BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dune: The Machine Crusade (Legends of Dune Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Go read Dune again. Don't waste your time here.

    I am a huge fan of the original trilogy having read it numerous times. I disliked this and the previous book on the Butlarian Jihad. The story goes no where. Characters appear and disappear for no reason. Over a thousand pages covering two books and they STILL cannot finish the story?? If you are a fan of the Original trilogy or the God Emperor books, don't bother with this or the previous book. They are both a waste of time. If you must read them, do it to just cement in your head how great an author Frank Herbert really was.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Depends on who you are.

    I am currently in the middle (more exactly around the 1/3 mark) of this book. And I agree with many of the reviewers that it doesn't have the spin-you-head-over-heels complexity and drama of the original Frank Herbert Dune books, but it does have its own attractions. I would say that it drags on a little. I think the book would have been better if they shortened it, but who's to say that wouldn't have ruined the whole story? Not me, for sure. The sum: a good book so far. Not up to par with the originals, not great, but decent. Do I recommend it for Dune-lovers? Apparently, it's a love/hate situation here, so I have no clue. Depends on who you are. Read on!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    A great book

    to me this book was really good. And it doesnt really deserve all of the 1 stars it got down there. O and by the the to the guy who wrote something about the dune encyclopedia down their. You do know what history is dont you? versions of a story can be blown out of proportion in 10 thousand bloody years and on top of that you said the encylopedia wasnt written by Frank Herbert it was only made because he said they could make it. So to any one who is reading this stop reading this and read this book. Start with the Butlerian Jihad firs though

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    On a par with the Star Wars Prequels

    10 years of preliminary work preceded Frank Herbert's writing of Dune, and it shows. He wrote the six Dune novels over a period of 20 years, and it shows. Now Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert are trying to write six Dune novels over a period of 4 years, and guess what? That shows too. If you think these new Star Wars prequels are super-fantastic, then this book is right up your alley. If not, well...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Did the authors read this after the cobbled the pieces together.

    I am a big fan of the FH's Dune (and sequels). I also enjoyed the 'House' prequel trilogy. But, I have big issues with this second book of the 'Jihad' trilogy. It is quite obvious that the authors cobbled this together from bits and pieces that each had written. It is also quite evident that none of the authors, editors, etc. read this book in it's entirety. In the first 100 pages they bludgeon you with events from the first book. Yes many people might need to be reminded of what happened in the preceeding book, but we don't have to be told about the event three or four time with int three or four pages. This got so bad that I started to keep track of them. By the time I got to page 300 I stopped, there were just too many. Examples: On Pg 106 & Pg 108 repeated references to Cogitor Eklo. We are constantly reminded why Iblis married Camie. I got that the first time. On page 310 & 311 Vorian volunteered to do the foot work for Serena's new plans. It says 'Even before Xavier returned from Ix.' But in the previous chapter Xaview is sitting and the Jihad council table when Serena outlines her plans. I suggest that the authors pay more attention to what they're doing in the third book (which I intend to read) and the two post FH books there working on. The other book Dune books BH & KJA have written have been much better than this. I agree with the comment about the 'Encycopeadia Dune', but I don't know the full detail of licensing, copyrights, etc. that may have nesseccitated changes. I hope the authors do a better job on the next books, at least produce something up to there usual standards.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    GRAND

    After finnishing the 1st book in the Legend trilogy, this the next book to read. 23 years after the first one, the young adult heros are now middle aged. Great action scenes and gutwrenching deaths, for all to enjoy.
    100%
    A*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Dune Dune Dune

    I love the origial series. I liked the additions. Now readin in chronologial order.... the entire series is amazing. The prequels and other additions really added something and answered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    THEY DID IT AGAIN!!!

    A perfect continuation to THE BUTLERIAN JIHAD, Another triumphant feather in the literary caps of Brian Herbert and Kevin J Anderson.

    As always, my thanks to Barnes & Noble for being the mark of excellence among bookstores.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Read & A Must For Dune Fans

    It does take some time for this book to get going and by the second half it becomes just as interesting a read as its predecessor. Don't discourage and stick with it because it gets so much better and more is revealed about the Dune universe. 'The Machine Crusade' jumps ahead from the end of 'The Butlerian Jihad' to the years at the middle of the war against the thinking machines. Erasmus struggles to maintain his individuality and places a bet with Omnius that'll lead to the first Mentat. Omnius is attacked with a virus by Vorian Atreides, the former cymek sympathizer and son of the Titan Agamemnon, by taking advantage of his old friend Seurat. Poritrin will suffer a violent slave uprising and in all the confusion they will learn firsthand the destructive power of when a lasgun comes in contact with a Holtzman shield. Thanks to the Titan Xerxes, Norma is able to open her latent power as one of the Sorceresses of Rossak, and the beginnings of the monopoly of the Spacing Guild are formed along with the first true chance for the Army of Humanity to take the offensive to the thinking machines in this war. The Poritrin slaves don't give up. Through their desperation and determination to be free, their actions to escape will crash land them on a harsh world of sand and of a much harsher life than promised. But it'll be a life were they are their own masters, as they meet Salim and proclaim themselves to be Free Men of Arrakis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Machine Crusade, Legends of Dune trilogy, Book 2

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    the review

    The mahine crusade was in a sense a volume carring a stock of little books. Each with a different main character and at only the very end do you realize the impact each one had on the other, and by then it is to much, and you try to absorb the amount of activity that is occuring-that you kind of have the same type of ending as the book-but it is the very complexity of the book that had made it 4-d. It has more then just a tale more then just a loss and more then just a story-and naturally became more then just a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    a nice ending for a second book

    The machine Crusade is an excelent read, but not for everyone. The Characters start to take a little more life than in the first Book (Dune- Butlarian Jihad) which focused more on the mechanisms that brought about the Jihad. The Machine Crusade was more about how a good cause can become entrenched leaving Rot to set in. When a group with a good stated purpose starts valuing it's own survival above it's stated goals corruption runs rampant. Iblis Ginjo's methods may remind many of a fun house mirror version of the Machieveli's 'the Prince' but the results end up more like the Iran Contra scandle but deadlier... You remeber that one don't you? But I digress... Still no signs of the origin of the rift that developed between house Harkonen and House Atreides. That Bombshell is being saved for 'the Battle of Corrin' (Book 3 of the trilogy). But other tantalizing things in this Novel include the relationships between Tio Holtzman and Norma Cenva, Norma & her mother's Lover-who first Markets Spice Melange to the League Nobles, Norma & her Mother-a Master Sorceress, the origin of the space folding ships that the Spacing Guild will eventually use, the continuing saga of Selim Worm Rider, The origin of the Fremen, and (Contrary to the 'Professional' review above) the Story of the Ginaz Mercenaries. One of the aspects of the Series that I found most intresting was the th Master Slave relationship that permeates this series. It is at the core of what Herbert and Anderson are writing about. just as the Dune series studied the Nature of Free Will and Prescience (ie can one really make a choice when one already knows the outcome?) this series looks at what truely makes a human (or any creature capable of Choice) free. The Politcal texture at times is a little thin but that is to be expected in a work with such a large scope. This is not to say that the intrigues are weak. On the contrary Mystery fans will enjoy this Book although the organization makes it easy to draw conclusions since the reader has the big picture. Many people who read sequel/prequel series find themselves disappointed when the series does not feel exactly the same. If you are looking to relive that Dune Feeling I would go with the House Books. But the Jihad was something I had longed to hear told around the fire at night in the Desert when the only other voice was the wind dancing with the infinite grains of sand. D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    A Clockwork Dune

    Dune: The Machine Crusade, like the other books in the Dune series by Messrs. Herbert and Anderson, has all of the complexity of a book in the original series, but lacks its subtlety, poetry, and depth. The authors are at their best in scenes set on Arrakis, and come up with interesting scenes in the Butler-Atreides-Harkonnen relationship, but have presented the reader with villains that come nowhere near the original Vladimir Harkonnen in sinister grace. The machines and their cyborg assistants are, like the novel itself, clockwork mechanisms in search of a soul. Still, the story has potential, and it will be interesting to see how it flows in to their earlier series (but later in time) detailing the events of the generation before Paul Atreides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    has no one read encyclopeidia dune

    in this encyclopedia autherized by frank herbert it goes into deatil about many of the characters and events in tehse books. and they dont match up. tio holtzman was not holtzmans real name. norma cenva was not teh inventor and fold space. and teh butlerian jihad was waged by JEHNNA butler. so i am rather mad that nothing adds up with teh history autherized by MR herbert himself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Some comments on the Dune Prequels

    First, let me state that I'm a Dune fan of longstanding... I own a 1965 hardback original edition of Dune. Read first in the late sixties also. It's been to Saudi Arabia and back (with a friend). I refer to that journey as it's visit to Shai-Hulud. I've read the original 6 books many times. There have been comments about whether all the necessary parts can be written and come together in a third book of this (prequel) trilogy. My answer is that Frank himself took 6 books to write his story and rumor has it he died before the 7th could tie up some loose ends (example.... those two folks behind the shimmering screen or veil - Face Dancers, yeah right !!). So why limit it to a trilogy? My opinion of these prequels are that they are somewhat shallow and seem to like to 'name drop' things far to easily. Perhaps to draw in the fans. But the bottom line is (I'm afraid) that bad_Dune is better and preferable to no_Dune. Gee, is that like a no-ship?? hahaha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    53 Years Old and Still Love Dune

    I loved the first three prequels by Brain and Kevin. These last two, including ¿Machines¿ keep me involved and yearning for more. I can not wait for the third and final prequel at the end of the year. Going back (10,000 years) is the most reading fun I have had in a while. Those that complain about the demise of certain characters need to get over it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    DO NOT READ MIKE'S REVIEW ON 12/17/03

    I have read the Butlerian Jihad but I have yet to read this book. I took a quick look at the reviews to get an idea of whether I would enjoy this saga of the DUNE story. A few reviewers suggested in their write ups about the plot line, but nothing that would absolutely give away the story. Mike's review on 12/17/03 basically gives away the entire book and makes me woder if there's any point to reading it now that I know what happens to most of the characters. Please, ignore this self-minded idiot's comments if you do not want the book's story ruined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Less is More

    Enough already!The subject is facinating but the authors do not seem to have the knack of making us care about the characters which are paper cutouts. Butler's death is horrific but not tragic.The beginnings of the Dune world are emerging but all too slowly. I hope the next volume is more focused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Dune/Matrix

    Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson have done it again! The Machine Crusade is a wondeful book and a must read. The storyline is similar to The Matrix in many ways. I tend to look at this book as a prequal to the Matrix movies, only on a more Sci-Fi scale (many planets other than Earth...space battles). As in The Matrix, humans are battleing Thinking Machines for a dominate role in the world. The corrupt AI will not give up easily and many have died thying to reach ultimate victory. Selim Wormrider/Morphus Freedom Fighters/Jihad Members etc. etc. etc. etc. etc. etc. Thus, if you love The Matrix, you'll love Dune: The Machine Crusade. If you love Dune: The Machine Crusade, go watch the Matrix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    An Afront to Dune readers

    This book is a slaughter of the universe Brian Herbert¿s father, Frank Herbert, created. I have read all Frank Herbert's Dune series only once and I can point our many mistakes in The Machine Crusade. In its own right the book was not bad if it had been writing and read without any knowledge of the original books, but I have read them and this is not the way things should be. For one, I am assuming the Sorceresses of Rossak will become the Benigeserit (I miss spelled that sorry), but the Sisters DO NOT HAVE TELEPATHIC POWERS. This is clearly stated in the original books and is disappointing that Brian would put this in just to please readers. Also the biggest flaw is Tio Holzman. Holzman lived on the planet IX.He has been described as a selfless inventor that locked him self away for months at times to create his inventions. Many times he would have to be hospitalized after such ordeals, and only lived to 33. Holzman also had a wife and seven children before he died. In this book Holzman is selfish and arrogant, more a politician then a scientist. When he dies he is not married, has no children, and is well into his 50's. Also the greatest mistake is Norma Cenva. NO person has the ability to remake their body from nothing, not even in the last books of Frank Herbert¿s. Also she is not the creator of the Holzman engines, Tio Holzman is. Also the ship yards aren¿t even on IX as they should be. All in all this book was a true failer to any real Dune reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3