Customer Reviews for

Dusk

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Sci-Fi

The action drew me in right away, but there is much more here than that. The characters are very well written and well rounded and there is an overall attention to detail that draws the reader into the world. Plus, the story has very interesting surprises. This is a tru...
The action drew me in right away, but there is much more here than that. The characters are very well written and well rounded and there is an overall attention to detail that draws the reader into the world. Plus, the story has very interesting surprises. This is a truly well done book, and I anxiously await the sequel.

posted by Ex_Kama_Why on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs Major Editing

The author got hung up on minute details of martial arts. Did nothing for the story line. Just bogged the whole tale down. The martial arts practice and fight scenes were just plain boring. Cutting about 2/3 of fight descriptions would greatly improve this book.

posted by bdancer on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Excellent Sci-Fi

    The action drew me in right away, but there is much more here than that. The characters are very well written and well rounded and there is an overall attention to detail that draws the reader into the world. Plus, the story has very interesting surprises. This is a truly well done book, and I anxiously await the sequel.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good Read

    I like this book very much. This is not one of those syfy book loaded with techno battle and epic battles to save mankind. This is about personal interreaction bettwen travelers on a space mission. Do not get me wrong there is techno stuff but I like that the story deals with space travel, the people you life behind and difficulties of a long flight deep into space. The chacters hold you with the story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Respectfully Disagree - The Action is top notch

    The martial arts may not be for some, but I think it is a fresh addition to the story. You won't read many books like this where good attention is paid to the physical events of the story. They worked very well for me and kept me engaged, although there was one seen that was pretty long, I think the fighting detail enhances the story and adds greatly to the suspension of disbelief; especially since the characters are so detailed and their motivations make sense.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Good Read, Great Price and Interesting plot

    I really enjoyed this book. The layout, with each chapter starting with a coversation between father and son, was a little confusing at first but really added to the story as it progressed.
    There is a lot of detail, a lot of action and a decent amount of character development.
    Anyone who really likes science-fiction with a well thought out plot will probably like this book.
    There are no intimate scenes and very little cussing.
    The only critism I can give is in the final chapter. After such a thought-provoking storyline, to have it end very shallowly and without an explanation of how the nemesis is going to accomplish what he set out to do is disappointing. Otherwise, a very good book and worth the read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    excellent

    the story line keeps you captivated. just read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Needs Major Editing

    The author got hung up on minute details of martial arts. Did nothing for the story line. Just bogged the whole tale down. The martial arts practice and fight scenes were just plain boring. Cutting about 2/3 of fight descriptions would greatly improve this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very well written. Overly descriptive in some parts, but I think

    Very well written. Overly descriptive in some parts, but I think it adds to the depth. The story is really about the characters and their actions. Emotion is very subtle and portrayed through actions rather than hitting the reader over the head with trite descriptions of what the characters are thinking or feeling. This is really a readers book and the author gives his readers respect and authority.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Hard to get in to

    I have a hard time tring to get in to it. The book is also very slow for me. I just went and bought a new book when I got to chapter five. Not reading another book by this person again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Not my type

    The martial arts were too drawn out to the point i started skipping them. I never did understand certain main points. I will not read this author agian.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Intriguing

    The story is more about the people than about the adventure. More of a philosophical introspective with some interesting martial arts built in. As far as plot, it's no more than an interesting idea all throughout. But the characters really bring this to the top of my list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Not your average sci-fi novel

    The characters are engaging, philosophical and all too real. I found myself drawn into the story and extremely hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Cali

    Im so stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Larksong

    The Ace Team @ anaceteam… Macmoon Pack @ macmoon … Camp Half blood @ camphalfblood and halfblood … Hunters of Arremis @ silver bow … Vampire Slayers @ slayer … Willowix Animal Center @ domestic cats

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    NO CAT RPS

    Harry potter @ hogwarts....Starwars @ battle of the stars....Dorm/orphanade @ the home....Beauxbaton @ Beauxbaton.....Vampire thing@ safety.....plz add

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Oops...

    I just forgot to post that the charcters drop the f-bomb alot, about at the middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Action packed fighting

    I congratulate the author on the use of various religious and cultural belief systems braided together. The fights left me exasperated although the level of detail was intriguing, it pushed my limits of patience trying to visualize each detail of each fight. I was sadden by the death of Six. The conversation between father and son was a great display of moral prowess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Spiritflower

    Y did he shoot u in the head? What did u do?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Julie to trickstar

    Hi! Welcome to HE|| how may I serve you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Rocky

    Flurp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I had a really hard time getting into this. The concept is good,

    I had a really hard time getting into this. The concept is good, and I enjoyed the story line, but the action was WAY too much. I agree -- it bogged the story down a LOT. You could cut out more than half the book and lose nothing of the story line. And the switching between perspectives during fight scenes was really, really confusing. I'll probably have to read any sequels just because I've gotten into the story and like some of the characters, but I probably wouldn't read anything else by this author. I also agree that major editing is needed -- I found numerous typos and grammatical errors. Mixed feelings on this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3