Customer Reviews for

Dune: The Butlerian Jihad (Legends of Dune Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

I love anything by these authors, nd frank, I live in the dune universe everytime I feel the pages on my fingertips (or touchscreen) lol..

posted by 16885842 on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

To Many Pages for Kids Book

I did enjoy some of the previous books by Anderson and Herbert before they teamed up with Koontz, Clancy and their ilk. This book should be about 10 pages with colorful graphics. Then maybe I could finish reading it. I would recommend getting it from the library if y...
I did enjoy some of the previous books by Anderson and Herbert before they teamed up with Koontz, Clancy and their ilk. This book should be about 10 pages with colorful graphics. Then maybe I could finish reading it. I would recommend getting it from the library if your that interested.

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Great read

    I could not put this book down. A great introduction to the Dune universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    The prequel that explains the origins of many of Dune's mysteries

    Entertaining story behind the mysterious concepts that form the original Dune. It is well written and I found myself making time to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Great

    As a new comer to the Duniverse, I decided to travel through it chronological. Although I'm 201% sure that this comes nowhere near the fansty that the late Frank Herbert wrote, I still found it a fun and exciting tale of the 11,000 year off future, and I will countinue to journy throughout it. A*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    The Book & The Service

    The Butlerian Jihad is, as I knew it would be a fantastic work of science fiction which transcends its genre. Once again Brian Herbert & Kevin J Anderson prove themselves worthy inheritors of the legacy of Frank Herbert.

    I would also like to Give my thanks and commend Barnes & Noble Books for their fantastic service. When I lived in my home town of New York City there was always a particular joy in my visits to any of the local B&N branches, and now that I live abroad I continue to enjoy the courtesy and effectiveness of their on-line

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Oh thank u

    I am soo bored, with nuthin to do.... that stuff that their doin in the other result is just gross....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Dune series

    I have read the entire series in the order they were written over the years. Now i am re-READING in chronological order and i can say that i appreciate the additions to the original series much more. This book is packed full of adventure and really adds a nice foundation to the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great Book

    Was disappointed to end the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended A Must Read!

    Perhaps the best book of the Legends of Dune trilogy. It was my favorite of the three novels. 'The Butlerian Jihad' sets up the story of how Arrakis will eventually become the center of the universe. It shows us the beginnings of the Sisterhood prior to the Dune Chronicles. One of my favorite characters by far of the entire trilogy Norma Cenva's spectacular contribution to humanity with the gift of space folding technology is told in length. Without introduction, (perhaps Kevin J. Anderson & Brian Herbert will write a book about the beginnings of the Titan cymeks,) the Titan cymeks are a very interesting instance in Dune history that will slowly and eventually develop into the beginnings of the rivalries between House Atriedes, House Harkonnen, and House Corrino. Also, humanity's war for freedom against the thinking machines is one of several hypocritical elements that are not ignored throughout the saga. The possession of slaves, by those planets that slavery is legal, is rationalized with the argument that they are indebted to do their part in the war against Omnius. No one human is allowed to be neutral, having no part in the war. Erasmus is an A.I. machine that is all his own. His individuality, actions, and thoughts are childish, horrific, and entertainingly funny. I would most definitely recommend reading this trilogy before you continue the saga with Dune 7, 'Hunters of Dune' and 'Sandworms of Dune', which wrap-up the story from Frank Herbert's 'Heretics of Dune' and 'Chapterhouse Dune'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    i know i know, i've only read 208 pages

    C'mon people,,, I've read 208 pages of this book and what do you expect ? if you've read the origional Dune novels this book should please you, you should know what is coming to a certain extent.. but in 208 pages of this first book in this series, it already has a dramatis persone that should turn out to be VERY interesting when it begins to weave.. at least, they are building up to it i believe. Very pleased in the novel so far,, although it seems to be written in more of a 'fantasy' style compared to the Origional Dune Chronicals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Best Book they have written

    The Butlerian Jihad is a remarkable book that approaches the sheer genious and excellence of the original Dune by Frank Herbert. This is the finest book yet by these two authors to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    Answering many questions

    Brian and Kevin ignore your critics!!! This book takes a controversial view of the 'actual' events behind the history written in the original Dune novels. This is often the case in reality. Just because history is written, doesn't mean it is true. So Tio Holzman STOLE credit for the holzman generator, SO WHAT!!! Leto is the decendent of a Cymek who kept his sperm in a bank, SO WHAT!!! This book is a great read. The author's will have to apologize with the human race for not letting EVERYONE write this story for them. If everything was ROSY than there wouldn't be much point in the story, would there?? Many GREAT heroes are born from adversity and so is the case with Paul in the original books. If you want a bed of roses read a romance, here in the SCIFI world, I have to say that this is an awesome book. Many questions have been answered and many more questions asked. I will be reading the rest of this trilogy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Stimulating and fun!

    I must say that what I enjoyed most about this book is the way it helps to answer so many of the questions raised in other books of the Dune series. I found the writing was insightful, and stayed in the spirit of the vision Frank began. A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    Dune: The Butlerian Jihad

    This is a great piece of writing. I had a hard time putting it down. It left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    author of Zod, I live in Arvin, and SanDiego, CA

    Dune is like the dune buggy and I like the read. I feel this book is the essence of natural earth. It is original, and it what I love to read and know that authors are intouch with real stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2003

    The History has come at last

    I love all the books of Dune, including the House books. I thought this book was will writen. You all may not agree with this next little bit.. Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson are just as good at writing Dune books or better then Frank Herbert. There I said it, and I stand by it 100%.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    Beware the Thinking Machines . . .

    The terror and brutality of the fabled Thinking Machines are brought to life in this tale of humankind after the takeover of the Evermind, Omnius. Even worse, are the Titans, the humans who BECAME machines, the Cymeks. The authors have woven a tale of unimaginable oppression, slavery and slaughter of the "worthless humans". The bravery of a few, especially the Sorceresses of Rossak (proto-Bene Gesserit?), courageous Harkonnens, and obedient, machine trustee Atreides. You can see the foundation of the Empire forming and the families who created it. Delicious and well-thought. Can't wait for the next two to this series. Keep up the good work guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Great Book!

    This newest Dune book is the best one yet. Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson have hit a home run with this one. I've read every Dune book by them, and Frank Herbert, and this one was great. The story and the characters are so interesting that I couldn't put it down. In the previous pre-quel Dune books, House Atreides, House Harkonnen, and House Corrino, the writers "hands were tied a little," because they had to get to the beginning of the series, the incomparable, Dune, book one of the original series. In Dune: The Butlerian Jihad the writers have freedom to use their skills as storytellers to create a fantastic tale that was almost totally new. I loved reading this book. It took over my world, and few books do that for me anymore. I can say with great confidence that Dune: The Bulterian Jihad is a brilliant book worthy of the hardcover price. If you like science-fiction or fantasy, reading this book will leave you completely satisifed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2