Customer Reviews for

Dust (Kay Scarpetta Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her r

This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her readers attention.  

From the beginning when Scarpetta has just returned from a horrific shooting in Connecticut, which continues to haunt her, to a phone call from Marino concerning a shooting and the myst...
This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her readers attention.  

From the beginning when Scarpetta has just returned from a horrific shooting in Connecticut, which continues to haunt her, to a phone call from Marino concerning a shooting and the mysterious person in her back yard.  Who is he and what does he want?
All of the main characters are in this book: from Benton with his extraordinary profiling skill at getting in touch with the minds of a murderer to Marino who has returned back to his usual gruff talking machismo strutting cop ways then on to Lucy with her defiant attitude towards authority and rules to Scarpetta with her unquestionable ability to help solve murders through forensics and add in Bryce, Scarpetta's admin, who provides just the right touch of humor and you have the makings for a powerful must read book. 

I could not put this book down until I finished it.  Now, I will reread it for some of the finer points that I may have missed the first time.

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Scarpetta at her worst!

Waited a year for her next book after 20 very good books. I'm not sure what happened in Dust but she got so wrapped up in details and flaunting her knowledge of medical science she forgot about the story. We bounced across many years, many crimes, many rights and wrongs...
Waited a year for her next book after 20 very good books. I'm not sure what happened in Dust but she got so wrapped up in details and flaunting her knowledge of medical science she forgot about the story. We bounced across many years, many crimes, many rights and wrongs, and somewhere we lost the story. Finally in the last 60 pages she decides it's time to close the case....bang, we're done. Horrible read. Very difficult to stay tuned in.

posted by Rketter on November 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Scarpetta at her worst!

    Waited a year for her next book after 20 very good books. I'm not sure what happened in Dust but she got so wrapped up in details and flaunting her knowledge of medical science she forgot about the story. We bounced across many years, many crimes, many rights and wrongs, and somewhere we lost the story. Finally in the last 60 pages she decides it's time to close the case....bang, we're done. Horrible read. Very difficult to stay tuned in.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her r

    This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her readers attention.  

    From the beginning when Scarpetta has just returned from a horrific shooting in Connecticut, which continues to haunt her, to a phone call from Marino concerning a shooting and the mysterious person in her back yard.  Who is he and what does he want?
    All of the main characters are in this book: from Benton with his extraordinary profiling skill at getting in touch with the minds of a murderer to Marino who has returned back to his usual gruff talking machismo strutting cop ways then on to Lucy with her defiant attitude towards authority and rules to Scarpetta with her unquestionable ability to help solve murders through forensics and add in Bryce, Scarpetta's admin, who provides just the right touch of humor and you have the makings for a powerful must read book. 

    I could not put this book down until I finished it.  Now, I will reread it for some of the finer points that I may have missed the first time.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    I stopped reading Patricia Cornwell after Blowfly. I don't know

    I stopped reading Patricia Cornwell after Blowfly. I don't know what happened to her but her books and writing style are just horrible now.  I am surprised she is selling any books at all anymore.  Such a huge and disappointing difference from early scarpetta (before last precinct) to now. 

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    I am having trouble getting into the last few books of Kate Scar

    I am having trouble getting into the last few books of Kate Scarpetta. Her character defends those who hurt her the most. This cannot be realistic. The relationships Scarpetta has with all the other characters is tedious. I may not finish this one, and probably won't bother with any more. Pete Morino needs to go away.


    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm only 50 pages in and I am most disappointed. The mass murder

    I'm only 50 pages in and I am most disappointed. The mass murders at Sandy Hook should not be used as a part of any novel. Shame on you Cornwell.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Wonderful read, Cornwell continues to dazzle us with her detaile

    Wonderful read, Cornwell continues to dazzle us with her detailed crime scenes and vivid descriptions of places in, and around Cambridge MA. The first person point of view puts us in the mind of our heroine, Kay Scarpetta, as she takes us through the scene of several gruesome murders. Dust keeps you guessing right up until the end, wondering who you can trust, from the jogger in the park to the FBI. Scarpetta, along with her usual gang, let the dead do the talking in order to solve the crime. Another hit for Patricia Cornwell

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    This book is a return to the strong writing and characters of Co

    This book is a return to the strong writing and characters of Cornwell's work, and we'll worth reading.  I so much wish, however, that she had resisted using the Sandy Hook shootings for a commercial purpose.  This aspect of the book is in poor taste.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I look forward to reading Patricia Cornwell's books, but was dis

    I look forward to reading Patricia Cornwell's books, but was disappointed in this one. I finished it quickly, but that was because I didn't want to drag on reading it like the book was dragging on. There is way too much time spent on descriptions of things that really have no relevance to the story. The story itself was very short and with a quick conclusion like her books have had as of late. I found the use of the Sandy Hook trauma to be in poor taste and reprehensible.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    HORRIBLE, DREADFUL, A TOTAL WASTE

    This is the worse book I have ever tried to read. Too many words, uninteresting storyline. If I could give NO stars I would, but gave 1 because the author took the time to write it. I'm sooooo disappointed. A total waste of money. I usually read a book of this size in 1 day. It took me almost 2 weeks, and I still could not finish it. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! I want a refund!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    I really enjoyed Dust. It's the 21st book in the Scarpetta serie

    I really enjoyed Dust. It's the 21st book in the Scarpetta series. Ms. Cornwell has a way of transporting her readers into her stories, and her characters are like visiting with old friends. Her attention to forensic details and her character driven story lines keep Ms. Cornwell on my must read list.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Patricia Cornwell's 21st novel Dust is a return to all the thing

    Patricia Cornwell's 21st novel Dust is a return to all the things that made the Scarpetta series great.

    As with past books Cornwell subtly and smoothly incorporates current technology into the storyline. The reader is given a taste of this in Dust when a droid cell phone mixes into the crime scene and when Scarpetta uses cutting edge technology to autopsy the victim - technologies that may seem far-fetched to readers but that are actually currently being used in real life.

    The plot is an intricate web of Scarpetta, Benton, Lucy and Marino working to solve the crime as FBI hands of corruption reach out and try to stop the wheels of justice. This brings Benton into the foreground and we get a glimpse into his world as he struggles to work against the FBI and solve the case at hand.

    Nothing is left out in Dust and character relationships are again at the forefront of this book. Marino's new position has shifted the dynamics between him and other characters making everyone cautious around him. Lucy is her usual strong-willed self and this time becomes embroiled in the case at hand. And Cornwell finally reveals more information about Scarpetta's husband Benton Wesley. The reader now sees a new depth to Benton, has a better understanding of how he works and ultimately gains insight about his important role in Scarpetta's life. (I thoroughly enjoyed this aspect of Dust.) Scarpetta is more like she was in the earlier books of the series and drives the story forward. Strong-willed, independent minded and protective of her family and friends, she carefully yet deliberately works the crime scene, slowly sorting through all the clues which ultimately leads to the case being solved.

    As I like to give a balanced review I will mention that in a couple of spots I felt the story slowed down a little bit - but all in all I thoroughly enjoyed Dust. It even had the added surprises of Scarpetta revealing secrets from her past and of meeting her mother. If you are a fan of the Scarpetta series this one will hit the spot!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I can't believe anyone actually read this to the end. It was so

    I can't believe anyone actually read this to the end. It was so bogged down with details I doubt were necessary, that I quit half way thru.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    So so

    I am usually a big big fan. I ve read every.book of hers. But the last few are just not very good. They seem to heavy on prose and character development is non existent. Lucy seems like a stereotype. No substance. Benton has no real interactions with his wife to feel their relatonship. Just disappointed. I wanted to.love it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Repetitive

    Stopped reading and skipped to end. Boring and repeats of prior books. Will finally have to stop buying her books, sadly.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    This is my least favorite book in the Kay Scarpetta series.  It

    This is my least favorite book in the Kay Scarpetta series.  It dragged on and didn't hold my interest at all.  I was disappointed but love Patricia Cornwell's books overall.  This one was just a snore.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    *disapoinr Dispointed Dji Disapointed

    Was disapointed not up to ptevious boooks

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Bad Scarpetta

    I agree with anonymous' remarks written on Nov 17, 2013. This was one of the slowest, boring reads of the past decade. Save your money!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Terrible, Not Worth the Time

    A terrible Scarpetta, Cornwell has continued her downward spirall. Don't waste your time a lot better books out there!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Worst Scarpetta novel yet ! To much extra detail , that has noth

    Worst Scarpetta novel yet ! To much extra detail , that has nothing to do with anything. read the last 50 pages to read the book and skip the extra BS. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    I found this book to be boring and tedious.  I am a huge PC fan

    I found this book to be boring and tedious.  I am a huge PC fan but this book went into too many details and had very little plot.  If someone were a new reader of PC, they would hve no idea abouth the personalities of the main characters who are usual outstanding .  I had a hard time finishing this book.  Usually I read hers non-stop.  What a disappointment

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12