Customer Reviews for

Dust & Decay (Rot & Ruin Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just a snack before we get down to post-Zombocalyptic business

    After being so hyped up on ROT & RUIN, of course I rushed to devour DUST & DECAY like a good zombie who needed a fresh new brain. Was it as tasty as its predecessor? Let me tell you, dear Readers, this sequel was slicker and smarter, but it was simply an extra side of appetizer before the main course begins.

    Now that Tom and Benny have fully commited themselves to the "family business" and plan to set out into the Ruin in search of answers, the action packed into DUST & DECAY channels the same intensity as its predecessor. I already knew Tom Imura was cool, but holy smoky eyes, does he ever dish out the badass and demonstrate why he is a force to be reckoned with! Smart, strong, honorable, innovative - Tom embodies the ideal hero figure. Even better, Benny gets to prove his worth this time around. Much more mature, thoughtful, and less whiny - he follows in Tom's footsteps and shows promise into being just as strong and amazing as his older brother.

    I loved the diversity of the bounty hunters - good, bad, newbie, experienced, funny, wacky, solitary - they made an already spectacular zombie story into something even more memorable. From surfer dudes to roller derby queen to woodland hermit, they show that courage can be found from any background - and also that anyone can become a survivor.

    If you read the book jacket or any sort of summary, you know that our band of heroes do not make it very far into the Ruin - and ultimately land in Gameland. It sounds like a pretty straightforward plot, but Jonathan Maberry milked the journey for all its worth! Introducing new characters both good and bad, having old characters disappear or break away from each other, DUST & DECAY will be sure to make you wonder how everything fits together. It seems pretty strange to watch how quickly the world falls apart since ROT & RUIN, but given the zombocalypse, I suppose nothing is permanent - and everything is always mutating.

    Don't get me wrong, DUST & DECAY is an excellent stepping stone for the series. Yet, considering that we leave ROT & RUIN with the intent to find the mysterious jet, the characters did not make it too far in that direction. Gameland stood in their way. Leaving their hometown virtually defenseless and prey to other less honorable bounty hunters was not acceptable. Still. I wanted them to find more signs of an outside world in Book 2. This sense of not getting too far away from the beginning reminds me a little of LOST. I hope that Book 3 gets our characters to where they want to be - and that they all get to survive until then.

    The deaths in DUST & DECAY did not feel as powerful as those in ROT & RUIN - if that makes any sense. In ROT & RUIN, Jonathan Maberry drove home point that zombies are ex-humans who had loved ones, so the deaths played a part in delivering that message. DUST & DECAY did not have as clear a message, and the deaths seemed to prove that life was unfair and ugly sometimes. And there was ONE particular death that will totally change the whole scheme of things - and I hope that Book 3 will be strong enough to survive without this character!

    I think DUST & DECAY served as another "Book 1" to get to know the characters as they mature and prepare themselves to face the harsh world in order to find answers. Whereas ROT & RUIN focused on the Imura brothers' relationship, DUST & DECAY begins to set the stage up for the group dynamics. It will be exc

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED it

    Ok I am SO IN LOVE with this series.. The second book was just as great as the first one.. I must say though I did not see the end going the way that it did.. Kind of a disappointment but not the down fall to the liking of the book.. In this one you are so familiar with the characters that when something happens you feel like you know or feel a little loss at things.. Weird I know but that is how I felt I am so looking forward to another one.. I would recommend these books to everyone I know..

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    I definitely have to give kudos to Jonathan Maberry for once aga

    I definitely have to give kudos to Jonathan Maberry for once again writing a book I found almost impossible to put down. After reading Rot and Ruin last year I knew that Dust and Decay would be on the top of my list for must reads. And I was not disappointed. I look forward to finding out what happens to Benny and Nix. The ending was a heart breaker and written in such an unforgettable way. I would not recommend scrolling further down into the reviews if you havnt read it yet, as there are many spoilers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Page turner!

    Another fantastic read from Maberry. Its killing me I don't have the time to read it one sitting (which I have done with some of his past novels). Great story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Loved It!!

    Non stop action, couldn't put it down. Awesome addition to the story and I am hoping for a third book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. Just wow. The second book in the Benny Imura Series, Dust &

    Wow. Just wow. The second book in the Benny Imura Series, Dust & Decay is even more fantastic than Rot & Ruin!
    -----
    I read a lot of reviews criticizing this series because it is not just a slash 'em up, head chopping zombie story. In addition, some readers think Maberry is preaching with all his 'zombies are people too' speeches. I actually found that to be a nice change of pace. The Benny Imura series imagines a wide spectrum of issues that may result from this unfortunate situation, which are typically ignored by other books in this sub-genre. Remember, this series doesn't take place at the moment of the apocalypse; it takes place many years later as society is trying to find its way back. People are just trying to live their lives as normally as possible under extraordinary circumstances.
    -----
    Relationships continue. Benny and Nix' relationship progresses. Lilah tries to adjust to living with others again. And everyone has to find a way to live with the scars of past experiences.
    -----
    Tom continues his role as the conscience of the new world. He is without a doubt, the hero of Dust & Decay just as he was in Rot & Ruin. He performs his job out of necessity, with precision and respect.
    -----
    There are a lot of close calls. For example, somehow escaping when surrounded by hundreds of zombies. Killing off all the main characters would end the series pretty quickly. However, Maberry doesn't insult the reader by resorting to unbelievable circumstances. The zombies don't attack one at a time and the author doesn't make things convenient for the main characters. When they are out in the Ruin, they run into bad guys and zombies. They get cut. They get burned. They get the snot beat out of them. All this is not a matter of 'if,' it's a matter of 'when.'
    -----
    Although Dust & Decay takes place six months after the events in Rot & Ruin, Benny and his friends are not miraculously masters as is Tom. They still use the bokken. I would think the temptation to cheat and turn the characters into butt kicking samurais would be great, but the author refrains from such tactics.
    -----
    I am also impressed with how consistent the characters and storyline remain. Cadaverine is still commonly used to distract zombies. Lilah still booby traps her surroundings to announce any visitors. Nix still struggles with the loss of her mother. And Morgie still hurts from the fact that his feelings for Nix are not returned. Although the characters' personalities pretty much remain the same, they do mature. Maberry manages to keep this level of consistency without sacrificing character maturity.
    -----
    One of my favorite things about this series is the warped religious fanaticism to which some resort-
    -----
    "Only the Children of Lazarus are pure of heart and immaculate of soul... They are the meek raised up from death to inherit this new Garden of Eden." [Preacher Jack] opened his arms wide to include the green and overgrown expanse of the Rot and Ruin. "They have been reborn in the blood of the old world, washed clean of their sins, and they now walk in the light of redemption. It is only us, the dwindling few, who cling to old ways of sin and heresy and godlessness." I love creepy.
    -----

    I was skeptical that Dust & Decay could be as good as Rot & Ruin and it turned out to be better. I am afraid that after being blown away by Dust & Decay, I am doomed to disappointment. Here's to hoping I'm wrong...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Book

    I am a currently a young reader but have probably read more books then most people twice my age. This is one of my alltime best series i have ever read in my life! I cant wait for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Love it

    Hey so i think that mayberry should get a best author ever award. So here is what happend i have a librarian friend who gets me free books and one day i got rot and ruin from her. That one took me a month to read. But dust and decay ( in my opinion) was better. I tore through that book in a week and one day. :) I ABSOLUTLY LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!! Matti age 12

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Womderful

    Best zombie book i've ever reaf. Big praise for rot &ruin the first volume. Can't wait for the third book!!! Fff so ijtense couldn't put it down finished it in two day 384 pages. Great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    MAYBERRY DOES IT AGAIN

    I read and enjoyed the first installment of this series. The character development, especially between Benny and Tom Imura is fantastic. There's some new characters introduced, both good and bad guys. PHENOMENAL fight scenes, especially involving Samurai Tom Imura. I recommend this book and series. And PLEASE, PLEASE PEOPLE!! STOP ruining it for future readers by laying out so many details in your reviews! Even spoiling everything by telling who dies and who doesn't. Describe how you liked or disliked a book but don't give away lots of details. The story outline is already on the jacket or nook display. Thank you. HAPPY READER

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    4.5 Stars! Oh look after a whole month of absence here I am aga

    4.5 Stars!

    Oh look after a whole month of absence here I am again making a review. Lets start this comeback with the review of the second installment of Benny Imura Series.
    In this book Legends are made. Just like in my other reviews, I will give my honest review without giving out details and spoilers.

    So to start of the story, it was several months after the events of the first book. So now we have a fair grasp of the characters and the overall atmosphere the world they are living in. They are stil in the post apocalyptic world of zombies and now their goal is to explore the world out there and find the plane they found on the first book. I think the start of book is good. A little bit slow but definitely worth the pages. The author tries to explore the feelings of the character and their thoughts about living the place they grew up on. We all know it is not easy to just leave everything and it was clever to include this part in the story.

    Onward to the middle of the book wherein it becomes a lot more action filled and also fast paced. There comes a point in the story wherein suddenly a lot of things are happening and everything and everyone is on the edge. The minute you think "oh finally they can relax" another thing shows up and it continues up to the end of the story. It was written good and makes you excited to turn the pages.

    By the way I forgot. At certain intervals you can read Nix's journal in between the chapters and its really entertaining to read them.

    Lots of characters are introduced specially the Bounty Hunters and some villain and it made the story more rich and diverse. New characters are always good since the story does not become stagnant.

    Towards the end of the story it became more battle-like survival-mode just like at the end of Book 1. Battles are on the large scale which makes it better. With surprises here and there (specially at the end) you will surely enjoy this second part and you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Dusr and Decay maybe the book of the year

    Ir is absolutley amazing and it always takes me at least ten minutes to put it down. Anyone with any sort of interest in zombies and post apocolyptic things will die for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Best zombie book ever

    Best zombie book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Dust and Decay

    Its a great book and its really devistating cant wait for flesh and bone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Nice work

    I wanted to buy the paper version of this book, but the bookstore never had it. I gave up and bought it for the nook. Best purchase in a long time. You don't have to read this as part of the series, but it's a good idea. This book is an amazing adventure and I can't wait for Flesh and Bone. Be warned if you are an empathetic reader, nook and wet fingers aren't compatible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    I liked 'Rot and Ruin', but 'Dust and Decay' is better, more intensive and the twist heart wrenching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    People who hare spoilers read here

    Those of you being haters shut UP people are trying to be nice so dont hate i love this book and people like you take the fun out of reading comments if spoilers make you mad then just by the book insted of reading comments duh people who like this book carry on cool cats dont let haters bring you and your awesomeness down as taylor says haters gonna be jerks and hate to reply title it as omg hater thank you BENNY AND ZOMBIE LOVERS EVERYWHERE (you to tom) ; )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2014

    I enjoyed this book much more than the first, primarily because

    I enjoyed this book much more than the first, primarily because Benny and his crew are a little more mature and not nearly as whiny as before as he’s been strengthened by what he’s gone through before.  Well written with a great amount of action with a few twists and turns mixed in.  “Dust and Decay” does a great job of immersing you in this world while bringing the characters to life so that you feel a real connection. A must read for any zombie lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Highly Reccommend.......

    Such an exciting book with a great storyline........ Love the characters...... Awesome series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put it down

    **Caution: Spoilers! Read at your risk!**

    Loved Rot and Ruin. This book was also ten times better than Rot and Ruin. Everything just got better when I read this book.

    The characters got better (except Nix, for some reason I just can’t get myself to like her). There were moments of close calls for these characters and some nail biting moments. I absolutely loved the introduction of the different hunters (the Surfers were awesome! and Sally Two Knives!). The humor is back again in this book, I loved the banter between Benny and Chong. I also loved the banter between Lilah and Chong. I’m so happy they eventually became a couple. It’s an odd couple nevertheless, but given the circumstances of what’s happening around them, it goes hand in hand.

    The writing style and character development is excellent. There’s a handful of characters to keep track of but the main core would be Benny and his friends. Benny’s group including himself develop, and you see them grow up mentally. After what Nix experiences, she’s matured but through no choice of her own. However whenever you do read the banter between the friends, they act just like kids do and in a sense, it’s comforting because they can still act like their age despite what’s going on around them.

    The plot itself was excellent, and keep in mind it follows right after the events of Rot and Ruin, so it’s best if you read in order. The final third of the book is filled with action and an epic fighting scene. Unfortunately some characters do have to leave. I didn’t want this particular one to go and was absolutely blindsided with this turn of events. I was so attached to this particular character, I have to admit, I cried. This shows though, that Maberry’s writing and characters are very well done, because we get attached to them emotionally and we cheer them on.
    Definitely a good follow up to Rot and Ruin, and it looks like it’s a great series so far. An absolute must read for zombie YA readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7