Customer Reviews for

The Dust of 100 Dogs

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    When I started out reading this story, I was honestly sort of bored. I wasn't interested in her family and the war. But..... After that it completely turned around and I was soooo happy I had kept reading it. It was very interesting and the ending was awesome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very intriguing

    Saffron's years before graduating were stiff, but afterward Saffron and Emer- This character has real edge. She's not a sap in love. She's the new Anyanwu. She reminded me a lot of Octavia E. Butler's character. She's strong minded and strong willed. Emer's vivid culture saved Saffron.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    Unexpectedly Wonderful

    Original and captivating. Combined subjects that I normally would have found of little interest, and tied them together with a strong heroine and great story telling. I work in a Library and I will be passing this on to all of my favorite teens and some of their parents!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Dust of 100 Dogs...

    Yeah...
    I was at Barnes and Noble looking for a series I was reading at the time, and some who worked there pulled it out from the shelve and recommended it.It was extremely good. I like the way it goes from Emer's POV to the present. Or 1990... Anyway... This book was awesome... And you haven't read it, you should. But don't let Younger people (11 and under?) read it... Just a warning. IF there were anymore of them I would be the first person to buy it!!!
    XP Snb793

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A complex and rewarding jigsaw puzzle

    I really don't know where to start with this one. It's a book unlike any I've ever read. It's strange, compelling, and confusing. And at times I wanted to throw it against the wall. I don't think it's a YA book. But it's not adult either. It's in its own class, I guess? I'm screwing myself up just trying to analyze it.

    The Dust of 100 Dogs was like this enormous jigsaw puzzle. My strategy for solving puzzles is to find all the edge and corner pieces first and complete the entire outline first. Then you get the basic outline and layout and you can move on from there. Which totally applies to D100D. An enormous chunk of the book was just set-up.

    Another interesting thing about the book was that it switched between three different narrators - Saffron, Emer, and Fred, which got sort of hectic. When I first started reading I was really mixed up about what was going on. Maybe I'm just dumb (actually, most probably I'm just dumb) but I couldn't figure out what was going on in the beginning. The prologue really threw me off and I didn't catch on that the story (at least Emer's) was going back in time for about 50 pages. Which I think is dumbness on my part. But still. The beginning would have been better if a little excitement or clarity was injected.

    It all connected in my brain eventually though. And that's when it got good. The main story (leading up to the big climax which was actually partially told about in the prologue) is being told by Emer while at the same time Saffron is moving towards her own climax that has roots Saffron's story. It was all very cool. The puzzle outline that you got in the beginning began to make sense and everything began to fall into place.

    My least favorite part of the book? Fred's poor dog. I flinched every time I read about that. I am a complete dog lover so reading about that tore my heart out. I almost considered skipping a few pages. It was just so vivid.

    But THEN, you get the big twist at the end which I totally didn't see coming and the whole sad dog/perv guy stuff makes oh so much sense. I felt like slapping myself on the forehead. Because all the pieces were in plain sight, but I didn't make the connection until Saffron did. Which is a good thing because I guess it shows I was sucked in.

    Towards the end when everything began spiralling in on itself I got completely caught up. And I think that that was because of the characters. Amy's character development was flawless. They all have their own little quirks and flaws and each has something different to add to the story. Emer especially stood out to me. She was the kind of character that you remember. For me, the mark of a bad book is too many characters with too few pages to tell their stories in but Amy packed it all in and packed it in well. I loved the characters.

    I think the only part of this book that I'm able to complain about is the slow beginning and the dog beating. That's really it. Everything else is amazing.

    But what's interesting about this book is that it's the kind of thing that you have to put aside and let marinate for a while. Directly after finishing, I wasn't as ecstatic as I am now. There's just so much going on, so much crowding your mind after you finish the book that it's almost impossible to form a coherent opinion.

    So after a night of sleep and a few hours of thinking, it's safe to say that I loved this book. It was intelligent, clever, and compelling.

    Definitely recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    made of awesome!

    This book is amazing to me--if I had half as much creativity, I'd be a happy girl. I'm not sure what to say that hasn't been said already, but I'm sold on D100D.

    This book has all the elements of a great read--incredible characters, a great premise, and unique plot twists. Emer Morrisey is a determined girl, as is Saffron, and I love to read about determined girls. Fred is amazing for his creep factor. The dog facts do an excellent job of tying the "lesson" threads together for us. I sound like a broken record, but it's a great, great book. And pirates! Who can resist pirates? Especially a completely kick-butt girl pirate?

    If I can find a way to teach this book to my lit students, I will. If I can find a way to buy this book for all the young adults I know (and some adults, too), I will. I eagerly await A.S. King's next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    emer's story is a great adventure

    As a refugee from Cromwell's destruction of Ireland, a pirate on the Caribbean, and a contemporary teenager in Pennsylvania -- not to mention the one hundred dog lives she's lived -- Emer Morrisey is one of the most original heroines I've come across in a long while. You'll want to follow her on her many lives' journeys and wish to see them continue beyond the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic read--couldn't put it down!

    I just finished reading this book about five minutes ago, and I have to tell somebody: IT'S INCREDIBLE! So imaginative, so clever and exciting and fun and absorbing--I had to put aside my own work for the past two days so I could just keep reading and reading. And then by the end I wished it weren't over!

    This is a masterfully-told tale of a modern girl too smart for herself and everyone around her, and of the brave, resourceful young woman she once was in a past life. If that alone doesn't grab you, the fact that we learn proper dog care and training throughout the book--from the dogs' point of view--should be the clincher.

    Hate to say more because it might give away too much, but rest assured that this is a fantastic read, and one that you'll be recommending to everyone you can think of. Ahh, such a satisfying book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Part swashbuckling adventure, part soul-searching journey, part aching love story┬┐The Dust of 100 Dogs has everything you want from an amazing book!

    I just devoured this book in one day! The second I read the absolutely gripping prologue, I was hooked and couldn¿t put it down! This isn¿t your Johnny Depp/Orlando Bloom kind of Disney pirate story; this is a story of real violence and heartbreak that befalls Emer Morissey after she escapes Paris where she was an orphan, sold to a man to be his wife. Emer becomes a veritable pirate, captain of a ship, a force to be reckoned with as she amasses her fortune while pillaging through the Caribbean. But just as she is about to get what she always wanted: treasures immeasurable and a life with her one true love, Fate has its way with her when she is murdered alongside her lover and cursed to live a hundred years as a dog. This heart-wrenching story is told beautifully through the eyes of Saffron Adams the girl who inherited Emer¿s memories after her 100 canine stints are up, and through 3rd person accounts of Emer¿s days back in Ireland and on the high seas. I cried a few times while reading this book, but was rewarded by an ending I did not see coming yet which was incredibly satisfying nonetheless. This story was wonderfully fresh and original and I especially loved that Emer was tough and strong (and did I say a bit violent?), but did have a warm feminine side through it all. I just can¿t say enough about how much I loved this book and can¿t wait to see what Ms. King has in store for us next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    Captivating, yarrr!

    My blurb for this awesome book is already above in the Product Review, and there's probably no need to say more. But I can't help it.<BR/><BR/>You know how you come across a book every few years that really blows you away, and you can't stop thinking about it? You finish reading and you close it and you sit and ponder for a while. You go to sleep thinking about it and when you wake up in the morning, your mind goes back to it. You find yourself in front of the mirror, blow-drying your hair, and you start talking it through because it's so clever, and before you know it, there you are having a little book chat with yourself as you process the story.<BR/><BR/>And then you know how you want to tell all your friends (strangers, too) to go out and buy this book?<BR/><BR/>That's how I feel about Emer and Saffron and The Dust of 100 Dogs. It's so freaking strong and moving. Seriously. Give it a try.<BR/><BR/>If you want to know a little more, check out the book video trailer. It's awesome: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_l7pgmcC1rI<BR/><BR/>Now. Go buy this book. <BR/><BR/>--Lisa McMann, NYT bestselling author of the WAKE trilogy (Mesa, Arizona)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Loved it!

    Possibly one of the best books ive ever read:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Expensive

    Great book but just cost to much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I don't think I've ever read a book quite as original as The Dus

    I don't think I've ever read a book quite as original as The Dust of 100 Dogs. When I first saw it in the bookstore a couple of years ago, I'd been drawn in by the unusual, enchanting title and the simple, yet fulfilling cover. It's one of those books that you'd probably pass in a bookstore, seeing it but not really looking. And what a loss it is for those people who unknowingly avoid this book! As soon as I read the summary on the back, I was sold. Pirates? Reincarnation? Reincarnation as a dog? It was definitely one of the most intriguing ideas I'd ever heard of, and I just had to read it.

    The Dust of 100 Dogs starts out at a prologue. In this prologue, Emer, the main character, is on an island. She has just killed &quot;the Frenchman&quot; and is looking back on how a life of being a pirate has ruined her. A man emerges from the bushes and spills a certain type of dust on her. When Emer dies, she turns into a dog. Thus, the &quot;dust of 100 dogs.&quot; Emer must live the lives of 100 different dogs before she finally becomes human again.

    The rest of the book switches back and forth between past Emer and modern day Emer, along with a man named Fred. Past Emer lives in Ireland, though she must leave her home when it is attacked by Oliver Cromwell's army. Eventually, she beomes a pirate, after facing many hardships throughout her life. She is also in love with a boy named Seany, who we see has died in the prologue of the book. Modern day Emer, known as Saffron, is facing difficulties in choosing what she wants to do in the future. Because she has lived through so many years during her time as a dog, not to mention her time beforehand as a human, Safffron is very intelligent and therefore everyone is expecting her to become a doctor or something along those lines. All Saffron wants, though, is to find the treasure she buried so long ago before she died. As for Fred . . . well, you&rsquo;ll see soon enough.

    The Dust of 100 Dogs is interesting, fascinating, and one of the most original books I've ever read. Many of my friends have borrowed it from me and agreed that it was amazing. With plot twists that you'd never see coming, unusual characters, and the occasional special chapters explaining what it's like to be a dog, The Dust of 100 Dogs takes you on a wonderful adventure worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    This was by far my favorite book ever!! The characters were very dynamic, it was well written, and best of all... it was completely unique.I have never read a book that was anything like this. 100 percent original. This is a must have for any library and I guarantee you will like it if not love it!!!!! BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Hard to put down

    Here's an excellent book about a pirate named Emer. After burying her treasure she's killed but before dieing she's cursed to live the life of 100 dogs. She's now a modern day teenager with one goal on her mind, get to her treasure she buried long ago. The book changes views frequently and keeps you hooked making is a page turner. Emer if likable from the get go and her love for Seanie is of the deepest kind. The things Emer had to endure to finally be reunited with Seanie and then tore away are heart wrenching. Spoilers below...
    Emer's family dies during an attack and she's the only one left. She's taken to her Uncle's to live until she's old enough to be sold off as a wife to a man in Paris. She'll meet Seanie and they'll fall in love. Upon arriving in Paris Emer escapes and lives on the streets for a year. Meanwhile Seanie is trying to follow to rescue Emer. Emer will eventually leave Paris and is raped by a Frenchman. Soon she'll become one of the most feared pirates in the world. She's been cursed and now Emer is a teenager living in modern day who can't wait to leave her dirt poor family and seek her treasure she buried over 300 years ago. Then you'll meet Fred Livingston a wealthy man who hears voices and has a live in lover of the same sex. Not until the ending of the book did I figure out who Fred was. Emer, now Saffron will find her treasure, discover the Frenchman she thought she killed received the same curse and is now Fred, Fred's lover will also turn out to be the Frenchman's assistant from long ago. And once again Emer will be united with Seanie.

    This is an excellent book about pirates and a love story. Solid page turning and a must keep. I hope this author writes more books as good as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Genre Defying

    Dust of 100 Dogs was one of the most original, funny, and entertaining reads I've read in awhile. Emer, a swashbuckling female pirate from the 1700's, is cursed and killed and has to live the life of 100 dogs before being returned to a human body. When finally being born back to a human family, she has the memories of the last 300+ years while being a baby and a child. Forced to wait until she can make the trip to Jamaica on her own before she can find her buried treasure, Emer must live the life as a teenager named Saffron, with a family that is broke and dysfunctional.

    The story would flip between present day Saffron and past life Emer. I enjoyed Emer's story the most. She was a strong willed woman who took what she had to survive. She ends up on a pirate ship and it doesn't take long until she becomes the captain of her own ship so she never has to answer to anyone again. I loved how the past and present intertwined and the past lives of people Emer knew come to play in the present day.

    I laughed out loud and screamed in rage in the span of only a few pages. There was some moments that were a little ris-kay, so parents may want to crack the spine on this one before giving it to your kid. Overall this book was a great escape (which is what I look for when reading) and I look forward to reading more by A.S. King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully Different

    The Dust of 100 Dogs is great. It's possibly one of the most unique pirate tales out there. Although I had little in common with Saffron, I found that I related to her. The parts of the story written about Emer were beautifully written and interesting. The only parts I found a bit boring were the chapters written about Fred. Emer's love for Seanie is really too cute and the ending made me smile. An amazing beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    A Fast pace, exciting YA adventure

    My thoughts...I LOVED THIS BOOK. It has been days since I finished it and it is still dancing around my brain. First, it is original. I am a huge fan of all the things that go bump in the night, but Pirates, not done very often. Second, the writing style of A.S. King lent itself to this type of adventure story. There is quite a bit of jumping around in time which sounds confusing, but it's not. The transitions flow very smoothly, leaving the reader with a mindful of thoughts and ideas about the plot. Third, this book is not afraid. It is violent, scary, intense, and sad. It left me biting my nails, wanting to jump into the pages with the main character. I loved every second of it.

    This is one of those books I could forget just so I could read it again. The main character Emer, has lived the lives of 100 dogs before finding herself in a human body. As you can imagine, her outlook on life, people, and history is well developed. She is a strong heroine with a longing that stretches years behind her. This story takes an incredible journey through the eyes of the character.

    I don't want to give anything away, so I will just say "read it". You won't be sorry.

    The Dust Of 100 Dogs offers something for everyone (I think the boys will enjoy this too). Just a warning, it is bloody, very violent, and there is some foul language. These are pirates were talking about after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    MY FAVORITE BOOK!

    I finished reading this book awhile ago & everytime I see it on my shelf im tempted to re-read it again! This is by far my favorite book ever! The creativeness, P.O.V's & dark humor are the best. My favorite is how Emer imagines hurting/killing people in the funniest yet most gruesome way. I was disappointed with the ending though. Did she finally re-unite with the love of her life? Or did it end up not being him? And how did he even know it was her?! Besides that i LOVED IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    As soon as I saw the title of this book, I was intrigued. However, I must admit I had it on my TBR pile for quite some time and kept sliding it down a book or two. Why did I do that? I'm kicking myself now because it is a great book. Definitely not your usual adventure tale, but definitely worth reading.

    THE DUST OF 100 DOGS is a story-within-a-story. Emer Morrisey is an Irish girl living a turbulent life back in the late 1600's. When her tiny village is attacked and pillaged, she is the lone survivor of her family. Rescued by an angry uncle, she lives with his family until he deems her old enough to be sold off as a wife. Emer bids a sad farewell to the young love of her life and travels to Paris.

    When she meets her husband-to-be, she is repulsed and immediately makes plans for escape. What follows are miserable months slaving away for a group of nuns until Emer hears news of a ship departing for Tortuga where it is said women are in great demand. Perhaps a life in the Caribbean holds the future that will help Emer forget her family and her lost love.

    The interesting thing about this novel is the parallel story running alongside Emer's. This second story is about a modern-day protagonist named Saffron. She has problems of her own. Highly intelligent and excellent at her schoolwork, Saffron has been raised by parents who hold her up as their only hope in the world. Her siblings, especially her brother, Junior, are bitter disappointments, leaving her as the beacon bound to be the light of their lives. Saffron, however, has other plans.

    What readers soon learn is that Emer and Saffron are connected in an unusual way. Emer's Caribbean life turned into a wild adventure with her as a pirate who pillaged and plundered Spanish treasure. At the moment of her untimely death, she was cursed to return to this world and live the life of 100 dogs. During this reincarnation her memories remain, and when the curse is finally fulfilled, Emer returns once more as Saffron. This explains Saffron's amazing ability to know so much about history and the world in general, and it also explains her childhood desire to be a pirate.

    A.S. King has created a truly unique piece of work. Following the stories of Emer and Saffron is a treat. The raw, gritty pirate adventures of Emer mixed with the contemporary pressures faced by Saffron offer something for all readers. The curse of living the life of 100 dogs is also reflected by occasional interruptions titled DOG FACT #1 and so on. The combination of it all provides three distinct points of view that make this a work of pure genius.

    Don't let this one slide down your reading list like I did. Get a copy today, and you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3