Customer Reviews for

Dust (Richard Jury Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

strong police procedural

In Clerkenwell, England though he is only thirteen years old, Benny Keegan looks much older so is able obtain work as a helper in the kitchen of Zetter¿s restaurant, a place with rooms. Waiter Gilbert Snow asks Benny to deliver a meal to the room of Billy Maples, but t...
In Clerkenwell, England though he is only thirteen years old, Benny Keegan looks much older so is able obtain work as a helper in the kitchen of Zetter¿s restaurant, a place with rooms. Waiter Gilbert Snow asks Benny to deliver a meal to the room of Billy Maples, but the young teen finds a corpse in the room. Benny immediately calls his friend Scotland Yard Superintendent Richard Jury. --- Islington Inspector Lu Aguilar leads the investigation into the room service homicide, but Richard forces his way on the case especially since he plans to sleep with her. Both have no problem in bed, but struggle to find a motive for murder because Billy seemed to have no enemies and though wealthy the inheritance went to his even more affluent father. With the assistance of his pal Melrose Plant, Richard tries to figure out who killed the lover of William James¿ novels only to find ties between friends and family to a WWI atrocity that still fails to explain why Billy was killed. --- In his twentieth plus appearance, Jury is at his best as he investigates the homicide in which leads prove false and he slowly peels away the mendicant masks of those close to the victim even more interesting is his attraction to Lu. Readers will appreciate his inquiries as he digs deeper into what the family and friends try to conceal from him. The whodunit leaves the romance in the DUST as this is a strong police procedural. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I am left totaly bewildered as to why and who.To read an entire book and be left with only questions at the end is frustrating to say the least.I am saddened that this book seems more of a trash novel with it's hero losing his moral standing than anything else.Why bothe...
I am left totaly bewildered as to why and who.To read an entire book and be left with only questions at the end is frustrating to say the least.I am saddened that this book seems more of a trash novel with it's hero losing his moral standing than anything else.Why bother to read any more of Grimes series if the endings will be so confusing.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am left totaly bewildered as to why and who.To read an entire book and be left with only questions at the end is frustrating to say the least.I am saddened that this book seems more of a trash novel with it's hero losing his moral standing than anything else.Why bother to read any more of Grimes series if the endings will be so confusing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Huge disappointment for Jury fans.

    I am a huge fan of Grimes, and her Richard Jury series, but this seemed rushed and lacking in the depth and richness of her earlier books. The many wonderful characters that embellish her other Jury novels were briefly glossed over. Several major flaws, including the fact that the contents of the stomach of the victim would have been discovered during the autopsy. The person responsible for the crime, and the reason for it, were both farfetched ... Grimes is either losing her touch, had to rush to meet a deadline, or, heaven forbid, turned it over to a ghostwriter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    A Disappointment for this Jury Fan

    While Marsha Grimes and the Jury series have always been favorites of mine, Dust is not up to her usual standard. There were many mistakes, such as a major piece of evidence discussed by characters at the end, yet never revealed in the plot! The ending itself is extremely confusing and vague. As someone who reads about two mystery novels a week, I was surprised to finish the book and not really know who committed the initial act that lead to the murder. I don't know if this book was written in a hurry, or just poorly done, but I regret that I spent $25. Thank goodness for Melrose and the other characters or I would have been even more disappointed! If you want to begin reading the Jury series, start further back...they've gone downhill with the last two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Dull

    I love 90% of her books and Richard Jury series but this one dragged and gave too much unwanted info . Not up to standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I am a long time fan of both Martha Grimes and Richard Jury. However, I was deeply disappointed in this book (and the previous one, actually). The Lou character is ridiculous and Richard Jury is imbecilic. The lovely language, masterful plotting, and charming characters are completely missing. I have grave doubts about the authorship of this novel. Did she even write it, or does she have a ghost writer? (Horrors!!!!) I will give her one more chance. I hope the next book is better. If not, I plan to burn all of her books after #19 and pretend the series stopped there. (I will probably discard 20 and 21 as it is.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    STILL CONFUSED

    DUST is the second Martha Grimes novel I've read. The first was The Man With A Load of Mischief which I thought was great. I couldn't wait to read another. I found Dust on the sale rack which is where it belongs!!! If you must turn to the internet to find out "who dunnit" and "why" something is missing!! Not giving up...going to try another of Grimes' earlier works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Disappointed

    Found this book so unlike previous Richard Jury novels that if I had read this first I would never had read any of the others. The gratuitous sex makes no sense at all. The Melrose Plant crowd is almost non-existent, and the ending is the biggest disappointment of all. When I finished the book, I was so upset I actually threw it against the wall. We can only hope that Martha Grimes gets back her old style and her excitement for these characters. Otherwise I'm afraid this should be the last of the Richard Jury novels, and that would be a shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    First-Time Reader

    This book was recommended and indeed lent to me by a friend. I must start by saying that I am glad I did not have to pay for it, because as a first-time reader I was left rather disappointed. All the casual sex without any actual character- or relationship-development left me unimpressed by both Jury and Aguilar. I find it hard to believe that a pathologist would perform an autopsy and not analyze the stomach contents of the victim, or that the detectives heading up the investigation wouldn't bother to ask about those results. The revelation of why the murder was committed in the first place seemed a bit too far-fetched compared with the more solidly founded red-herring. And, frankly, revealing important details without ever having hinted at them so that the reader could guess and try to solve the mystery along with the detectives is just cheap. It's like going through four hundred pages only to have the murderer be a character who was never even mentioned in the book. Despite all this, there were elements of the book that I enjoyed, namely Melrose Plant, Malcolm Mott and his dog, Waldo, and Henry James. I haven't given up on Richard Jury yet I think I'll try one of his earlier escapades, and hope that it leaves a better impression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    What happened to Jury???

    I absolutely adore all of the Richard Jury novels with the exception of Dust. I had raced to the store to buy it but was so disappointed, I almost didn't want to finish the book. Who came up with the idea that Jury needs not one but two 'girlfriends' (its really all just sex)? I was heartbroken that this book was so terrible. I am really hoping that the next book will be better, I liked Jury much better when he was alone and actually intelligent instead of just sleeping with a woman he just met.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1