Customer Reviews for

Dusk

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    ?

    &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Jacob

    human doesnt care that its a warriors rp but eh i could do better with a wrewolf rp but what ever 14 years old brown hair green eyes and jeans and a tee-shirt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Flamepelts bio

    Clan medicen cat apperance thick fured flame colored tom with warm green eyes mate crush kits never will have any personality kind and compashionet and careing age 29 moons
    History none

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Fawnheart's bio

    Name~Fawnheart~Age~30 moons.~Rank~Deputy of DuskClan.~Personalities~Kind and very hating of BloodShed.~Family~Ask any time!~Other~Hates blood shed and is very hpy most of the time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Dawnstar

    A pretty orange and black shecat with green eyes, personality: meet me, history: just ask, no crush mate or kits yet, anything else just ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Deertail

    Gender--she cat// Personality--meet me// histoey-- ask me// rank--warrior// appearence--russet she with crimson tipped ears and paws. Light blue eyes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    To zakk

    Res five

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    To below

    Its a warning for you not a threat~Cougarpaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Also Wanted

    Glimmer of the Freedom Chasers is wanted dead pretty much everywhere per request of a baddie named Blazestorm. She ignores all attempts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Wanted dead

    Whisperwillow...Rockstar...Dawnlight...Glimmer...Minteyes...Poppysong...Coldstar...Greypelt...Foxheart...Breezestar.....plz add

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    To daek secrets

    Its about a six or seven. Not the best grammar. Stroylimes a bit fast. But if you said ur suroundings. It would be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Dark secrets Chaper three

    Ivypaw sifted uncomfterbly. "Any mintute now...." mewed lilacglow. Then grassclan warriors jumped out. One ran to mosspaw and bitehr ad. "Help ivypaw" she mewed in terror. Ivypaw jumped up on the warrior then e recanised riverjump. "Hello apprentice theres no way t saveyour siste now. Next is you" he mewed with a girn on his face. Riverjump quickly bite mosspaw then mosspa bes friend leafpaw pushed riverjump over te he bite leafpaw. Meanwhile shadestr and rabbitstar were fght then rabbitstar gave up. "Gassclan retreat" e mewed. Cats ran out of stormcla terriotory and so did riverjump. Mosspaw was laying one the groun next to leafpaw. "Ivypaw........." mosspaw mewed. "Shush not talk till we heal you" ivypaw mewed "no no haling will save me or leafpaw" mosspaw mewed back. A tear slid across ivypaws face. "No this cant happen we have to become warrips toehr train appre-" ivypaw begian saying. "No ivypaw i kbow thas what you want..... i want tha too but staclan is calling me and leafpaw" ivypaw inerupted. Cats were waacthing the sense quitly. "Ivypaw but i at to do smthing for me and leafpw" she countinude. "Whats it" he mewed. "Become a warrior countin your life and whwn yo d so think tat we are sharig this life togethr" mosspaw mewed then looked over at leafpaw who had died then mosspaws head fell to the ground an died. Ivypaw has started crying on lilacflow as she told lilacflow that everythings gonna be .okay "tonight we will ait vifil be wat mosspaw ad leafpaw will go ro staclab as warriors mosspaw willb e mosswhillow leafpaw will be leafwhillow" shadestar mewed. The stormcl wariors andnow apprentice heded home. Two new stars twinkled above. They were closer togethe then most stars. Starpaw ivypaw friend paded outside she wisprd evrythings goning to be okay. "I love you starpaw" wisperd ivypaw. "I love you too" starpaw wisperd back they entrd camp together.... chapter three next reskt also rate this on a scae frm one to ten

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Duskclan

    Warriors den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Clearity just beyond your reach.

    If you enjoy the dark side of fantasy you just hit the jack pot this book leaves out nothing just because its sensitive material. You recieve the full picture but the picture of the actual story is somewhat distored. You believe that you know whats going on but it only hints at it in the book, so you feel that you know whats happening but you truly don't know the truth because no one in the novel even knows the truth. Like the reader they know only bits and pieces. The end of the novel gives you a mental beating leaving you gasping and asking how the story will continue(but it does hint at possiblities). If you feel like a story that challenges and pleases your mind then this is the book you've been waiting for. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    Lebbon ... from novelist to writer ....

    Lebbon has always challenged the reader to follow his dark imagination into less comfortable surroundings. I have to say though that Dusk really is a departure from his usual style. Lebbon invents a world beyond the kid gloves of Tolkein and the like. The first time I read Dusk I really felt swept away with the pace of the book, tearing at the pages to keep pace. On second reading I took the time to appreciate the characters and lavish setting. This really is a fantastic read and for the first time I apprecited the difference between dark fantasy and horror. I suspect that this really will place Lebbon comfortable alongside the likes of Barker in terms of daring the reader to surrender their imagination to his. Absolutely superb.... Yours, F.Wasp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    epic coming of age fantasy

    The Cataclysmic War ended the reign of magic with mages fleeing for their lives. Over the next three centuries, in spite of the demise of magic as a combat tool and the thought that the Cataclysmic War was the war to end all wars, battles continue using savage mundane methods to kill or maim your adversary. --- In 2208, the Year of the Black, Kosar the Thief watches the rider in red serendipitously comes to the village Trengborne. He is stunned as the stranger begins a slaughter killing the young and anyone else offering resistance even the militia while taking blows that should have left him dead. Kosar notices one teenage boy escapes up the dark hillside. That lad Rafe Baburn saw his parents and others murdered by what had to be a demon. Evidence has surfaced that magic has been rebirthed in the young the Red Monk and his minion plan to eradicate it before the one soul possessing the skill can mature enough to use it against them. Kosar meets and teams up with A¿Meer the Shantasi warrior in a search to find and protect Rafe from the Red Monk, but first must expedite him from Hope the witch. --- This epic coming of age fantasy grips the audience from the moment the Thief fearfully observes the red-robed killing machine and never slows down as Kosar finds allies to protect the dying world¿s perhaps last hope Rafe. The exhilarating story line paints a dark gloomy Poe like atmosphere throughout especially when the adversaries take center stage. The key characters in particular the teen and his champions are unique individuals that make their realm seem even more nightmarishly real. Tim Lebbon paints the darkest DUSK that will have readers keeping the lights on until dawn breaks. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2005

    Your Dark Fantasy

    I assure you, Tim Lebbon knows what you have dreamed and you will find it written across the pages of DUSK. Having first sampled Lebbon¿s work in his novel ¿Desolation,¿ I was already familiar with how deftly he can move between the ethereal and the fundamentally ordinary. He finds beauty and wonder in the smallest things, and yet he is just as gifted in flinging out the expanse of the universe like a mad astronomer. I have been thrilled to experience a preview copy of DUSK and I can already envision myself and a group of friends sharing a drink and having lively discussions about all it has to offer. Anyone in that scenario who admitted they had not read DUSK would be immediately given the empathy typically offered to the homeless and impoverished, because not to have paid a visit to Lebbon¿s Noreela universe is to be truly poor in body and soul. I must say it again, Lebbon knows what is in your nightmares and he will show them all to you again. Others have described Lebbon as having a wild imagination but I fear it is much worse than we suspected. He could be mad or at the very least quite ill. How else could he have created such creatures of horror, the seen and unseen. There¿s the Red Monk, the skull ravens, the tumblers and furbats, the Nax and shades and weapons and the smell of rotwine rotting in the hot sun. There¿s Trey with the yellow eyes and the beautiful, sensual A¿Meer who likes it over a chair. There¿s Hope the Witch and Rafe Baburn, the last hope for a dying world. And there¿s more¿there¿s always more to the eye where Magic is concerned. DUSK is an epic story, but don¿t let that frighten you if you¿re not fond of them. This one will wrap your heart in chains with each successive chapter and will not let you go. You will find yourself swept up into the story of unlikely heroes and sworn enemies, of the ancient machines left over from the Cataclysmic War, of a love story in a place where primal fears reign supreme. Just as the sun is going down, reflected in fire and water, blood and smoke, all hell and all doubt, you will find that which that stands unwavering and timeless in the face of impossible odds¿and pray for the DAWN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1