Customer Reviews for

Dust (Richard Jury Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

strong police procedural

In Clerkenwell, England though he is only thirteen years old, Benny Keegan looks much older so is able obtain work as a helper in the kitchen of Zetter¿s restaurant, a place with rooms. Waiter Gilbert Snow asks Benny to deliver a meal to the room of Billy Maples, but t...
In Clerkenwell, England though he is only thirteen years old, Benny Keegan looks much older so is able obtain work as a helper in the kitchen of Zetter¿s restaurant, a place with rooms. Waiter Gilbert Snow asks Benny to deliver a meal to the room of Billy Maples, but the young teen finds a corpse in the room. Benny immediately calls his friend Scotland Yard Superintendent Richard Jury. --- Islington Inspector Lu Aguilar leads the investigation into the room service homicide, but Richard forces his way on the case especially since he plans to sleep with her. Both have no problem in bed, but struggle to find a motive for murder because Billy seemed to have no enemies and though wealthy the inheritance went to his even more affluent father. With the assistance of his pal Melrose Plant, Richard tries to figure out who killed the lover of William James¿ novels only to find ties between friends and family to a WWI atrocity that still fails to explain why Billy was killed. --- In his twentieth plus appearance, Jury is at his best as he investigates the homicide in which leads prove false and he slowly peels away the mendicant masks of those close to the victim even more interesting is his attraction to Lu. Readers will appreciate his inquiries as he digs deeper into what the family and friends try to conceal from him. The whodunit leaves the romance in the DUST as this is a strong police procedural. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Jury/Plant outing

Martha Grimes comes up with some interesting plot twists, but overall the book is a disappointment. As with prior outings, the characters are not well-rounded and the affect is somehow flat. The dog, as usual, is the most interesting character. Better to read Agatha Chr...
Martha Grimes comes up with some interesting plot twists, but overall the book is a disappointment. As with prior outings, the characters are not well-rounded and the affect is somehow flat. The dog, as usual, is the most interesting character. Better to read Agatha Christie, Margery Allingham, Dorothy Sayers, Ngaio Marsh, Alexander McCall Smith, or Lindsey Davis, for believable plots, engrossing characters, and settings that appear to actually be lived-in. For those wanting lush romance with their mystery, try J.D. Robb.

posted by robroy on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Jury/Plant outing

    Martha Grimes comes up with some interesting plot twists, but overall the book is a disappointment. As with prior outings, the characters are not well-rounded and the affect is somehow flat. The dog, as usual, is the most interesting character. Better to read Agatha Christie, Margery Allingham, Dorothy Sayers, Ngaio Marsh, Alexander McCall Smith, or Lindsey Davis, for believable plots, engrossing characters, and settings that appear to actually be lived-in. For those wanting lush romance with their mystery, try J.D. Robb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am left totaly bewildered as to why and who.To read an entire book and be left with only questions at the end is frustrating to say the least.I am saddened that this book seems more of a trash novel with it's hero losing his moral standing than anything else.Why bother to read any more of Grimes series if the endings will be so confusing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Left in the dark

    Contains all of the elements that have made this series fun to read. However, at the end, I was completely left in the dark as to the motivations and even some of the details of how it all fit together. The book feels about one chapter short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Huge disappointment for Jury fans.

    I am a huge fan of Grimes, and her Richard Jury series, but this seemed rushed and lacking in the depth and richness of her earlier books. The many wonderful characters that embellish her other Jury novels were briefly glossed over. Several major flaws, including the fact that the contents of the stomach of the victim would have been discovered during the autopsy. The person responsible for the crime, and the reason for it, were both farfetched ... Grimes is either losing her touch, had to rush to meet a deadline, or, heaven forbid, turned it over to a ghostwriter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    A Disappointment for this Jury Fan

    While Marsha Grimes and the Jury series have always been favorites of mine, Dust is not up to her usual standard. There were many mistakes, such as a major piece of evidence discussed by characters at the end, yet never revealed in the plot! The ending itself is extremely confusing and vague. As someone who reads about two mystery novels a week, I was surprised to finish the book and not really know who committed the initial act that lead to the murder. I don't know if this book was written in a hurry, or just poorly done, but I regret that I spent $25. Thank goodness for Melrose and the other characters or I would have been even more disappointed! If you want to begin reading the Jury series, start further back...they've gone downhill with the last two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    What happened

    Convoluted ending leaving it very unclear what happened. Gratuitious sex, described like pornography. Very disapointing. Does not seem as if it is written by same author as previous novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong police procedural

    In Clerkenwell, England though he is only thirteen years old, Benny Keegan looks much older so is able obtain work as a helper in the kitchen of Zetter¿s restaurant, a place with rooms. Waiter Gilbert Snow asks Benny to deliver a meal to the room of Billy Maples, but the young teen finds a corpse in the room. Benny immediately calls his friend Scotland Yard Superintendent Richard Jury. --- Islington Inspector Lu Aguilar leads the investigation into the room service homicide, but Richard forces his way on the case especially since he plans to sleep with her. Both have no problem in bed, but struggle to find a motive for murder because Billy seemed to have no enemies and though wealthy the inheritance went to his even more affluent father. With the assistance of his pal Melrose Plant, Richard tries to figure out who killed the lover of William James¿ novels only to find ties between friends and family to a WWI atrocity that still fails to explain why Billy was killed. --- In his twentieth plus appearance, Jury is at his best as he investigates the homicide in which leads prove false and he slowly peels away the mendicant masks of those close to the victim even more interesting is his attraction to Lu. Readers will appreciate his inquiries as he digs deeper into what the family and friends try to conceal from him. The whodunit leaves the romance in the DUST as this is a strong police procedural. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Read to see if Jury can solve a simple murder

    Story from England that involves all the friends of Jury. The murder seems a simple, but jury and friends find that the crime is more difficult and the plot thickens as they find a track to World War II. The plot leads too a cafe called "dust". See if you can solve the murder before they do. A nice weekend reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    WARRIORS DEN

    WARRIORS DEN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Dull

    I love 90% of her books and Richard Jury series but this one dragged and gave too much unwanted info . Not up to standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Melodysong

    Melodysong: *noded* Mousekits gonna be ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Excellent Read.

    I've read just about all of Grimes novels and I was real happy with "Dust". It is an easy read and made an excellent companion for our trip to the beach. I would recommend this book if you enjoy a mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Dust

    Am a great fan of Martha Grimes and her Richard Jury series. I have them on my shelf for re-reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    No Dust Settles on Ms. Grimes

    Continued great characters and stories. I have always looked forward to the inclusion of 'Lord' Ardry and his pals as part of the story, so I am glad to have them continue to be included, as with Jury's fellow officers of the law. Covers the breadth of British society (as far as what is pertinent to a detective novel anyhow). Keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I am a long time fan of both Martha Grimes and Richard Jury. However, I was deeply disappointed in this book (and the previous one, actually). The Lou character is ridiculous and Richard Jury is imbecilic. The lovely language, masterful plotting, and charming characters are completely missing. I have grave doubts about the authorship of this novel. Did she even write it, or does she have a ghost writer? (Horrors!!!!) I will give her one more chance. I hope the next book is better. If not, I plan to burn all of her books after #19 and pretend the series stopped there. (I will probably discard 20 and 21 as it is.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    STILL CONFUSED

    DUST is the second Martha Grimes novel I've read. The first was The Man With A Load of Mischief which I thought was great. I couldn't wait to read another. I found Dust on the sale rack which is where it belongs!!! If you must turn to the internet to find out "who dunnit" and "why" something is missing!! Not giving up...going to try another of Grimes' earlier works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Disappointed

    Found this book so unlike previous Richard Jury novels that if I had read this first I would never had read any of the others. The gratuitous sex makes no sense at all. The Melrose Plant crowd is almost non-existent, and the ending is the biggest disappointment of all. When I finished the book, I was so upset I actually threw it against the wall. We can only hope that Martha Grimes gets back her old style and her excitement for these characters. Otherwise I'm afraid this should be the last of the Richard Jury novels, and that would be a shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Off the track

    I have read nearly all the Richard Jury titles. The early titles were entertaining reads. Something happened along the way... some of the characters have become unbelievable, the interaction ludicrous. In Dust ,the main plot has some interest but the graphic sexual scenes between Jury and Lu are bizarre and gratuitous. Some of the quirky actions,characters, and comments that were once amusing are now just boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a "normal guy"

    My first Jury mystery not my last

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful book

    This is a very unusual book! I happen to like all of her Richard Jury novels. Her caracters are very vivid and always interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2