Customer Reviews for

Dust (Kay Scarpetta Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her r

This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her readers attention.  

From the beginning when Scarpetta has just returned from a horrific shooting in Connecticut, which continues to haunt her, to a phone call from Marino concerning a shooting and the myst...
This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her readers attention.  

From the beginning when Scarpetta has just returned from a horrific shooting in Connecticut, which continues to haunt her, to a phone call from Marino concerning a shooting and the mysterious person in her back yard.  Who is he and what does he want?
All of the main characters are in this book: from Benton with his extraordinary profiling skill at getting in touch with the minds of a murderer to Marino who has returned back to his usual gruff talking machismo strutting cop ways then on to Lucy with her defiant attitude towards authority and rules to Scarpetta with her unquestionable ability to help solve murders through forensics and add in Bryce, Scarpetta's admin, who provides just the right touch of humor and you have the makings for a powerful must read book. 

I could not put this book down until I finished it.  Now, I will reread it for some of the finer points that I may have missed the first time.

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Scarpetta at her worst!

Waited a year for her next book after 20 very good books. I'm not sure what happened in Dust but she got so wrapped up in details and flaunting her knowledge of medical science she forgot about the story. We bounced across many years, many crimes, many rights and wrongs...
Waited a year for her next book after 20 very good books. I'm not sure what happened in Dust but she got so wrapped up in details and flaunting her knowledge of medical science she forgot about the story. We bounced across many years, many crimes, many rights and wrongs, and somewhere we lost the story. Finally in the last 60 pages she decides it's time to close the case....bang, we're done. Horrible read. Very difficult to stay tuned in.

posted by Rketter on November 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her r

    This book is Patricia Cornwell at her finest in pulling in her readers attention.  

    From the beginning when Scarpetta has just returned from a horrific shooting in Connecticut, which continues to haunt her, to a phone call from Marino concerning a shooting and the mysterious person in her back yard.  Who is he and what does he want?
    All of the main characters are in this book: from Benton with his extraordinary profiling skill at getting in touch with the minds of a murderer to Marino who has returned back to his usual gruff talking machismo strutting cop ways then on to Lucy with her defiant attitude towards authority and rules to Scarpetta with her unquestionable ability to help solve murders through forensics and add in Bryce, Scarpetta's admin, who provides just the right touch of humor and you have the makings for a powerful must read book. 

    I could not put this book down until I finished it.  Now, I will reread it for some of the finer points that I may have missed the first time.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Wonderful read, Cornwell continues to dazzle us with her detaile

    Wonderful read, Cornwell continues to dazzle us with her detailed crime scenes and vivid descriptions of places in, and around Cambridge MA. The first person point of view puts us in the mind of our heroine, Kay Scarpetta, as she takes us through the scene of several gruesome murders. Dust keeps you guessing right up until the end, wondering who you can trust, from the jogger in the park to the FBI. Scarpetta, along with her usual gang, let the dead do the talking in order to solve the crime. Another hit for Patricia Cornwell

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Patricia Cornwell's 21st novel Dust is a return to all the thing

    Patricia Cornwell's 21st novel Dust is a return to all the things that made the Scarpetta series great.

    As with past books Cornwell subtly and smoothly incorporates current technology into the storyline. The reader is given a taste of this in Dust when a droid cell phone mixes into the crime scene and when Scarpetta uses cutting edge technology to autopsy the victim - technologies that may seem far-fetched to readers but that are actually currently being used in real life.

    The plot is an intricate web of Scarpetta, Benton, Lucy and Marino working to solve the crime as FBI hands of corruption reach out and try to stop the wheels of justice. This brings Benton into the foreground and we get a glimpse into his world as he struggles to work against the FBI and solve the case at hand.

    Nothing is left out in Dust and character relationships are again at the forefront of this book. Marino's new position has shifted the dynamics between him and other characters making everyone cautious around him. Lucy is her usual strong-willed self and this time becomes embroiled in the case at hand. And Cornwell finally reveals more information about Scarpetta's husband Benton Wesley. The reader now sees a new depth to Benton, has a better understanding of how he works and ultimately gains insight about his important role in Scarpetta's life. (I thoroughly enjoyed this aspect of Dust.) Scarpetta is more like she was in the earlier books of the series and drives the story forward. Strong-willed, independent minded and protective of her family and friends, she carefully yet deliberately works the crime scene, slowly sorting through all the clues which ultimately leads to the case being solved.

    As I like to give a balanced review I will mention that in a couple of spots I felt the story slowed down a little bit - but all in all I thoroughly enjoyed Dust. It even had the added surprises of Scarpetta revealing secrets from her past and of meeting her mother. If you are a fan of the Scarpetta series this one will hit the spot!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    I really enjoyed Dust. It's the 21st book in the Scarpetta serie

    I really enjoyed Dust. It's the 21st book in the Scarpetta series. Ms. Cornwell has a way of transporting her readers into her stories, and her characters are like visiting with old friends. Her attention to forensic details and her character driven story lines keep Ms. Cornwell on my must read list.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Good plot and characters more defined. Very enjoyable. Looking forward to the next scarpetta novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    To Lilywolf

    Rose said she responded! She also told me to tell ya that she's off to bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Lilywolf to Tigerleaf (On Computer)
    By the way Tigerleaf

    Lilywolf to Tigerleaf (On Computer) <br />

    By the way Tigerleaf, my speech is mostly for Alanna.  I know you understand the pact clans and you didn't rage about them like she did.  Please remember Tigerleaf did break the medicine cat code and also betray Horseclan by having a mate.  But Lilystar always knew that was tough for you and she tried to help in any way she could.  After all, she could have made you give up medicine cat duties but she never wanted that.  I understand you staying with Blazeclan and like I explained in the speech it just simply didn't work out for them to be a pact clan.  I am glad you realize that the pact clans are good.  I wish you had realized that before you caused Velvetstar and I of being terrible friends but I will put that down to the heat of the moment.  You can always make up a new character to rp and join a pact clan or rp a pact clan kit.  It's too bad the way things worked out but it happened and we can't really change it.  Blazeclan was a good ally though.  I hope you understand everything from my speech and that you will at least appreciate all the work I have put into making the pact clans.  It was not my choice to exclude Blazeclan and I'm glad you understand that now.  I still don't completely understand why Tigerleaf's kits didn't stay in Horseclan since they were apart of it for so long but if you say they had lives in Blazeclan then I believe you.  Just remember Blazeclan could always merge into a pact clan like Thunderclan or Pantherclan did.  Or you can always make new rps.  Either way there are many ways that you can be apart of Blazeclan and the pact clans.  That goes for Alanna too.  I hope now we can put this whole matter aside.  ~ Lilywolf ♥

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Emberleaf

    "I can help with something." She offers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Goldenstripe to Goldfoot

    Goldfoot that was completely rude and unnecessary. Some of us have really bad things going on in real life and the last thing we want is to have people show up and call us bad people. Do you even have any idea how much work Lilywolf goes through to keep the pact clans up? She never did anything rude or mean or inconsiderate to you. And do you know how much Velvetstar has done to be able to keep rping because a lot of times her friends in real life don't care about her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    "Alanna"

    My name is not Alanna, but that quote is from a very dear friend. If you had went on the erin hunter books, we wluld have dutifully answered. And, l didn't rp Whisperfeather. Now that you have explained, l understand more. But a cat can't just leave his/her family and forget all about them just to be mates with someone. This cat never had a father, and hopefully he will turn up soon. And no, l am not wasting characters. I have actually wasted characters before by creating a 67 page post.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Blsckclaw

    I'll brb' mouse sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Flightpath & co.

    He raced out, snarling at the blood dripping in his eye. "Great Starclan!" He padded back to the med den. <p> Morningdew nodded. <p> Rabbiywhisker jumped up and followed the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Gorsetail

    He trotted in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Deercloud

    Gtgtb bbt. Se is at the scemt trail of mistpaw. Stupud nook is beon mean to me.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Seafire ooc

    Um... problem

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Flowernose

    Raced back in from the medicine cat meeting, looking for Velvetstar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Spottedpine

    He nodded, and sat close to Blackclaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Comet

    Hm. I like it. XD why does horseclan get the villians dumped on it?(gtg ill respond in a little while)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    MOUSE TOEVERYONE! EMERGENCY!! THE APOCALYPSE IS COMING!!!!!!!!!! RUN FOR YOUR LIVES!!!!!!!!

    Teehee just kidding! If I gave you an aneurysm feel free to sue me. But Lilywolf got locked out and asked everyone to move to result three in this camp! ^Mouse^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Mouse

    Ok Blackclaw!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5