Customer Reviews for

Dune: The Butlerian Jihad (Legends of Dune Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

I love anything by these authors, nd frank, I live in the dune universe everytime I feel the pages on my fingertips (or touchscreen) lol..

posted by 16885842 on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

To Many Pages for Kids Book

I did enjoy some of the previous books by Anderson and Herbert before they teamed up with Koontz, Clancy and their ilk. This book should be about 10 pages with colorful graphics. Then maybe I could finish reading it. I would recommend getting it from the library if y...
I did enjoy some of the previous books by Anderson and Herbert before they teamed up with Koontz, Clancy and their ilk. This book should be about 10 pages with colorful graphics. Then maybe I could finish reading it. I would recommend getting it from the library if your that interested.

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    To Many Pages for Kids Book

    I did enjoy some of the previous books by Anderson and Herbert before they teamed up with Koontz, Clancy and their ilk. This book should be about 10 pages with colorful graphics. Then maybe I could finish reading it. I would recommend getting it from the library if your that interested.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I think it stinks that Barnes and Noble mixed in reviews from th

    I think it stinks that Barnes and Noble mixed in reviews from the classic Frank Herbert's Dune in with reviews of Brian's, The Butlerian Jihad, in order to bring up the rating of this abominable book. Brian Herbert couldn't pass a college level essay course. If his father wasn't Frank Herbert, there's not one publisher that would give him the time of day. This book is terrible even with Kevin Anderson contributing to it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    Terrible

    The Butlerian Jihad is, by far, one of the worst books I've ever read. To say that the characters are one-dimensional is to ascribe to them one more dimension than they deserve. The book is extremely redundant, simplistic, and spends far too much time exploring the worn out relationship between the unfeeling robots and the creative and emotional humans that has plagued every last piece of bad science fiction out there. The entire book is really Star Wars/Trek-ish. Vorian Atreides' rapport with his robot (or should I say 'droid'?) companion is mind-numbing and could have come straight from any Star Wars movie. Serena's dialogues with Erasmus could have been lifted verbatim from those insipid Data/Pulaski conversations in TNG. The back cover promises 'the amazing tale of the Zensunni Wanderers, who escape bondage to flee to the desert world where they will declare themselves the Free Men of Dune,' but fails to deliver on that promise. If you haven't read this book yet, save yourself the trouble and leave the story of the Jihad up to your imagination.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Dune Maessiah comes from sperm bank!!!

    I read the house trilogy, and was able to accept that it wasn't the original but played off the original plots and characters. In Jihad, Brian Herbert and Kevin anderson are left on there own..new plots and characters.. So they come up with Agamemnon and the Titans.. How original.. And I could never say that name Agamemnimumnum.... This book was terrible. It's supposed to be a holy war. and it's flat. This book is quantity over quality... all the way. More attention to writing gory descriptions than to the passion required to emancipate a race from thinking machines. There are so many wasted chapters, what about the slave revolt on poritrin, it stalls and leaves us with nothing.. do the slaves end up being the mentants??? How about Zufa Cenva? always walking around pissed off at everybody, especially her runt daughter who ends up saving holtzman's but twice. Hotzman is portrayed as a drunk fumbling idiot who couldn't invent his way out of a paper bag..He finally invents the gold boxy shield that we all remember from the original 80's movie. Back to Zufu.. she's the mother of the Bene Gesserit?? I hope not. that would be a disgrace. Then there is Vor Atreides, a nieve moron whose father is the general of the titans.. Agamemnon, Agamemnon had 12 other kids made from his sperm that he keeps on file somewhere.. Is that so? So the Dune Messiah comes from a sperm bank!!!!and fills the prophesy that Selim is going to create..How predictable can this get.. And all this time I held the Atreides Lineage in such a high place; it could be traced all the way back to ancient greece. and then there Iblis who, after finally igniting the Chaotic revolt of humans vs machines, he turns everything over to a monk! My point is the characters have no passion, are all flat and one dimensional. There are a million holes in all the plots that go on here.. Like Erasmus and Omnius, and the logic they follow. A terrible read this book is. I can tell the authors were paid before they wrote this.. I'm certainly through with these guys.. I'd rather re read the originals

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Trite space opera

    This book truly achieves new lows both in plot and in quality of writing. While the original Dune series could arguably be classed as true literature, this book (and the previous three written by the same authors) have been, I suspect, written to capitalize on the Dune legend. I can't believe it took two -- count 'em -- two "writers" to write this book. Would have been perfect for a 1950s era low-budget pulp, though. So why did I waste my money on all four Dune prequels thus far written? Completeness. But this review is my revenge for having wasted all of that money. For a great exercise in world building, try Tony Daniel's Metaplanetary. If your tastes run more to trailer-park space opera, try the Neutronium Alchemist series. At least its stylishly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Just like a traffic accident -- I couldn't help but look

    I'm not a great author, but I'm pretty sure if you provided me with Frank Herbert's notes and a couple editors, I could create a more compelling story than these two. To put it in perspective, Frank Herbert's orginal work will be the Mona Lisa. Brian Herbert's and Kevin Anderson's work is comperable to a page torn from a faded coloring book, which was hurriedly colored, often outside the lines, using only a single color crayon. Why I buy and read these books is a mystery to me. I think its because I loved the original series so much, that I hope his son will eventually catch on write something comperable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    A complete waste of time

    This was actually painful to read. The dialog is stilted,and more appropriate to a Victorian era melodrama than modern Sci-Fi. The characters are one dimensional and impossible to identify with. The "authors" suffer form a sever case of adjective-itis, all the woemen are "stunning", "intriguing" etc. The villians are cartoonishly evil and the military/battle scenes are just plain silly. The science stinks... well you get the idea, and to top it all off this piece of drivel seems to be only the first in a new series!! Another reviewer sugested that the authors were only cashing in on the Dune mistique. I have to agree, that would be the only excuse I can see for the publication of this piece of garbage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Imaginative In Places But...

    The novel is imaginative in places but generally the boys seem to be unable to make the premises compelling. The repetition of background from chapter to chapter is killing. This 600 page novel is really closer to 300 pages and cannot be "read" without skimming. Hopefully the authors, with two more books already in process, will find ways to make us readers proud of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1