Customer Reviews for

Dune Messiah

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I Really Liked It

'Dune Messiah' is a short yet fast-paced book that tells the story of Paul as both the messiah of the Fremen and the emperor of the universe. He struggles with his heavy spicy induce prescience, because he can see humanity's destruction. He is known as a tyrant for what...
'Dune Messiah' is a short yet fast-paced book that tells the story of Paul as both the messiah of the Fremen and the emperor of the universe. He struggles with his heavy spicy induce prescience, because he can see humanity's destruction. He is known as a tyrant for what he has done to the worlds who try to stand against the Bene Gesserit's uncontrollable Kwisatz Haderak. Irulan fights for love and for her birthright to bear the heir. Paul is forced to accept the gift of the ghola mentat Hayt, and endure his physical blindness from the stone burner. The conspiracy set against him by a Navigator, Face Dancer, and Reverend Mother unravels into surprising and dramatic events that'll bring the 'Children of Dune', the future of Arrakis turning lush and green, and the continuance of the religion of Paul of Messiah by the efforts of Alia. Paul is trapped by knowing the future. Irulan forced to accept no love or child from Paul, while it may her birthright to bear the heir she is only his wife in name. Can a ghola regain its past?

posted by brjunkie on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lost in Space?

This book is a prime illustration of why readers like myself have to come to despise science fiction sagas. Like Asimov's Foundation trilogy, Herbert's Dune series begins with a compelling first book but quickly loses the reader's interest. After the 1st book, bot...
This book is a prime illustration of why readers like myself have to come to despise science fiction sagas. Like Asimov's Foundation trilogy, Herbert's Dune series begins with a compelling first book but quickly loses the reader's interest. After the 1st book, both Herbert and Asimov proceed to eviscerate the heroes of their novels in favor of nebulous, far-fetched theories and hazy ideas. In Dune Messiah, Paul and Alia Atreides die and give way to the God Emperor Leto and his 4,000-year plan for humanity. The very notion is surreal and even ludicrous. No omnipotent being can possibly control billions of men on millions of planets for a thousands for millenia after his death, any more than an omniscient historian [Asimov's Hari Seldon] can predict the course of humanity for millenia after HIS death. Science fiction authors like Herbert and Asimov clearly don't care one iota about their characters or about character development. I don't understand how anyone can find the Dune series appealing after this travesty. If I'm missing something, will someone please clue me in.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Your dumb

    All of you people out there writing reviews are comparing this book to DUNE and this book will never be DUNE. I loved DUNE personally, but DUNE was something that in my opinion happens once in a lifetime. It was such a mastery of all the topics touched upon in the novel and it brought together many concepts that should be lived through everyday life. Dune Messiah on the other hand is still an amzing novel. It however is made to show the imperfect sides of our beloved Paul so we constantly push it to the side. It truly leads up to the events of the next book and is needed to bridge the gap. stop hating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    In the Shadow of a Prophecy, a Destiny is About to Be Fulfilled

    Dune Messiah contains all of the power and captivation of Dune, yet has exceeded the original in intelectual stimulation and sheer excitement. While Dune focused more upon the ascention of Maud'dib, Dune Messiah concentrates upon the beginning of the fulfillment of his destiny as the Kwiswatz Haderach and his fateful yet necesssary demise. I hate to say it, but this one's better than the classic if anything, it'll make you think, and perhaps, rethink, most of what you know about Paul Atreides and the enigmatic land Arrakis, known as Dune.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    The reason why many find it boring and disappointing is because...

    Dune Messiah: known to people as 'a real stinker', or 'a wonderful novel'. Why do those who say it is horrible think this way? It is because this small novel holds BIG messages. Those who think this novel sucks are blind to what this book really holds. It is very complex in writing, and ignorant beings just can't read it. You truly cannot read the Dune series and skip this book, it isn't possible. Frank Herbert is a true genious, and this book IS as much of the series as DUNE is. I do not recommend it, I tell you to read it. If you don't read this book, then you are not a true Dune fan, that is the truth of it. This relatively small novel is too important to skip for all you REAL fans. Get ready for a philosophical roller-coaster...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    fantastic

    This book is amazing. It takes a little while to get going but it pays off. If you plan on reading the other dune books, then this contains to much information to skip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Continuation from Dune

    A fan of Frank Herbert, and will always be. Great Science Fiction for the archival collections.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Great Book

    Great sequel to Dune!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    A classic written by a legend!

    A classic written by a legend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dune Messiah, the Dune Chronicles, Book 2

    Paul is now the Emperor of the universe, and he is worshipped as a God, by all on Dune. This is further complicated by him battling other planets to bow to him and his sister's attributes to his godliness. Alia is also troubled because she can not see the future that Paul so easily sees and is not able to avoid. There is a plot out against Paul's life, and the Bene Gesserit are determined to salvage his blood line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    Dune Messiah

    Dune Messiah By: Frank Herbert Report by: Doug Glynn The book I read was called Dune Messiah by Frank Herbert in his many books about Dune. In this book Paul Atrites has taken over the empire. He took it from the Landshire house and they were really aggravated at his actions. Not only was the Landshire angry everyone else was angry because Paul in Dune, the first of the trilogy, had Jihad agents the Empire and a lot of the Houses. Many people were trying to kill Paul because they hated him and his religion. This book was exciting to read and another best book on my list. It was exciting because of the constant action and multiple plots. For example people were trying to plot agents the Atrites house. Sometimes the Reverend Mother would talk to Irulan to see if she could get Paul to sleep with her so they could produce another human male that could see into the future. The plot around China was also interesting, if she could make it throw the birth witch she didn¿t want to do it in the first place but she changes her mind and knew it would be best for the Family and to give Paul a son would be amazing and he would love her more then he loved her when she was not pregnant. Then, Paul realized that when she would give birth that China won¿t make it through and he asks himself if he should I tell her that she is going to die! The writing style is the same as the last book because it was the same author Frank Herbert. I loved how he would change from character to character in different chapters. One example was when Paul was talking to China and then it would go to Ali talking to Duncan. The author¿s writing style is great but sometimes might get a little confusing. For example Frank Herbert would talk about Ali and voices in her head which doesn¿t make sence but she was pre-born then talk about Ali talking to Duncan the dead person brought back to life by the Ix (a group of people/planet) Handy work witch makes a lot of since later one in the book. This is one of the best books I have ever read in my life time. If I had to rate this book I would give it twenty out of ten. I would rate this book twenty out of ten because the plot was amazing. It was a kind of plot that makes you not want to put down the book. Another reason this was a great book is that Frank Herbert put such great detail in to these character. One example would be ¿with the hood on and my still suit mask covering my face I look like a desert freman.¿ I could feel like I was standing right next to the character and talk to him and grab him. This was a great book and another great book in the series. I had a lot of fun reading this during class and at home. I suggest this to any one who what¿s an amazing read after the first book Dune. If any ones decide to read this book and have any Questions about this book you can ask me if I¿m not reading

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    WOW! Dune at its best.

    This book was just as good as Dune maybe more. You learn what power does to people and how they can shape the universe. Plus the chilling polt to kill Paul Atreides, how he goes blind and yet can see. If you love deep plots? This is your book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Almost as good as the first

    If Dune was about a planet Messiah is about characters. And how interesting they are! I could understand the feelings of the characters in this book better than the one in Dune. Hayt/Duncan is probably the most compeling character of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    A Different Style, Same Quality

    When I began I read the reviews and listen to other people's opinions on 'Dune Messiah,' I head nothing but negative thoughts. So, I was expecting to be comepletely let down. Oddly enough, as I began to read 'Dune Messiah,' I noticed that the only thing that I would think would irk people was the stylistic approach that Frank Herbert took. 'Dune Messiah' is, stylically, more to the point than 'Dune' and quite a bit more introspective. What this book did that I found to be so impressive was the fact that it took a character that, in 'Dune,' was undoubtedly a messiah and a savior and gives you the reality of it. Maud'dib's Jihad causes horrible destruction and meaningless death to unbelievers. By the middle of the book, the reader is pondering whether Paul is like Jesus, or more like Adolf Hitler. The only telltale sign that Paul's Jihad would end up being disastrous in 'Dune' was his own vision. But, by the end of 'Dune' the reader was meant to forget that and cheer for the righteous victory of the Messiah Maud'dib! That clairvoyant vision from Paul would end up being the crucial point fueling 'Dune Messiah.' In my eyes, the ending to 'Dune Messiah' could not have been better. It is certainly one of the most important parts of the entire saga. After giving an objective look at Paul's Jihad, the book allows you to make your own opinion of Paul...I felt he was a tragic hero in the pure sense of the word. The major aspect that tips the scale in favor of 'Dune' over 'Dune Messiah' is that it contains Jessica (who is probably the most interesting character in the whole series). In pretense to the series, 'Dune Messiah' may very well be the crucial novel that gives incredible depth to all the main characters. Simply, a profound piece of literature(...and I do not drop that word easily).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2000

    A complete masterpiece!!!

    The book was an excellent read. Compelling characters and story. A must read for fans of the first Dune book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4