Customer Reviews for

Dying Light (Logan McRae, Book 2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

An Acute Look At Violent Dark City

MacBride has created a dark and violent fictionsl version of Aberdeen Scotland. His relentless police detective is deluged by murder after murder and McBride spares no detail of the brutality if these crimes...McBride's books are the most violent I have read. NOT ligh...
MacBride has created a dark and violent fictionsl version of Aberdeen Scotland. His relentless police detective is deluged by murder after murder and McBride spares no detail of the brutality if these crimes...McBride's books are the most violent I have read. NOT light entertainment, but a "no holds barred" world of cold blooded criminals hunted by a tireless investigator, backed up by a girlfriend who may be the toughest person in this ultra-violent city.

I get through MacBride's books by skimming over the most violent portions....pages of torture and detailed descriptions of human remains....which means skipping 10% of the book.

MacBride's gift is making this imaginary Aberdeen seem very real, and the reader is an eyewitness to its horrors. His weakness is his unwillingness to ever spare the reader some of the gory details or provide breaks in the nightmares. There is never a sunny day in Aberdeen, just one dark night after another.

posted by Alan_Houston on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too annoying to finish

The supporting characters are so awful, if I were the protagonist, I'd either shoot myself or them!

posted by 17261230 on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    An Acute Look At Violent Dark City

    MacBride has created a dark and violent fictionsl version of Aberdeen Scotland. His relentless police detective is deluged by murder after murder and McBride spares no detail of the brutality if these crimes...McBride's books are the most violent I have read. NOT light entertainment, but a "no holds barred" world of cold blooded criminals hunted by a tireless investigator, backed up by a girlfriend who may be the toughest person in this ultra-violent city.

    I get through MacBride's books by skimming over the most violent portions....pages of torture and detailed descriptions of human remains....which means skipping 10% of the book.

    MacBride's gift is making this imaginary Aberdeen seem very real, and the reader is an eyewitness to its horrors. His weakness is his unwillingness to ever spare the reader some of the gory details or provide breaks in the nightmares. There is never a sunny day in Aberdeen, just one dark night after another.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent police procedural

    Just a few months ago in Aberdeen, Scotland n the Grampian Police Department, Detective Sergeant Logan MacRae was considered a superstar by the media and his peers until a failed raid left a peer dead and ¿Mr. Police Bloody Hero¿ reassessed as a screw-up. He now works for a DI called the ¿Jinx¿ because his career has ended on the reject squad.------------- Logan enjoys some night time with WPC Watson when a nearby murder occurs. Cops at the scene decide they need adult supervision officially known as an officer in charge Logan is the only one available so they interrupt his tryst. At the crime scene he recognizes the battered naked corpse of prostitute Rosie Williams. Though he expects working for the ¿Jinx¿ to lead to his firing, Logan begins inquiries into who murdered the prostitute, a case no one else wants. Across town an arson and multiple homicide case has the entire department wanting to be the media darling by solving it. There are six dead inside with windows and doors bolted shut from the outside and petrol everywhere. Soon Logan will see links between the cases and the murder of another hooker, but the leadership thinks he is just a reject seeking glory hound.------------- In his second Scottish police procedural (see COLD GRANITE), Logan sees the prostitute investigation as a chance to salvage his career in spite of working for the unorthodox Jinx and the knowledge that everyone else sees the arson as the flavor of the moment. The secondary cast is solid as they bring the best and worst of human nature to the forefront while Aberdeen comes across as a gritty rough urban center. Still this is Logan¿s run as his ¿altruistic¿ motive is not justice for a deceased ¿lowlife¿, but redemption by the brass.-------- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    A reviewer

    Detective Sergeant Logan MacRae has been bumped to D.I. Roberta Steel⿿s ⿿Screw-up Squad⿠after a raid he led on a warehouse rumored to be full of stolen property ended with no arrests and one officer critically injured. The backstabbing, limelight-stealing, laziest D.I. on Aberdeen⿿s police force, Steel⿿s team is made up of the ⿿no-hopers,⿠the most worthless or inexperienced members of the homicide department, and Logan will do anything to prove he doesn⿿t belong there. Including working overtime on two baffling cases: the murder by arson of six people, and the beating to death of a prostitute down by the docks, not a high priority compared to the fire. At least not until another prostitute ends up dead.   Although both cases seem simple on the surface---turns out the fire⿿s victims are part of a drug dealer⿿s inner circle, and what fate is to be expected for working girls in Aberdeen⿿s red-light district? --- in Stuart MacBride⿿s hands, what⿿s going on in this rainy Scottish city is bound to be much more complicated than it appears.   A detailed authenticity combines with a dark Scottish sense of humor and a lively cast of characters in MacBride⿿s unputdownable second novel, confirming his status as a rising star of crime fiction.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Thank you!

    Thank you, B&N for providing a free nook book, Cold Granite, by Stuart McBride, it made it possible for me to discover a new amazing author! Mr McBride is a great find for me, his Logan McRae series has been a joy to read! Fast paced, hard to put down, genuine, I fell in love at first page! Each book (so far, I am begining #4) has been excellent! The story in this book "Dying Light" is quick, interesting and unique to itself while keeping the characters of all the books intact! I was thrilled with the feeling that I was in Scotland, freezing and wet, watching cops solve crimes, working with budget cuts and politics like we all do today! Try this book, in the series or alone, you will not be disappointed!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    My new favorite writer

    I have read 3 of Stuart's books so far and they are good!! Hope you will check him out too. All books are set in Scotland, which is a local with a lot of history. You can't wait to read the whole book and then you wish you hadn't read so fast because you miss all the characters. Enjoy!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Macbride

    Good read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Another good read from MacBride

    All the Logan McRae novels are excellent, this one included.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Perversely Exciting Reading

    If you love violent blood-curdling mystery this is the book for you. Enjoyed both books so far in the Logan McRae series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Too annoying to finish

    The supporting characters are so awful, if I were the protagonist, I'd either shoot myself or them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Really enjoy these books

    I've read nearly all of the books about DS McRae and thoroughly enjoyed all of them and plan to read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    A good read for the bus

    Page turner. Doesn't require a lot of brain power to follow. Great book to read on the bus to work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    highly recommended

    very good plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Logan McRae

    Love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Good read

    I'm new to Stuart McBride books and accidentally read one of his later books first (which I really liked). Now, I've started over and will read in order written. So far, I'm very pleased with the ones that I have read. The twists and turns in this book were quite interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Not recommended

    Worst details in a story
    You need to have a strong stomach
    Gross.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Terribly slow read.

    Taking the time to figure out the meaning of the words was a trying experience. Probably a good story, but frustrating as it didn't move smoothly Will pass on buying another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Good

    This is just as good as the first one's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    To caleb

    No. I'm serious! Stop being so bratty. I'm not meaning to I just don't have the time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    These look like cool books

    Seem interesting..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4