BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dying to Forget, Book 1 of The Station Series

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Different but good!

This book takes the reader into the head of the heroine of the story. She's a smart, sassy teen who wakes up to find herself in a place that is neither heaven or hell. It is a place where they enter the subconious of those who are contemplating suicide. If they don't...
This book takes the reader into the head of the heroine of the story. She's a smart, sassy teen who wakes up to find herself in a place that is neither heaven or hell. It is a place where they enter the subconious of those who are contemplating suicide. If they don't choose to take on this mission then they go to hell. I thought it fun to see how she acted in the minds of those she was helping. I enjoyed the book and would suggest it to my young friends.

posted by Virginian_by_Birth on January 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Starts out great but...

The premise for the book is great but half way through it becomes too flowery and perky and perfect. The idea of a person who commits suicide becoming a voice of reason for others contemplating it is a good one but the author totally glosses over the original suicide an...
The premise for the book is great but half way through it becomes too flowery and perky and perfect. The idea of a person who commits suicide becoming a voice of reason for others contemplating it is a good one but the author totally glosses over the original suicide and makes it seem like suicidal thoughts are not deep rooted. A few cups of fruit salad and jogging or a hair straightening and flirting with the school jock does not take the thoughts and hurt away yet that is what this author implies. The one strong subject matter of one helping his assignment commit the act is just done away with in one page with the assignment called needy. This makes it seem like all a suicidal person has to do is just think happy thoughts and everything is fine or someone who cannot be reached is needy not sick. The writer missed the mark majorly and does not need to deal with the subject matter of suicide without understanding and addressing the underlying issue of mental illness.

Also every single parental figure is horrible, either a drunk, sex crazed, or abandons their child. There is no positive parent figure and that just is unrealistic.

posted by 16968495 on October 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Starts out great but...

    The premise for the book is great but half way through it becomes too flowery and perky and perfect. The idea of a person who commits suicide becoming a voice of reason for others contemplating it is a good one but the author totally glosses over the original suicide and makes it seem like suicidal thoughts are not deep rooted. A few cups of fruit salad and jogging or a hair straightening and flirting with the school jock does not take the thoughts and hurt away yet that is what this author implies. The one strong subject matter of one helping his assignment commit the act is just done away with in one page with the assignment called needy. This makes it seem like all a suicidal person has to do is just think happy thoughts and everything is fine or someone who cannot be reached is needy not sick. The writer missed the mark majorly and does not need to deal with the subject matter of suicide without understanding and addressing the underlying issue of mental illness.

    Also every single parental figure is horrible, either a drunk, sex crazed, or abandons their child. There is no positive parent figure and that just is unrealistic.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Different but good!

    This book takes the reader into the head of the heroine of the story. She's a smart, sassy teen who wakes up to find herself in a place that is neither heaven or hell. It is a place where they enter the subconious of those who are contemplating suicide. If they don't choose to take on this mission then they go to hell. I thought it fun to see how she acted in the minds of those she was helping. I enjoyed the book and would suggest it to my young friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Anon

    Excellent start to a new series and a new plot line. I enjoyed the strange choice the main character is given after her suicide. Her death leads to self awareness and the ability to try to help others who are struggling with life issues. I felt the subject of suicide was not in any way encouraged as a way out of life's problems, but help was expressed in the form of fiction leading to satisfying resolutions. A good teen read that made you feel every emotion possible. Jp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    It would be 5 star, but,,,,,

    Because of the subject matter, it's hard to give 5 stars to a book about suicide. However, if you have experienced a loss due to that, the concept of them coming back in spirit form to save others from the same fate is captivating. Book 2 is on my list. Can't wait to see the end to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    It surprised me

    I liked this book more than I thought I would. I have to admit the only reason I kept reading it and bought the second book was because of Sloan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    Piper Willow is a teen in crisis. After enduring two very trauma

    Piper Willow is a teen in crisis. After enduring two very traumatic events, she makes a choice. A very bad choice. That choice leads her to a new "life" that is not at all what she was expecting. In some ways it is worse, because now she has to live with the consequences of what she has done.  She must spend eternity knowing that she has devastated her family and friends back home. 
    For the most part, I liked Piper. She jumps right into her new job without too much pouting. She's overconfident, bossy, and a bit arrogant, basically she's a teenager. She's also smart, strong willed, and caring, characteristics that serve her well in her new job. 
    There are a multitude of secondary characters in this story. I felt they all had a place and a purpose. My favorite is probably Sloan, Piper's first "assignment". We learn a lot about him while Piper works with him so he feels the most real of all the characters. I was left wanting to know more about everyone else; not a bad thing in the first book in a series. 
    While there are some hard themes dealt with here, I think they are handled fairly well. Anyone who has "been there" will see a bit of themselves somewhere along the way. Anyone who knows someone who has been there and wondered why, might understand better after reading this story. It's a tough subject to tackle but I'm glad that someone with TMD's talent took it on. 
    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes YA and/or life after death types of themes. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    Have you ever started reading a book and you just had a feeling

    Have you ever started reading a book and you just had a feeling it was going to be one of those that will keep you exactly what is going to happen?
    Well this book did it for me. As soon as Piper starts going upstairs with Ryan I kept screaming in my head GET OUT OF THERE!!! That is what seems to start the chain of events for Piper. She is no longer the same girl after what she goes through. Then when something tragic happens which causes her to end up dying, she is somewhere called the station. We find out it is neither Heaven or Hell but she has a choice. She can help others not end their life or go somewhere else and suffer in sorrow for the rest of her life. 
    Well what do you think Piper picks?
    You guess it she decides to help people.
    But her first person is not what she expects, then her second person lets just say Piper is getting the hang of things. That is until the ending. As soon as I saw the ending I was like WHAT! No way didn't see that coming at all. So now I HAVE to get my hands on book two because I need to see/read what is going to happen now. Plus I want to know more about the station. Need something new and different? Well get this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Wow

    Wow just shocking good story but a lot to take deep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Pretty good story

    A young girl finds herself stranded at an old railway station.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem

    Trish Marie Dawson explores the world or suicide. Where people take their own lives but get a reprieve. Their only other option is to sit in a dark room in their pain for eternity. We get to see Piper forgive and forget through out the series. She grows while helping others in a similar situation as herself. While helping others she also discovers something else very interesting....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Every once in a while, you come across a book that floors you.  

    Every once in a while, you come across a book that floors you.  Dying to Forget is one of those books.  When I initially got this, I was admittedly hesitant, given the subject matter.  By the end of just the prologue, I was emotional.  By the end of Chapter 1, I was sad.  By the end of Chapter 2, I was crying.  There was no leading up to it, but into the emotional heartbreak of the story with a bang.
    Some may question reading a book with that much sadness and emotional angst, even in the first few chapters, but it is that emotional pull that kept me riveted.  My heart was breaking for Piper, for Bree.  This is such a unique book, based by the author on a courageous theme.  The book is very much character-driven, an emotional journey through the mind of Piper and her charges.  




    But despite the emotional tugs in the story, it was incredible.  It was amazing to me how the author took the subject of suicide and managed to create a positive theme with it.  The pain and emotions of those who have committed suicide are in no way dismissed, degraded, or glamorized, but acknowledged and understood with compassion.  The Station is a way station for those who commit suicide, a place where they can make a choice... to help others on Earth that are suffering or to spend eternity wrapped in their own pain.  It is a part of their training to explore, understand, and accept the reasons and situations that led them to their own choice of suicide, allowing them to better help others.




    Things to love about Dying to Forget...




    Piper.  She's emotionally devastated at the beginning of the book, before and after her death.  But she finds the courage to face her fears, her doubts, her pain.  Amazing character.
    My recommendation:  This is a book that needs to be read to be understood, to fully appreciate the beauty of the story!  This is not a light, "feel good" read, but a heartfelt, emotional, beautiful story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    This was a good book. The storyline was nicely developed and had

    This was a good book. The storyline was nicely developed and had next to no typos, which is unusual for a free book. This had a unique and interesting storyline with a diverse dialogue. I enjoyed that it was a nice progression of sadness and depression to changing the world. I will definitely look for the next book. Very worth my while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Enjoyed this book. Will read more from this author.

    While at times it was sad, I felt that positive learning would prevail with the souls involved. Give this author a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Amaya

    This book was pretty good for being free and all. I'm looking forward for the next book to see what happens to Piper. Try it out if ya want to it't kinda good but there are some depressing parts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2