Customer Reviews for

The Dying of the Light: End

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Where will you be when the world ends? David Blake's world ends

    Where will you be when the world ends?

    David Blake's world ends on a average day while sitting in the back room of his bookshop. The life he has built with his fiance Rachel and stepson Eric becomes nothing more than memories in a few hours. It through this tragedy he becomes acquainted with the US Army, and signs on to fight the newest threat to humanity: zombies. Blake is thrust into the world of tactics and weapons, finding that perhaps on the front lines is just where he belongs, not in a small town selling literature.


    Kristopher created an interesting universe with his first novel The Dying of the Light: End. Zombies are a real threat, the governments are working together to save man kind using elite fighting platoons and prions (you know, those proteins that are responsible for mad cow disease) are the cause for zombies. Essentially, Kristopher gives zombie literature a new way to categorize zombies: something in the realm of virology, which I can definitely get on board with. The author also includes links to prion research, and various zombie literature for the curious reader (suggested reading!).

    Although I was fascinated with the biological basis of zombie-infection, I found that the fresh point of view that Kristopher uses is also very relevant to the rebooting of zombie literature foundations. Blake is a man who is part of a ubber secret group of men and women who covertly attempt to stem off infection. Who are the people who are willing to risk their lives without anyone knowing? How do those on the front lines of the epidemic feel, react and manage such a monumental task? Instead of focusing on the Average Joe, Kristopher blazes ahead where most zombie fiction only treads lightly. Fantastic!


    This being said, why not a full 5 stars? Kristopher holds out the proverbial carrot for far too long. The introduction of the villain, the villain's plans and the catalyst to tie Blake to him all revealed far to too late into the story. The emergence of the villain alone took far too long to capture interest. I honestly felt the book started far too slow, and the ending took far too long. This being said, this also contributed to the world building which was important for the story to continue.


    The twist also happened fairly late, being almost tacked on mid-climax and was mentioned again only briefly in the end. It would have been a great idea to weave this revelation into the story post climax to keep the reader enticed by what the second book has to offer. Obviously, these are mistakes that Kristopher made while writing his first book, and cannot be reflected in his later work.

    Side note: this book can get cheesy. "Damn you. Damn you straight hell" and "We will not go quietly into the night" do appear and it certainly took away from the believability of the story.

    In the end, if you're into the zombie literature craze, or like a good military-apocalyptic novel, you should check out this book - it takes a new spin and focuses on the lesser known elements in apocalyptic literature and zombie catastrophes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    I don┬┐t generally read or watch a lot of zombie material. When

    I don’t generally read or watch a lot of zombie material. When everyone was on that craze, I was not. But I do love a good zombie story. Usually when in the mood I go on a Resident Evil binge. One of my all time favorite movies (top twenty anyway) is 28 Days Later, the first time I saw it I was impressed by the cinematography and the choice in music made me cry it was so lovely.

    I chuckled and snickered all the way through reading Pride & Prejudice & Zombies and just recently I was introduced to the movie Warm Bodies and absolutely loved it.

    So even though the zombie craze isn’t entirely my thing – I’m not ignorant of the genre and I do enjoy it. I existed in the house when my husband was watching The Walking Dead, he watched too many episodes without me to follow the whole show, but now reading The Dying of the Light I feel like I got the better end of the stick.

    Kristopher’s work is both an easy breezy read as well as an involved and intricate apocalypse novel. Current events are tied into the possibilities – which is always the best way to build a dystopian or apocalyptic world, in my opinion. The characters are real, the main one appropriately both strong and sappy. (Without a little bit of nostalgia and romance, what in God’s name would anyone want to save?)

    Of course, that’s always the best part of an end of the world story – it’s why millions have fallen in love with Doctor Who. Any fight to the death for a whole world must involve a story of humanity and what it means to be human. Jason Kristopher pulls this off well, without overwhelming the casual reader with too much intensity.

    After reading several books lately that involve a lot of plodding and lengthy prologues (from biographies to novels), Jason Kristopher’s opening sentence “I didn’t see Rebecca die the second time” was just the clincher I needed to jump into a refreshingly fast paced story.

    I’m looking forward to Interval, the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Dying of the Light End by Jason Kristopher SPORILER ALERT

    Basically, the story is about zombies and how they begin to exterminate the human race in their quest for food. The story begins by telling the reader a little of the history as to when and where the first attacks take place, their circumstances and recorded history. The story has both good and bad points.
    As this is the first zombie story I've read, some things fans assume to be true I may miss entirely. Also, this review contains some spoilers.
    First, I thought the list of acronyms and character descriptions at the beginning to be helpful when reading the story after.
    Secondly the author goes back a number of centuries to create his story. Setting the premise, by giving histories regarding the first attacks and how the people at the time handled them. In addition to this, he gives the reader an understandable description of prions and how they work. What I personally would have liked to see more of was the origons of the disease itself. How did this thing come into being? Was it natually occurring and if so how did it first infect human beings?? Was it man made?? Perhaps the little green men are conducting an experiment on humans.
    Third and perhaps one of the more unique qualities the government uses media itself dissuade the public of zombie existence, but at the same time it also uses it to acclimate us to them. Movies, books, radio, internet. You name it the government uses it. Once people see them on television, they're not real and when one lone person views an attack he thinks he's seeing things or is deemed crazy should he try to report it.
    Finally, military characters are a given for this story. I liked the fact that the author has an ordinary person work with the military and women as leaders. However, I found the characters, some of the situations and dialogue a little unrelatable and a little too cheesy and wimpy for my taste. Every time you turned the page it seemed they were bawling like babies. I found myself telling them to "Man up, suck it up. For crying out loud you're supposed to be the seals, the rangers. The militaries best of the best. Think of D-day, the beaches of Normandy." Jack Reacher and Lara Croft they are definitely not.
    As to Morena and the boy, I have they feeling they were strategically placed in the hospital by the evil doctor and very much more than a couple of look-a-likes. In my opinion, they may just be clones with an extra twist added in the mix. It reminded me a little of Resident Evil, esp with the main character being a carrier like Alice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    From The Aussie Zombie

    The Dying of the Light: End starts with a prologue about David, who I would consider to be the main character of the book and a run-down of some recent US zombie outbreaks and how they were contained by the military. Fast forward a year, and David is recruited into the secret military group that is responsible for containing and covering-up zombie outbreaks.

    There is not a lot of zombie action in this book – the story is centered on the secret military group charged with keeping the outbreaks under wraps and the forming of their relationships, both positive and negative. Although the book is heavily militaristic in setting, it’s not an overkill of talking about tactics, guns and other weapons – these are all, naturally, mentioned and explained, but for the reader who (like me) doesn’t particularly enjoy this kind of stuff, there’s no skimming required as the information is kept to the necessary minimum. There’s also some information about the virus itself, which is interesting but not excessive.

    The Dying of the Light: End, does read a little like a movie script – it reminded me of Starship Troopers to be honest, but with far less battle scenes. The dialogue is a little cheesy in some places, but not overly so, and the characters that should be likeable are, and the ones that shouldn’t be are not (no cheering on the baddies here). The POV does shift from David in the first person to other characters in the third person, which can be a little confusing.

    There are some emotional scenes, one had me particularly misty-eyed, but the overall feeling of this book is that it is a set-up of characters and relationships for the next book. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but if you’re looking for a whole lot of zombie-killing brain-munching heart-skipping action, you may find this book slightly disappointing. I did like this one, quite a lot, and will be looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Absolute Tour De Force

    I'll admit right up front: I was really skeptical going into this book. I've grown largely tired of the Zombie genre lately as we constantly have more and more just plain bad media thrown at us. Until this point, the only saving grace for me was the We're Alive radio drama.

    Now there's two. This book is an absolute delight. It's been a while since I've read a book where I instantly clicked with the characters, where I felt that I -knew- them, where I felt their joys... and their tragedies sharply. I'm man enough to admit that it's been a while since I cried while reading a book. That's what you're in for with Jason Kristofer's The Dying of the Light: End. It starts off at a dead sprint and only picks up speed until it's a runaway locomotive by the end.

    The novel follows David Blake, a civilian book store owner from the fictional town of Falls Creek Colorado, as his entire world is turned upside down, inside out, and eviscerated as an outbreak of a threat that is straight out of a monster movie claims the lives of everyone he knows and loves. Rescued by a combination of his own skills as well as his timely arrival at a military camp, he picks up the broken pieces of his life as he is asked to join a secret task force that will be humanity's last line of defense against the threat of "the walkers." Though even the gathered strength of the walking dead isn't as bad as the evil that humans are capable of working...

    Jason Kristofer masterfully blends military fiction with that of the zombie apocalypse, yielding a genre that I was unfamiliar with, but unknowingly had been waiting for for a long time. He utilizes a lot of time and location jumps to keep the action moving, which was jarring at first, but I quickly grew accustomed to, and towards the end I couldn't put the book down. I needed to know what was going to happen in the next chapter, and the one after that... and the one after that, witnessing humanity's spiraling descent towards their own destruction.

    Absolutely worth picking up. I can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Amazing Zombie read!!!

    I have read a lot of zombie books, sci fi, fiction, history, etc. etc. books, but I have never read one quite like this. An absolutely amazing read! The story flowed and drew you into the plot. I literally could not put this book down. I was fortunate enough to meet the author this past weekend at the Seattle Zombcon where he was promoting his book. I was sold on it after discussing the book with him and the passion that he talked and described what the book was about. Can't wait for the next installment in this series! Kudos to Jason!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended for Zombie Lovers!

    Awesome book! Had a hard time putting it down. It sucks you in right away and leaves you wanting more! I can't wait for the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Astonishing Novel -Story Line

    This book was extremely difficult...to put down! With that said; I cannot express just how impressed I am with The Dying of the Light: End. The read was smooth and flowing; the characters were remarkable and realistic. Emotions of all types were felt while reading. Though I'm not a big Zombie fan, I am definitely a BIG fan of Jasons DOTL. I cannot wait to read the next installment. And will surely read this one again (and perhaps again) while waiting. Like a great movie (which I can see this becoming), there are those that I can watch over and over. I highly recommend this novel. Thank you, Jason Kristopher for bring this novel to Light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Fantastic read! It leaves you wanting more...

    If someone suggested I read a novel about zombies, I would have laughed at them. But this book is special, or I should say the author is special. He's a dear friend writing his first novel--a lifelong dream. I HAD to at least give it a shot. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. The book literally wowed me, and kept me wanting more. Your first thought when reading this is that I'm prejudiced, and to a degree, I am, but even if I never had the honor of knowing the author, I would still give him 5 stars.

    When we normally think of a zombie book and especially a movie, we think it's nothing more than another slasher of book/film. This book has few "gross you out" parts. It's not about the zombies, it's about the war that the government faces. It's about the men and women fighting that war, and the difficult choices that they have to make, including choices that are about their own friends, family, and even their significant others and children. It's about a world gone mad, and the fight for the human race to survive.

    When my step-daughter and I first finished the book, both our thoughts were to tell Jason to immediately start on the second novel. The first book left us wanting more. The entire time I was reading this, I kept thinking that this would make a great series (either television or movies.) It would be a travesty if this is not noticed by the James Camerons of the world.

    Give this book a "shot"--no pun intended--you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1