Customer Reviews for

Dune Road

Average Rating 3
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jane Green provides her fans with an interesting character study

When Kit divorced Wall St. workaholic superstar Adam, she left him with the Highfield, Connecticut country house. Instead she moved from the mansion having left the manor to live in a nice home near the beach town's Main Street raising their kids there.

She works as...
When Kit divorced Wall St. workaholic superstar Adam, she left him with the Highfield, Connecticut country house. Instead she moved from the mansion having left the manor to live in a nice home near the beach town's Main Street raising their kids there.

She works as a personal assistant to renowned writer Robert McClore, a widower who avoids the world. Kit has made new friends like her yoga partner Tracy and lives next to a reliable neighbor in eight something Edie. As Kit decides to become Robert's second wife though he has shown no romantic inclination towards her or anyone and she is seeing Steve, her previously unknown half-sister Annabel arrives from England to meet her. However, the biggest problem she faces is she begins to believe she still loves her ex.

Remaining on the New England shore (see BEACH HOUSE) Jane Green provides her fans with an interesting character study starring strong avaricious women living a very shallow existence until one of the card carrying members drops out. Thus the audience compares Kit's revelations on what matters vs. the greedy desires of her former BFFs make for a strong story line. Unnecessary late suspense detracts from the comparative character study as the sudden action subplot feels out of place. Still watching Kit change so that she no longer fits with the gourmet gossip group makes for an overall fine read.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I Would Rather Be at the Beach With NO Book

I had found Jane Green's books, "Beach House" and Second Chance" at least amusing on a summer book level of reading, but "Dune Road" left me feeling like I had wasted my time in a way no book has in a very long time. The author presented us with shallow, weak, brand-wor...
I had found Jane Green's books, "Beach House" and Second Chance" at least amusing on a summer book level of reading, but "Dune Road" left me feeling like I had wasted my time in a way no book has in a very long time. The author presented us with shallow, weak, brand-worshipping women. I couldn't believe how conniving and dishonest the characters were, only to have their best friends, family members and/or spouses, so very easily forgiven. A best friend of the main charater sets her up with an abusive con man and when she finds out, she's sympathetic towards her?! UGH!! None of the women, with the exception of the only likeable character, the 86 year old neighbor Edie, seems able to survive without a man, and will go to any extreme to hone in on their target as long as he's a handsome meal ticket. (What year is this?!) And the writer repeats herself several times throughout the book, to the point of thinking the reader may be experiencing memory loss. Do yourself a favor and skip this lightweight drain...find something with strong female characters. I'll not read another Jane Green book.

posted by LakeBooks on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    A unique beach read

    Dune Road takes us in different directions, but not too unexpected. You have some interesting characters like Edie and Robert who have history and intrigue, but the others seem too familiar. The introduction of new friendships is too easy and fast. The job that falls into the protagonist's hands is too easy. The children are stereotypical. Real women aren't as stupid as the protagonist and don't allow sleek newcomers into their lives that easily without checking first. The happily every after ending really was too much closure too soon and tied everything up nicely. Still, it's an easy read that isn't painful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good beach read.

    Who doesn't love a good chick lit.? Jane Green is one of the best at this. I, however, didn't love Dune Road, but I enjoyed it a lot. I felt some situations were too predictable, but there were a couple of surprises in this book I didn't see coming. I am a Jane Green fan and I always feel I get my moneys worth when buying one of her books. I'm trying not to give anything away here. There is a character in this book who is rotten to the core, and you will instantly know who it is, but there is a twist even with that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Would Rather Be at the Beach With NO Book

    I had found Jane Green's books, "Beach House" and Second Chance" at least amusing on a summer book level of reading, but "Dune Road" left me feeling like I had wasted my time in a way no book has in a very long time. The author presented us with shallow, weak, brand-worshipping women. I couldn't believe how conniving and dishonest the characters were, only to have their best friends, family members and/or spouses, so very easily forgiven. A best friend of the main charater sets her up with an abusive con man and when she finds out, she's sympathetic towards her?! UGH!! None of the women, with the exception of the only likeable character, the 86 year old neighbor Edie, seems able to survive without a man, and will go to any extreme to hone in on their target as long as he's a handsome meal ticket. (What year is this?!) And the writer repeats herself several times throughout the book, to the point of thinking the reader may be experiencing memory loss. Do yourself a favor and skip this lightweight drain...find something with strong female characters. I'll not read another Jane Green book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    Not Good

    This book was completely predictable and shallow. Towards the end, I felt like I was reading the same thing over and over, but it turned out the author repeated herself in a few chapters. I do not recommend this book at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    Dune Road - Dull Read

    This book might be better stocked in the kiddie department. Once upon a time there was a book with a trite, predictable and sadly unoriginal plot. Kit, supposedly the enlightened woman is a self obsessed, immature and pathetic character. But not to worry - they all live happily ever after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jane Green provides her fans with an interesting character study

    When Kit divorced Wall St. workaholic superstar Adam, she left him with the Highfield, Connecticut country house. Instead she moved from the mansion having left the manor to live in a nice home near the beach town's Main Street raising their kids there.

    She works as a personal assistant to renowned writer Robert McClore, a widower who avoids the world. Kit has made new friends like her yoga partner Tracy and lives next to a reliable neighbor in eight something Edie. As Kit decides to become Robert's second wife though he has shown no romantic inclination towards her or anyone and she is seeing Steve, her previously unknown half-sister Annabel arrives from England to meet her. However, the biggest problem she faces is she begins to believe she still loves her ex.

    Remaining on the New England shore (see BEACH HOUSE) Jane Green provides her fans with an interesting character study starring strong avaricious women living a very shallow existence until one of the card carrying members drops out. Thus the audience compares Kit's revelations on what matters vs. the greedy desires of her former BFFs make for a strong story line. Unnecessary late suspense detracts from the comparative character study as the sudden action subplot feels out of place. Still watching Kit change so that she no longer fits with the gourmet gossip group makes for an overall fine read.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Substance Lacking

    I continue to read Jane Green’s books, thinking they have to get better. So weird, as feel she always sets up the books for a great novel and likeable characters. However, she continues to talk over and over about feelings from the characters as almost overboard, and then forgets the actual story? There is never much of a story or substance, it is more about what this one thinks and that one with lots of drama.
    I did like this one better than some of the others as listened to audio as Cassandra Campbell, is easy on the ears and enjoy her performance. All Jane Green’s leave you feeling frustrated with the storylines and unnerving at times. Maybe one day I will run across a real story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    This book was a big yawn. This is the first of Green's books I h

    This book was a big yawn. This is the first of Green's books I have read, so i can't compare to her other novels. Ever wish you could get your money back after reading a disappointing book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    recommend

    really enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    It was good! Keep me wanting to keep to see what happens in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    What gives with the ebooks??

    Gee, thanks, Barnes & Noble for the 3 PAGE ebook sample. How generous, especially when the ebook is $12.99. Sorry, I don't have enough information to buy this book...but you know that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Disappointing

    I have read some other Jane Green books and this was a disappointment. I don't think her books are great, but they are entertaining. This one I seriously considered not finishing. It was predicatable, the characters were not very three-dimensional. The story was set in Connecticut but I kept thinking this book had been written for a British audience or adapted from another story because who in CT fills their car with "petrol" or parks it in a "car park"? And American Santas don't wear "cotton wool" beards. Who edited this book and didn't pick up on that? Skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    menza menz

    not horrible, not a page turner, pleasant and predictable.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Not Worth It

    I have read a lot of Jane Green's books. This one had a lot of lead up with a quick ending that was boring. There was so much going for this book that the ending could have been explosive and exciting. Instead it was neat and boring. I question reading any future Jane Green's books. I love Jemima J. It was the first book of Jane Green's that I read and my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall A Good Read

    This is the 3rd book I have read from Jane Green. I loved The Beach House, did not love Second Chance, and liked this book. Green takes us into the lives of the wealthy, through the mazes the weave and the unexpected events so many people have encountered. She also gives a touch of thrill as the plot evolves to include a mysterious celebrity, an abusive boyfriend, a pathological liar with addicitions, and the group of women who are friends and how they are all somehow connected to the unfolding drama. The characters are likable and I found myself wanting to find out the ending to see how it all played out. I was a bit disappointed in the quick wrap-up ending, but it was still well done. It's not one of the most exciting books I have read, but it is a fun, quick read that I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Kept my interest

    I enjoyed the story and the characters. At times the writing seemed a bit simple or repetitive, which surprised me as I have read Jane Green before and didn't remember the other books being this way. But all in all I liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Dune Road, a remarkable trip!

    Admittedly, when I first delved into "Dune Road" by Jane Green, I felt like I had haphazardly discovered someone's to-do list. Drab, drab, drab. That someone is, namely, Kit Hargrove. In these first pages, the main character has pulled through her divorce effortlessly. Ho-hum, she doesn't mind downsizing into a small house after living the high life with a husband who just can't seem to separate from his work life.now isn't this an overdone idea. And, wouldn't you know it, a job working as an assistant for a famous author, Robert McClore, falls right into Kit's lap.

    No conflict. No appeal. I thought Dune Road was going to become Drab Road, but as I forced myself to read, I found the characters and situations took some interesting and surprising turns that roused my curiosity more and more.

    A leap above pop psychology, Jane's knowledge of recovery from drugs and alcohol and family interactions is remarkable and right on! Her expertise gives the characters credibility and the elements certainly play into the melodramatic stage that Jane so refreshingly sets.
    My connection with the book is the locale of Dune Road. A native of Fairfield County, CT, in fact, on occasion I play tour director on coach motorbuses through the fabulously posh Gold Coast that Jane writes about. Although Jane fictionalized the street and other relevant names of businesses and such, she re-creates the region precisely. I also enjoyed the Easton, CT, backdrops in the book. As a professional day-tripper, however, I must say when she illustrates Maple Row Farm, where Kit and her family go to obtain their Christmas tree, the author describes the farm setting perfectly down to the cider and donuts, but leaves out the oxen. How can you miss those mammoth creatures? They are what make the farm extraordinary. But, hey, we're talking fiction here, so oxen or no oxen, Dune Road, apart from a few bumps along the way, is well worth the trip.

    Stacy Lytwyn Maxwell, Author/Book Reviewer/Teacher
    CONSUMMATE CONNECTICUT: DAY TRIPS WITH PANACHE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Memorable Real-Life Story

    I have read some of the reviews that others have left for this novel, and I have to say I completly disagree with most of you. Jane Greens first few novels did indeed start off as complete chick-lit, and now they have become just wonderful stories for the everyday woman. Her stories comntain REAL plots, with real problems like divorce, and pain that people overcome everyday. I think her newest novels are more grown up then her previous novels and woman should read them. They show that can can overcome everything in your life if u put your mind to it. 'Dune Road' has interwoven plots that keeps your asking what is going to happen, all the way to the end. I loved that characters, and how to seemed so real to me. I think woman should def read this novel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Green is a great author--her books never disappoint!!

    I'm glad I bought this book--it was a wonderful read! I couldn't put it down. Jane Green writes wonderful books that everyone can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Rushed Ending

    After recently having read Second Chance this was very similar. However, Second Chance (which at the time I thought was just OK) was much better. With both books she adds all of these twists and turns, and then when she gets to her required word count she just wraps everything up in a neat little bow. It makes no sense. The endings in both books were far far too rushed. Especially in Dune Road, things just...ended. After so much build up there was no description of a resolution. Just a paragraph or two. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5