. In Jihad, Brian Herbert and Kevin anderson are left on there own..new plots and characters.. So they come up with Agamemnon and the Titans.. How original.. And I could never say that name Agamemnimumnum.... This book was terrible. It's supposed to be a holy war. and it's flat. This book is quantity over quality... all the way. More attention to writing gory descriptions than to the passion required to emancipate a race from thinking machines. There are so many wasted chapters, what about the slave revolt on poritrin, it stalls and leaves us with nothing.. do the slaves end up being the mentants??? How about Zufa Cenva? always walking around pissed off at everybody, especially her runt daughter who ends up saving holtzman's but twice. Hotzman is portrayed as a drunk fumbling idiot who couldn't invent his way out of a paper bag..He finally invents the gold boxy shield that we all remember from the original 80's movie. Back to Zufu.. she's the mother of the Bene Gesserit?? I hope not. that would be a disgrace. Then there is Vor Atreides, a nieve moron whose father is the general of the titans.. Agamemnon, Agamemnon had 12 other kids made from his sperm that he keeps on file somewhere.. Is that so? So the Dune Messiah comes from a sperm bank!!!!and fills the prophesy that Selim is going to create..How predictable can this get.. And all this time I held the Atreides Lineage in such a high place; it could be traced all the way back to ancient greece. and then there Iblis who, after finally igniting the Chaotic revolt of humans vs machines, he turns everything over to a monk! My point is the characters have no passion, are all flat and one dimensional. There are a million holes in all the plots that go on here.. Like Erasmus and Omnius, and the logic they follow. A terrible read this book is. I can tell the authors were paid before they wrote this.. I'm certainly through with these guys.. I'd rather re read the originals

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4