BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dust (Kay Scarpetta Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her r

This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her readers attention.  

From the beginning when Scarpetta has just returned from a horrific shooting in Connecticut, which continues to haunt her, to a phone call from Marino concerning a shooting and the myst...
This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her readers attention.  

From the beginning when Scarpetta has just returned from a horrific shooting in Connecticut, which continues to haunt her, to a phone call from Marino concerning a shooting and the mysterious person in her back yard.  Who is he and what does he want?
All of the main characters are in this book: from Benton with his extraordinary profiling skill at getting in touch with the minds of a murderer to Marino who has returned back to his usual gruff talking machismo strutting cop ways then on to Lucy with her defiant attitude towards authority and rules to Scarpetta with her unquestionable ability to help solve murders through forensics and add in Bryce, Scarpetta's admin, who provides just the right touch of humor and you have the makings for a powerful must read book. 

I could not put this book down until I finished it.  Now, I will reread it for some of the finer points that I may have missed the first time.

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Scarpetta at her worst!

Waited a year for her next book after 20 very good books. I'm not sure what happened in Dust but she got so wrapped up in details and flaunting her knowledge of medical science she forgot about the story. We bounced across many years, many crimes, many rights and wrongs...
Waited a year for her next book after 20 very good books. I'm not sure what happened in Dust but she got so wrapped up in details and flaunting her knowledge of medical science she forgot about the story. We bounced across many years, many crimes, many rights and wrongs, and somewhere we lost the story. Finally in the last 60 pages she decides it's time to close the case....bang, we're done. Horrible read. Very difficult to stay tuned in.

posted by Rketter on November 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Kids using nook

    Bn please put a stop to these kids using the book review site as a chat room. Cant they be banned? Please stop them.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2014

    Dust is not Patricia's best, but still entertaining

    Dust is not Patricia's best, but still entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Tigerleaf

    Its...different when you rp a comp.etwly different cat in an rp you want to rp this clan in. And they were apprentices when we got lost and they had their training finished in Blazeclan and had started lives when we found you again. But i understand...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    TO-ALL

    A small tom looks around. His sister on his back. Can you help her as the small black tom with one ginger ear. I am Coalfire this is my sister Ripplepond. Can you help her?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Wavebreak

    'Ok!' She goes with theother cats. (Ik. But she should learn not to mess with a cat whose rper is really short tempered... lol;3 btw i do have a weakness in rl. If mistpaws rper has tat same weakness i can use it on her bahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Time r some fun ;3 signing out!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    What happened?

    What happened to Patricia Cornwell's writing? I am a faithful Kay Scarpetta reader but after this novel I think I will give this series up. No more for me in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    I thoroughly enjoy the Kay Scarpetta series, but the autopsy sec

    I thoroughly enjoy the Kay Scarpetta series, but the autopsy section seems a little too technical for the layperson. I also felt that Cornwell builds up a showdown between Kay Scarpetta and Pete Marino that never happens. Kay constantly mentions actions of Marino as if something will transpire. Lucy remains the same troubled person intend on having the biggest and best toys. This reader feels that Kay's husband, Benton Wesley, may be slipping into his own private dungeon. Benton seems to be thinking too much like the criminal and at times, the reader wonders if Benton is the serial killer. The ending is surprising since the killer is not mentioned until the story is almost finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Recommend

    I have liked Patricia Cornwell's books. For some reason this one did keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    A lot of uncomfortable character conflicts

    A loose, hard to follow plot, and too much excess verbiage. Readable, but not her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Sleeping now

    Not sure if I can take another romp through this writer's garden. Really bored with the unending details of blah blah and I'm wishing for more action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    While this is not her best book, it is more enjoyable than some

    While this is not her best book, it is more enjoyable than some have been in the past few years. I think the tagline into Sandy Hook was totally unnecessary. However, she at least stopped making Marino a sexual predator. I miss the joy of her characters in the beginning of this series. Still if you enjoy Kay Scarpetta (and I do) then you will enjoy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A tale without 'staying power'

    In general, I have been a fan of Patricia Cornwell's 'Kay Scarpetta' series......but I lost interest in this one long before I read the last page of the book. There seemed to be an over abundance of detailed descriptive passages to 'introduce' the characters that have been present in every book in this series. For me, the sometimes lengthy diversions from the plot and action involved in the plot were deadly. I really struggled to finish the book because I simply had no interest in the outcome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    A slow starter...

    This was a very slow starting book. They don't even leave the initial crime scene for the first half of the book and it seems to drag on & on. I almost quit reading it I was getting so frustrated with it. The second half started to roll along and it got my attention. It finished much better then it started, although I don't think this is one of Ms. Cornwell's better writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Good But -

    This book was way too long - about 250 pages too long. The story was good but it took to long to get to it.
    The personalities of the characters are starting to get bothersome. They seem to be competent, strong professionals. But in their home lives, they seem unsure, whiny, and not able to get past old history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    I love Cornwell's books with Kay Scarpetta and the crew. I found

    I love Cornwell's books with Kay Scarpetta and the crew. I found this one not to be as smooth and page turning as ones in the past. At times it was too full of details and at times it seemed to skip them. I am going to discuss it with friends who have read it, but I was disappointed. I would suggest if this is a first read of Cornwell that you go back and read some of the previous ones. This just wasn't as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Its ok

    Not the best Scarpetta but not the worst, was an ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Hmmmmmmm - so so

    I'm not quite finished yet, but there is far too much introspection and mental anguish. OK so Marino doesn't like Benton - let's get on with the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    recommended

    One of her better ones lately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    recommend for diehard Scarpetta fans

    Kay, Benton, Lucy and Marino continue to display their talents and dysfunctions in this latest Scarpetta novel. This time, though, Cornwell's writing seems self-conscious...almost like the author is being driven to produce a word count (perhaps in response to her real-world financial decline at the hands of unethical advisors?) But there is a Dickens-like paid-by-the-word quality to this storytelling and it is distracting, to say the least.
    Cornwell does, however, do a good job at weaving backstory into this new tale. There is a nostalgia-factor in listening to the latest goings-on of this group of uber-intense characters, and that helps to bridge the discomfort of the overly descriptive narrative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Recommended

    I don't know what's happening with Scarpetta but she seems to be losing it. This story was still pretty exciting but Scarpetta seems to be not on top of things any more. I hope she gets back her edge in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3