Customer Reviews for

Dust

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    A+

    This book has it all fantasy magic pain hate betrail hope love and everthing in between. Devon has a special wayof describing every last detail thatmakes you feel like you are there beside rosalie. Cant wait to finish the journey with rosalie and jack. its very well writen i recommend ittl to everyone!! Loved it cant wait for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Looky! Looky! Santa/Daddy decided I¿d been good last year and go

    Looky! Looky! Santa/Daddy decided I’d been good last year and got me exactly what I asked for! It was such a great read that I finished it on Christmas day.
    This story was an engaging, fascinating tale and Ms. Ashley certainly isn’t afraid of making her characters endure hell. Though this was a wonderful book and I enjoyed it immensely, as noted by the five sparkling stars, there was one thing I had a problem with.

    The plot:
    In a world of faeries, pixies, and spriggans, young Rosalie is different from the other young pixlings. She prefers the presence of nature to that of her hyper-active roommate and the quiet of the trees to the chatter of her friends. Then one day she is abducted and made into a slave for the faeries along with dozens of other pixies to make an endless supply of pixie dust. There she witnesses and suffers terrible conditions and brutal treatment of her and her kind while trying to stay alive and maintain her sanity. Then, after the death of a close friend, Rosalie snaps and attempts an escape. She fails and is thrown in prison where a boyish young faerie is assigned to break her, but ends up falling in love with her instead.
    Now, here’s my problem—this story is labeled “romance” and, once that element got going, it was incredibly sweet, touching, and heart-melting. However, there are 336 pages in this book and we get to page 171 before we actually meet Jack, our love interest. I’ve contemplated this problem, wondering if the author could have cut down on the beginning portion, the part where Rosalie is imprisoned and working as a slave, and came to the conclusion that a good deal of it was necessary to the development of the plot. Yet I think about a hundred pages of the “hardship” sequence could have done with snipping or been condensed or perhaps the “romance” sequence been lengthened. As it is, it felt a bit lopsided.

    The characters:
    Okay, so I seriously considered taking down my star rating by one, but I enjoyed this book way too much to do that. Rosalie is compassionate, kind, and yet has enough steel in her to keep from buckling under the horrible conditions she and the others are subjected to. Her relationship with Jack was my kind of love story—sweet with heaps of difficulty for good measure. It was interesting to see her begin to question the social convention of her pixie hollow and even wonder if some parts of faerie family structure were better.
    Jack was adorable. In the beginning, he’s a bit of a spoiled brat and more than a little mad at Rosalie because he thinks she’s a criminal and blames her for having to watch her instead of running around with his friends. But as time goes on and Jack realizes that Rosalie was kidnapped and forced into bondage for no reason, he becomes more empathetic and even protective. He cares for her wounds and begins to make plans to free her, even though that will probably mean never seeing her again.
    There were several other characters we are introduced to in the first 171 pages of the book—Poppy, Rosalie’s roommate; Holly, the matriarch of the captive pixies; Willow, the sardonic, kind of mean pixie who is softer on the inside, but with an understandably prickly exterior; and Finley, the sadistic, narcissistic faerie who assigns Jack to Rosalie in the first place. The supporting cast was diverse and interesting and each served their purpose in the story. But I must admit, I got kind of impatient for the romance element to get going and didn’t pay a whole lot of attention to them.

    In conclusion, I am very much looking forward to the next installment of the Of Dust and Darkness series and I recommend it to fans of clean, sweet, YA romance who don’t mind a 171-page wait for the romance to start. I do think it’s worth a try!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    She truly brought pixies to life! In the beginning, before Rosal

    She truly brought pixies to life! In the beginning, before Rosalie was captured, the author described the life of a pixie in such a beautiful, perfect way. The details in her descriptions were incredible, and I pictured everything so vividly. Some parts after being captured were a bit disturbing, especially when I pictured the scene, but you have to expect that reading this book. You can't read the summary and think this book wouldn't be sad at all.

    As for Rosalie, I definitely love her character. She's so strong and never lost hope.

    Sometimes I felt like the word choices were a little awkward and took away from the story a little, but despite that I'm still giving this book a five-star rating. If you like pixies, read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pixies Like You Have Never Seen Them Before!!!! I was given

    Pixies Like You Have Never Seen Them Before!!!!


    I was given this book in exchange for an honest review! Coolest ARC ever!

    I love this book! I have never read anything like it seriously!





    The whole pixie thing had me thrilled as I was reading. Rosalie's world came to life unraveling before me as my mind literally was enveloped in wonder. It was awesome! I felt giddy reading it too.





    Devon Ashley made me laugh. Rosalie's life and the hallow were spectacular I was taken into it immediately. I thought for sure I would fall asleep (because that happens to me when I read laying down) but I had to keep reading! And oh my gawd, when she gets captured I was stunned, even though the blurb had forewarned me.



    There's a ton of emotions that you run through in this book and it's very well written too.



    I love the dynamic that develops between her and Jack and truly have no complaints about the story. There was a good plot and the story was full and never lacking. The characters were loveable and the villain Finley is truly believable.



    I am going to buy the book for my shelves, I recommend it to all of the lovers of fae out there. A really good read!



    I think that Rosalie's character as well as Poppy's speaks to a normal dynamic between two best friends. I like that the pixies were just like people emotionally and not different and overly cheery. (Which tends to be annoying to me)



    I was delighted throughout the read and enamored along the way and the ending is great and suspenseful. I will be needing book 2 please!



    I am glad I got to participate in this blog tour of Dust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    APPRENTICES DEN

    APPRENTICES DEN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Refreshingly origanal

    When I first started reading Dust I was't sure if it was going to be something I would enjoy. It was a lot different from the books that I have been reading lately, and after only a little bit of time I was so thankful for this. I was completely enthralled by this story. Pixies are not creatures that I have read a lot of books about, which was a refreshing change of pace!

    Rosalie's story was a heartwrenching one. Can I just say now how much I love how realistic the whole imprisonment was! I have read a fair share of damsel in distress books, and I have to say that so rarely did these come across as really being a horrible situation. There was never a doubt in Dust just how dire of a situation Rosalie was in. Devon Ashley did an amazing job here, she left nothing for you to assume was going on. She painted a very hopeless picture for these poor pixies, and left no detail out. This wasn't your typical paranormal romance where the prince comes storming in to save a beautiful women, who looked no worse for wear after etreme torture. Rosalie was truly what you would expect after all the brutalizing she endured.

    I also loved the dynamic between Rosalie and Jack. There was no insta love between them (yay!), their relationship slowly progressed with the book. Nothing was rushed and I really appreciated that. Their relationship was not the main focus of everything, which was nice too. It left me wanting more, which is what (in my opinion) a good first book in a series does! I look forward to book 2 coming out so I can see where Rosalie's journey takes her next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    great faery read

    I am a huge faery fan, so I was so excited to be asked to review DUST. On my nook, the book is only a mere 150 pages. Dust is a fairly short read and I easily knocked it out pretty quickly. What I loved about the book was the plot: a pixie that gets wrongfully imprisoned and seeks for a way out. Another thing I liked about it is that these pint size faeries and pixies are the sole characters; not a single human to be found. To me, I find that is rare. So many books today are about fae and humans and the fae are usually human size. I was actually pleased with this twist and think it was so well done.

    DUST is a clean YA book but there are several areas in the story that are kind of hard to read about. Rosalie is no longer in her familiar Hollow where she is safe and protected. She gets thrown into horrible living conditions and nearly starved to death by her captors. The torture they inflict on her is beyond disgusting and hurtful. I found myself having to skip over a few parts just because reading about it was just too hard.

    Things did get better as we near the last third of the book when we get introduced to a new character: Jack. I actually really enjoyed him and loved when they were spending time together. I loved Ashley’s take on the romance…we slowly see the feelings grow between the two without it being rushed. But when the end comes we are left with a major cliffhanger; not knowing what happens to Rosalie and Jack. I really look forward to reading the next book and more of Ashley’s work. I love her writing style and think she is just an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So this should have been posted sooner but (1) I'm not a morning

    So this should have been posted sooner but (1) I'm not a morning person so I refused to wake myself up to post it and (2) RL called me into work.
    So what did I think about Dust? FANTASTIC! I felt Rosalie's pain everytime they broke her wings. Felt her longing to go home. Felt her love for Jack. I'm a sap for romance, I really am, and Devon sure knows how to write it well. Dust was absolutely amazing that I seriously read it in about 24 hours. I couldn't even put it down. It was so very descriptive I could picture Rosalie's world and let me tell you, I want to live there in the Hollow. Rosalie is an amazingly badass character and extremely determined to get back home she doesn't let her cockiness shy away from her captors. I loved watching Jack and Rosalie's relationship grow each day she was imprisoned. I won't give away the ending but just know I smiled sooo big but still got heartbroken. I can't wait for the sequel to come out! I want to give Dust like a twenty star rating but since that's not a valid rating, it gets five stars from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic read about faeries and what it means to survive. A

    A fantastic read about faeries and what it means to survive.

    A good blurb is captivating but sometimes can give a wrong impression. The blurb of Dust pulls the reader in two different directions. The escalating numbers make it seem like the book is ready for a dark showdown of revenge. It makes the book seem dark and gritty and I was sort of expecting the book to maintain that dark tone…but it doesn’t. It doesn’t because the second half of the book is a love story just like the blurb mentions. The blurb is very true to the book. It’s dark and a love story.

    Character-wise, Rosalie was a fantastic main character. She is independent, a nature-loving girl, strong-willed and defiant. She doesn’t accept the circumstance of her kidnapping and attempts to be brave in the face of that. Rosalie does have moments of weakness but that just make her character more realistic and stronger because she is dealing with harsh situations. Juniper, the eldest of the slaves, roots Rosalie in maintaining her strength and her desire to live. Jack, her captive guardian, is a strong male lead. He comes off a bit snobbish but he has a decent heart and no stomach for torture. The relationship that builds between them builds over time and seems genuine. He treats her with respect after witnessing the breaking wings incident and shows he is a decent guy. Not just by taking care of her but looking for a legal way out for her. None of the villains are complex but the reason why could be that all the bad guys appear to be henchmen. No one has really claimed responsibility for the slave camp. Looking forward to seeing who is the antagonist of the series.

    Overall, it was a pretty mellow read. It reads like a diary because of the how the chapters are labeled. There is an emphasis on character development instead of world-building but it is a trilogy. There can’t be much world-building when the main character is stuck in prison though. ( I received a copy of this book free of charge from the author in exchange for an honest review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you Devon for giving me the opportunity to read and review

    Thank you Devon for giving me the opportunity to read and review Dust! It was an awesome book. Hearing that this book was about pixies I didnt know what to expect, wondering if it was going to be more like the pixie's in the need series or the fae in one of the many fae books out there. I was pleasantly surprised that it was kind of dark to be a pixie story. It starts off with Rosalie in her homemade tree house in the Hollow. I love the way Devon was with her imagery throughout the book. When Rosalie gets taken and stuck in the hole its awful, Just the way Devon paints the picture for our imagination makes me cringe and feel sorry for poor Rosalie. I am happy to see that the pixies atleast in some aspects still try to stick it to the man(well faeries in this case) by not caring how pure the mushroom particles are to make the pixie dust. Rosalie was a great MC, She had spunk even though she was being abused and starved she still tried to keep faith with the other pixies to escape. When she gets caught and stuck back in the hole I didnt know what to expect to happen. I am glad Jack came along even though he was kind of immature in the beginning he kind of grew on me towards the end. I cannot wait for the second book to be released so I can devour it just like I did with Dust. Readers who enjoy stories with strong willed MC's will enjoy Dust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis as part of the Dust blog tour. Thanks to Devon Ashley.)
    Rosalie is a pixie who likes nothing more than sleeping in a bed of leaves in her old tree-house (much to her housemate’s disgust). She likes to be left alone, and is a bit of a free spirit. Nothing can prepare her for what she is about to face though.
    Drugged, kidnapped, and nearly killed, Rosalie finds herself imprisoned by fairies, branded with a number, and forced into a fairy dust production line. Rosalie isn’t going to go down without a fight though, and is determined to escape.
    A failed attempt leaves her imprisoned in a pit with a fairy guard (Jack), who seem to care about her more than he should, and even though relationships between pixies and fairies is against the rules, Rosalie finds herself falling for Jack.
    Can Rosalie ever hope to escape the fairy dust factory though? Can she rescue all the other kidnapped pixies? And can a relationship between a pixie and a fairy ever be allowed?

    This was a sweet fairy tale, with a bit of a bite! Poor Rosalie is wrongfully imprisoned and used as a slave, and she’s the only one with the spunk to try and escape. She’s a strong character, and doesn’t just want to save herself, but to save all the other pixies too, even the ones she doesn’t really like.
    Jack is such a sweet character also, and shows such caring and consideration for Rosalie even when she is imprisoned and not looking her best. I also liked some of the other pixies that Rosalie meets in the prison and the relationships she forms with them.
    The story had a lot of different elements to it, and flowed nicely, and I liked the descriptions of the pixies village and communities and stuff, as well as the way that Rosalie felt about them.
    Overall; this was an interesting and different fairy tale, and I’m interested to see what happens in the next instalment!
    7.5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Dust - What can I say?

    "My name is Rosalie. I may be smaller, I may be weaker, but I was born free, I should die free. You will not take this away from me." - Rosalie - Dust

    From the beginning of this story to the last punctuation this is an awesome start to a mind gripping series. Rosalie is fierce, strong, and nurturing. Her strong will to survive and return home is inspiring. Jack compliments her character at a pivital moment. When you start this book you are surprised at the twists - I DID NOT WANT TO PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. I am excited to read what's in store for Rosalie in the future. Wonderfully done Devon Ashley!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully Descriptive & Intense Storytelling!

    DUST by Devon Ashley was a fresh surprise! I thought going in that the story being about pixies and faeries and such that it would be a light, fun, bubbly sort of read. Boy was I wrong! DUST is a beautifully descriptive, dangerous and intense story about a pixie named Rosalie who finds herself in a traumatic situation where she can, and almost does, die at any moment. DUST is filled with beautiful imagery, unforgettable characters and a vivid look into the darker side of human (or fae!) nature. The main character, Rosalie, is a feisty, not-to-be-F'd-with fighter that you can't help but love and root for from beginning to end. And then there's Jack... Oh Jack, oh Jack, how I love you so! Let's just say that Devon Ashley did everything right with DUST. I honestly can't find a single thing wrong with this book and I think anyone interested in strong heroines, expertly crafted villains, hot `unlikely' love interests and a perfectly paced love story to go with them, then DUST is definitely a book you'll want to pick up. I'll definitely be reading the other two books in this trilogy!

    J.A. Redmerski (B&N won't let me change my pen name!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1