Customer Reviews for

Dying Bites (Bloodhound Files Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Valchek's "Brave New World"

I collect vampire books so any one with even one vampire gets in to my collecton. I've read and have over 300 books on the subject and have become pretty selective of the ones that I recommend. D.D Barant's book is a winner. The situation in which she places her main ch...
I collect vampire books so any one with even one vampire gets in to my collecton. I've read and have over 300 books on the subject and have become pretty selective of the ones that I recommend. D.D Barant's book is a winner. The situation in which she places her main character, Jace, is fresh and most creative...An FBI agent from Earth in another reality. Great spin. Jace's character is well developed and funny as "hell". There were numerous times in the book that I found myself laughing out loud at the things she would say. I liked the other characters also, especially Charlie, the Golem. He was full of dry wit also.
I found myself however, not getting a real feel for Cassius. This I think is understandable because his character is on the periphery. I do think that he will be developed in the next book in the series. For some reason his character reminds me of Karen Chances' character, Mircea, the vampire in her Cassandra Palmer series. Just a feeling.
I think if you enjoy this genre and like to laugh then this is a great read.

posted by VampressSJ on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's an "okay" book

I had high hopes when I began reading Dying Bites. Jace, the main character, has a sharp tongue and clever wit. A little goes a long ways, but wanes with time. When she makes comments that only someone from her universe would understand, things go flat. There's this ...
I had high hopes when I began reading Dying Bites. Jace, the main character, has a sharp tongue and clever wit. A little goes a long ways, but wanes with time. When she makes comments that only someone from her universe would understand, things go flat. There's this big build up for a major disaster. But she goes through it too easily. I feel the build up out runs the climax. I feel I have been cheated. I was ready for something really way out, but had to be satisfied with the mundane. I gave this a two star rating because I felt the work having gone into the book had to account for something.

posted by Kandiland on June 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Valchek's "Brave New World"

    I collect vampire books so any one with even one vampire gets in to my collecton. I've read and have over 300 books on the subject and have become pretty selective of the ones that I recommend. D.D Barant's book is a winner. The situation in which she places her main character, Jace, is fresh and most creative...An FBI agent from Earth in another reality. Great spin. Jace's character is well developed and funny as "hell". There were numerous times in the book that I found myself laughing out loud at the things she would say. I liked the other characters also, especially Charlie, the Golem. He was full of dry wit also.
    I found myself however, not getting a real feel for Cassius. This I think is understandable because his character is on the periphery. I do think that he will be developed in the next book in the series. For some reason his character reminds me of Karen Chances' character, Mircea, the vampire in her Cassandra Palmer series. Just a feeling.
    I think if you enjoy this genre and like to laugh then this is a great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    So good

    This book rocks. Well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Really Enjoyable

    This book was not something that I normally read. It definately put a twist on the vampire tails that I was use to reading and it was nice to see a modern edge to it. Definately recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good start to a new series

    This is the second book I've read recently where the main character is an ordinary human in a supernatural world. The twist this time is that Jace is pulled from our non-magical world to an alternate reality, where vampires and werewolves are the majority and humans the minority. She's an expert profiler for the FBI, and her skills are badly needed in a world where they've never had to deal with serial killers before. Really liked Jace, and she handled being in a new world a lot better than I would have. Might have had something to do with her job and personality, but she coped pretty well. Enjoyed the secondary characters too, from the friendly Dr. Pete to her liaison Gretchen to the nerdy forensic scientist Eisfanger to her new partner Charlie. Of course, Dr. Pete and Dr.Eisfanger are werewolves, Gretchen is a vampire, and Charlie? Charlie is a golem, infused with the spirit of a tyrannosaurus rex. Hey, that's a great quality to have in a partner, and it doesn't hurt that Charlie has a wicked sense of humor to boot! Thought that this was a good start to a new series, and I'm looking forward to seeing how Jace adjusts to her new world. I also enjoyed the alternate reality bits and learning about how different this new world was from ours. People are people no matter what, even if they are vampires or werewolves. :) Gave this a 4/5 for it's good plot, interesting and likable characters, well paced action, and the central mystery of discovering the serial killer. Recommended to anyone who enjoys the urban fantasy world where supernaturals have regular jobs instead of being all mysterious and stereotypical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Dinosaur Effect

    Imagine waking up one day and your human species is going the way of the dinosaur; becoming extinct right before your very eyes. Agent Jace Valechek is having the dream from hell. Unfortunately that dream turns into a reality when she is involuntarily transported to another dimension on earth. Only in this reality, magic exist, humans are the minority and vampires and lycans are the majority, and the monsters told in bed time stories are real. Humans have been hunted down to 1% of the population by hungry vamps or lycans looking for sport. The very premise of this book is brilliant; a parallel dimension running simultaneously with the human earth. Every human historical tragedy and event also happens in this dimension as well; only with a twist. The NSA in this dimension transport Agent Valechek solely for the purpose of helping them catch a human serial killer preying on the vampire and lycan community. This killer is turning the tables on the vamps/lycans by turning them into the hunted. I had a hard time getting into this book for about the first 50 pages; once I immersed myself in the story I couldn't put this book down. I love the fact that the author didn't waste time with having Jace go through a huge denial period with her disbelieving she's not still dreaming and having her run around completely clueless. Instead Jace is the opposite. She is smart, focused on her work, tough and brave. This is a solid paranormal whodunit mystery and police procedural novel. I highly recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers and I am eagerly awaiting the next book Death Blows, due out 3/30/2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    She grew on me eventually

    I really liked the story concept, was surprised that the first person present tense format was used so well but Jace...well she's a bit of a problem. Fortunately, she eventually grew on me, unfortunately, she doesn't have too many redeeming qualities and I consider that the only flaw in this story. I like a strong heroine but for me, strong is not defined by abrasive, rude, and irrationally angry. I assume the next few books in the series will show her transformation into something more rounded but I was almost turned off from continuing, since the story is told from her point of view. The story was worth it though.

    One thing I've disliked about some stories is that the "shocking" secret is rarely ever shocking or appalling. I'm so glad that this one was truly appalling. It made everything more compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Supernatural Crime Fiction - Dark Fantasy

    Jace Valchek, a FBI profiler of serial killers, is magically transported to a parallel earth where vampires, lycanthropes and golems vastly outnumber the few surviving humans. The vampire head of NSA, Cassius, gives her an offer she can't refuse. Unless she helps the NSA capture a presumably insane human serial killer, she will not be returned to her own world. She accepts, and the story proceeds at a relentless pace. She and her golem protector follow the trial of the killer, dubbed the impaler. Eventually, the evidence leads to a human terrorist group and a choice to either join the the human resistance or support the supernaturals. The story is compelling and has a few surprising twists. Action sequences are sprinkled throughout, and the climax is satisfying. Although Jace's character is implausibly impulsive and obstinate, her quick wit partially ameliorates these shortcomings. Further, the other lead characters are well-developed and interestingly nuanced. The dialogue is particularly sharp and employs a deft humor. I recommend this book to anyone who likes supernatural crime fiction and/or dark fantasy. Personally, I'll be reading the second installment in this new 'Bloodhound Files' series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good writing and interesting development of the world

    I've been waiting for this book to come out for a month now. I read it in only one day, so it's a good read. The characters are interesting and I'm waiting to see where this world ends up going. So, I'll definately be buying the next book. If there is going to be a romantic interest for the main protaganist, I have some definate concerns about who that might be. I don't wnat to give away too much, but YIKES! D.D. Barant might be steering us to something that not going to be pretty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4