Customer Reviews for

Duty: A Father, His Son, and the Man Who Won the War

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    A terrific book.  It goes a long way to enlighten those of us wh

    A terrific book.  It goes a long way to enlighten those of us who grew up in the years since WWII to understand what shaped that generation. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Coud not put it down. I did not want this book to end. My dad w

    Coud not put it down.
    I did not want this book to end. My dad worked on the Manhattan Project. My uncles: USS St. Louis, in the jungles, on Iwo Jima, guarded German POW's in Wisconsin, guarded Goering at the war trials. One fellow I knew carried the packs of the older soldiers, another was on the ship going to invade Japan. I knew a SeaBee who was on the Mariana Islands and knew the fellow who invented the SeaBee insigna. My dad was in his 30's with 3 kids and terrible eyesight, and he got his draft papers! Thank you, Paul Tibbets for ending the war. You are (were) a great man. I had a chance to meet you but did not. You are my hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    A warm, compassionate, insightful story

    Reading Bob Greene's account of his quest to get to know his father, and the role Paul Tibbets played in drawing that out, was truly breath-taking. He (Greene) would at times touch a nerve in his narrative, and I would reflect on how I wish I had gotten to know my Dad better, and all the unanswered questions I would ask him, if I could. Thanks, Bob. Your book is one of the finer reads I have had in many a year. I would rate this book a 5, without hesitation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    WONDERFULY WRITTEN

    This book is well written, an outstanding piece of literature. Truley shows the hearts of the American military men and women, and its supporters. I'm proud to read such a work of art, and plan to read it many times over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Amazing!

    This is a WONDERFUL book that I have read many times. It really makes evident why people in the military do what they do. It's beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2001

    They Died Before, They're Dying Again...

    This was a wonderful book. If there is a book that can highlight the differences between today's older and younger generations, this would be it. It doesn't do it in any sort of controversial way. At times, it's done with humor. Sometimes a bit of sadness. Always with respect. Some of the comments by General Tibbets caused me to look at myself and ask myself some rather unpleasant questions. (I'm 41) At the same time the above descriptions bring the book home to the heart, it also allows us to see ourselves, at whatever age one might be, in the light of our now passing heritage. There are some surprising insights in it. Spend some time with it, this Memorial Day weekend. It's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    A Hero Who Modestly Rejects the Hero's Mantle

    This book clearly deserves more than five stars! 'Doolittle's Raiders -- Those Were Real Heroes' This quote came from Paul Tibbets, the man who piloted the Enola Gay (named after his mother) to drop the atomic bomb on Hiroshima in August 1945. He was referring to the crews that bombed Japan shortly after the start of the U.S. engagement in World War II, in a stirring symbolic strike at our Pacific enemy of those years. They had no way to come back to American bases with their planes, and had to fly onto the Asian mainland and hope to find their way back to the U.S. on their own. Many did not survive the mission. What many do not know is that Tibbets also headed the unit that prepared to drop the atomic bombs. He ordered himself to pilot the first flight, out of his sense of responsibility for getting the job done right. Many who have not read the book will think this book is a biography of Tibbets, who has remained out of the limelight since World War II. That thought is partially correct. But the book is much more than that, even though that would have been a lot. The author became interested in Tibbets because the author's father was so obviously in awe of Tibbets. The father would mention seeing Tibbets in their common hometown of Columbus, Ohio, but never approached him. Inspired by his father's interest, the author finally meets Tibbets shortly before the author's father dies. Then begins one of those wonderful human experiences that we each should have, and books like this allow us to experience vicariously. Although Tibbets never met the father, he instantly understood him. In many informal talks and visits, the author came to understand for the first time both Tibbets and his own father who had left a tape recorded oral history. There is a wonderful epiphany near the end of the book when the author finally understands why Tibbets meant so much to his father. I won't spoil it for you, but it's worth reading the whole book to get to this one story. This book will be very appealing to anyone who read and liked The Greatest Generation. By focusing on the lives of just a few men (Tibbets, two of Tibbets' crew mates, and Greene's father) you get a richness and wholeness to the lives that makes it all come together much better than can happen with briefer stories. In a sense, the two books are companion pieces. In fact, I recommend that most people read Duty first, and then read The Greatest Generation. If you have already read The Greatest Generation, you should reread it after you have read Duty. You'll have many new insights as a result. My next suggestion is that you then seek out someone who fought in World War II (a relative would be great if you have one) and talk to them about their experiences and what you thought you learned from these two books. You should be able to lift a generational curtain in the process, and make some wonderful human contact that would not have otherwise have been possible. In this way, you can pay real tribute to all those who made our modern world possible. To me, I beg to differ with Paul Tibbets' quote. I think

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    Dads, Sons and a Generation

    Bob Greene does a wonderful job of weaving his fathers recorded messages in with the man who flew the Enola Gay. Greene is able to paint a picture of a generation of men who did what they were asked to do without question or fear a failure. In a 'Field of Dreams' like way Greene gives the reader an opportunity to be apart of a father/son relationship that I am sure male readers could identify with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    My Whole Family is Reading 'Duty'

    I am one of those saved from a beach invasion of Japan by the Enola Gay Crew. My orders bore the code designation LION 9 (Landing invasion and occupation Navy) We were equipped with Army uniforms, helmets etc with no real training for that activity. My two sons, my wife and I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Paul Tibbets and to read what to us is the very best commentary on my generation. Thank you for a most entertaining and inspiring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    A Must Read for any Son of a Vet

    My father served as a medic in the United States Army's 199th Infantry Regiment of the 30th Infantry Division -- the famed Old Hickory division -- from D-Day plus four until VE Day. He participated in five major battles: in Normandy, Northern France, the Rhineland, Central Europe, and the German Ardennes Offensive -- which is better known as the Battle of the Bulge. He died this past February and I only know this much about his service from the research my brother did in order to give a proper eulogy. Apart from telling us years ago that he would like for his casket to be draped with an American flag, he never really discussed his experiences in the war or his pride at having served. Bob Greene's touching exploration of his dying father's wartime service and the effect it had on him and his family through the rest of his life, discovered through Greene's exploration of the life and legacy of Paul Tibbets -- the Man Who Won the War -- fills an emotional and historical vacuum in my own life and education. I was touched by the simple observations and enlightened by what I learned from the author's conversations and experiences with Mr. Tibbets, Mr. Van Kirk and Mr. Ferebee. If you are the child of a World War II veteran, treat yourself to this book. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2000

    An excellent novel

    This is an excellent novel written about the flight to Hiroshima. I would like to thank Paul Tibbets for doing his duty and I think that he did help win the war. You saved American and Japanese lives and I thank you. I really liked the part in the book that discusses the tapes that were left to Bob Greene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    'Doolittle's Raiders -- Those Were Real Heroes'

    This quote came from Paul Tibbets, the man who piloted the Enola Gay (named after his mother) to drop the atomic bomb on Hiroshima in August 1945. He was referring to the crews that bombed Japan shortly after the start of the U.S. engagement in World War II, in a stirring symbolic strike at our Pacific enemy of those years. They had no way to come back with their planes, and had to fly onto the Asian mainland and hope to find their way back to the U.S. Many did not survive the mission. What many do not know is that Tibbets also headed the unit that prepared to drop the atomic bombs. He ordered himself to pilot the first flight, out of his sense of responsibility for getting the job done right. Many will think this book is a biography of Tibbets, who has remained out of the limelight since World War II. That thought is partially correct. But the book is much more than that, even though that would have been a lot. The author became interested in Tibbets because the author's father was so obviously in awe of Tibbets. He would mention seeing Tibbets in their common hometown of Columbus, Ohio, but never approached him. Inspired by his father's interest, the author finally meets Tibbets shortly before his father dies. Then begins one of those wonderful human experiences that we each should have, and books like this allow us to experience vicariously. Although Tibbets never met the father, he instantly understood him. In many informal talks and visits, the author came to understand both Tibbets and his own father who had left a tape recorded oral history. There is a wonderful epiphany near the end of the book when the author finally understands why Tibbets meant so much to his father. I won't spoil it for you, but it's worth reading the whole book to get to this one story. This book will be very appealing to any

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2000

    Best book I have read in years.

    I found the book to be most informative and emotional, it brought tears to my eyes many times. I found it very hard to put it down. Well done Mr. Green.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2000

    terrific

    I learned a lot about Hiroshima and a lot more about the men who fought in WW II. It's a great read. Greene did a terrific job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    An honorable tribute to the Veterans of WWII

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It is a book to be read by everyone whose Parents or Grandparents were of the World War II Generation. This is an honest, insightful, and honorable tribute to the hero Paul Tibbets of the Enola Gay, and to Major Time Greene of the 91st Infantry Division, one of the many unsung heroes that put it all on the line to save the free world. One comes away with a knowledge of how our greatest generation viewed the world and their moral character. One also gets a wake up call as to their opinion of the current generation. If you have recently laid to rest a Parent of Grandparent from the WWII era, as I have, this book will help you cherish their memory even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Outstanding book on the man behind the dropping of the bomb.

    Mr Greene has written about two men that are very dear to him, his father and General Paul Tibbets, pilot of the Enola Gay. Both men are true heroes and served this country well. Mr. Greene deftly mixes information gathered in numerous interviews with General Tibbets, with information about Bob's own father who served in WWII. The book brings to light fasinating facts about the pilot and crew that came together in the famed B-29, The Enola Gay, and dropped the first atomic bomb. In an era when many people try to ignore the past or rewrite history, this look at one of the most significant events of this past century should be required reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1