Customer Reviews for

Dying for Revenge (Gideon Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    wild cross Atlantic ride

    Taking a vacation from his job as a professional assassin, Gideon travels to Antigua. He believes his dispute with a former client in Detroit is resolved so he lets his hair down for some needed R&R. Instead he quickly learns his misconception as Detroit has not forgiven the threat to his children so has hired a horde of killers to bring him Gideon¿s head.<BR/><BR/>Fleeing the Caribbean with assassins chasing him, Gideon races to the United Kingdom while trying to insure his only family, "the Kid" is hidden from Detroit¿s relentless goons. Gideon flees from London to Nashville, Atlanta and finally back to the Caribbean with paid killers following his every step.<BR/><BR/>The key to this wild cross Atlantic ride is the locations are so vivid within the violent stops that the various cities make the over the top of Big Ben seem somewhat genuine. The story line is fast-paced and filled with non stop action as double and triple crossings are the norm. Readers will root for Gideon (star of SLEEPING WITH STRANGERS and WAKING WITH ENEMIES) as a professional hitman with a conscience battling to survive and keep the Kid safe against amoral thugs; though in fairness Detroit has similar moral standards as the antihero lead has at least when it comes to family. <BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Nice

    Enjoyed the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    ACTION PACKED

    I just love Gideon and this series. You won't be disappointed if you're a fan of this series. This book was action packed and full of twists and turns, and of course EJD'S steamy sex scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Love this series!!!

    I am so in love with gideon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Awsome read

    Omg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Loved it, loved it and loved it !!! Enjoyed the first two books,

    Loved it, loved it and loved it !!! Enjoyed the first two books, but felt the sex scenes were overrated ... Made me feel like I was reading a Zane novel instead of EJD. I took a break before reading the 3rd, but when I began to read it, I had a hard time putting it down. Love Gideon working with Konstantin &amp; Hawks ... the perfect team! I just wish Gideon would have been able to get his revenge on Detroit. Anyway, can't wait to begin Resurrecting Midnight ... EJD needs to be working on book #5, lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    recommended

    Love the Gideon series, looking forward to the next book to see what happens between Gideon and Midnight, father (maybe) and son two sides of a coin. Gideon needs to open the envelope though to find out who is who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Gritty, excellent read

    Great pace multi-facet plot, hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Love it!

    The best one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    One of the best!

    I have been so addicted to all 3 books. Getting ready to start the fourth. These stories are so amazing and EJD really showed another side I LOVE. I agree, a movie with The Rock as the lead and maybe Zoe Saldana as Hawks. Idk just an idea but a movie would be dominating because the books are raw, real, sexy, exciting, and cleaver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Great Read

    The series continues and this does not dissappoint. Captivating from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Awesome novel

    Loved every sentence. I was on the edge of my seat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Love it

    I have not been keeping up with book releases, I thought the Gideon series was over after reading Waking with Strangers. This one did not disappoint I love it. I already have Ressurecting Midnight and can't wait to read that one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    Excellent read !

    I have enjoyed this series thus far 1 I would love to see it on the big screen. I think the prefect actor to play Gideon would be Idris Alba. I wish I had the funds to make it happen. I can't wait to read Midnight Resurrection..I am going to buy it right now and download it to my ebooks !! Eric Jerome Dickey ! You are the BEST !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Excellent Story to compliment the Series

    Eric has done an excellent job in creating and developing Gideon as the main character. His story is so well told and engaging, that you actually believe he could exist. Never a boring moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book was G-R-E-A-T!

    Wow! what can i say it was like reading the script to a great action packed film.I think that this book should win an Oscar.It kept you on the edge of your seat the whole time you were reading. EJD is a brilliant writer and like all of his other books(and i have every last one of them)he keeps you entertained whether it is with action or a steamy pleasure scene.I hope that Gideoen never dies he may be the best character yet.
    I would recommend the whole world read the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gideon Series

    OMG I love and enjoy EJD novels. I haven't been able to read for pleasure in a while, I didn't even know he had created a series, Gideon. I found Dying for Revenge to be exciting and I loved the characters. I really wanted to know the results of the DNA (LOL) and I hope there is a continuation, because I want him and Hawks to really hook up, a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Gideon is not over yet

    What more can i say other than Gideon is back and he is not going down easy. I traditionally do not read books by black authors but I have become intertwined with EJD and cant seem to put this series down. Of course the books is like most black novels there is always a steamy sex scene and vulgar language. But the plot and chararcters cest to amaze me. i recommend reading the series and cant wait to finish the resurrection of midnight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I really like this book! for good...

    I've have to say that this book is so good. But the ending part was a little scray becuse Gideon wounld have killed Matthew & of course his girlfirend was cry to get Matthew back. Gideon was all over the place because he's a killer to S.W.S & W.W.E. & also the most part when he contines to be a killer he needs to killer more ppl than I thought it counld be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    Not as enjoyable...

    While the other books in the Gideon series are great, the characters in this story are ridiculous! The protagonists are silly and the dialogue is repetitive, after a while I found myself counting the number of times the "f" word is used. Trust me, it is used too many times! The female protagonist and her reason for doing what she does ("wet work") are laugh out loud comical...Pass this one by!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5