Customer Reviews for

Dying to Get Published

Average Rating 3.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I found this book to be a delight. It has a strong determined he

I found this book to be a delight. It has a strong determined heroine who is trying to do her best to become a mystery writer. She has a critique group of other aspiring writers who are zany, believable and an all-around group of people you wouldn't mind meeting. Jennif...
I found this book to be a delight. It has a strong determined heroine who is trying to do her best to become a mystery writer. She has a critique group of other aspiring writers who are zany, believable and an all-around group of people you wouldn't mind meeting. Jennifer may be a little obsessive but her heart is always in the right place. She might be able to write about murder, even plan a murder, but commit murder -- no way! The problem, of course, arises when she plans a murder but someone else carries it through - leaving her with no alibi and in a jail cell. Thank God she has friends! This is the kind of book you can read on vacation and people will look at you wondering what you are laughing at. Whether or not Jennifer will ever get published, we don't know, but I am sure you will be as glad as I am that Judy Fitzwater did.

posted by A_Daily_Reader on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did not keep my interest

Was hard to get involved in, and just didn't keep my interest!

posted by JLGD on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Recommended

    A fun read with the heroine of the story, Jennifer Marsh, an unpublished author of murder mysteries being a suspect in a real murder. Fans of the Ivy Malone series will like this, although a much younger heroine, Jennifer gets in and out fixes that she has created herself. No foul language or gory details of the murders.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book

    This was a fun read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Quick and entertaining read

    Funny story with easy to like characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Light entertainment

    This wasn't a gripping, can't-put-it-down type of book but it was entertaining nonetheless.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great plot- would recommend the book.

    The story line was good and entertaining and I enjoyed reading this book. It held my interest. A good short read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Good Free Read Jennifer Marsh is a mystery writer who cannot ge

    Good Free Read

    Jennifer Marsh is a mystery writer who cannot get her book published.  One day she comes up with this brilliant idea of why her
    manuscripts keep getting rejected, she needs to think like a murderer.  All she needs to do is find someone to kill. 

    She decides that she is going to kill the literary agent Penny Richmond.  All she needs to do is get herself locked up for the murder,
    and have herself a good alibi that the police cannot prove that she did not commit the murder.  Jenifer comes to her senses and
    realizes that she is not a murderer, but someone kills Penny, and Jennifer becomes the prime suspect.  How will she get herself
    out of this?
     
    This book at times had be laughing out loud, some of Jennifer antics were just outrageous.  Jennifer’s group of friends who are
    also writers were just as funny and she was, and then you have the old ladies who were just as fun with their sleuthing.  Oh, and
    don’t forget Sam Culpepper who writes for the Macon Telegraph, he has become a distraction, she likes him, but he is getting in the
     way of her plans.  In all I really did enjoy reading this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Good cozy

    Well written, good characters. Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Good free book

    Fun story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Dying to get published a good read

    This book will really appeal to writers, and people who want to write. The main character takes us into the world of those (potentionly millions, like me) who have written novels, screenplays and so forth and can't get published. She has created a funny female detective character who sleeps with everyone in her efforts to get information and has side job in circus to make ends meet. But the character is too much of a slut for the writer to proceed.

    The writer decides to stage a murder and have herself arrested so she will become famous before she is acquitted. As she starts her plan in motion, someone is murdered and she is the prime suspect. Now she does have experience being arrested, going to jail and being arraigned, but the reality is more than she wants as she tries to free herself.

    The author could have done more research on setting details inside a jail cell and let the reader feel what this is like. The reference is a bit too oblique.

    The plot is okay, and the characters are nice but not memorable. The author needs to do more on character development. Perhaps not fair, but memorable like Grafton's Kinsey Millhone or Evanovich's Stephanie Plum. And she needs to make her heroine a bit more quirky. I liked the book which I read two weeks ago but can 't remember much about the character. Her character also needs to be more sexually vibrant. Not a slut character, but one where you sense her sexual energy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Fun Read

    This was free on the nook so I thought I would give it a try. I have not heard of this author before. It was an enjoyable book, couldn't put it down. There are several books in this series. I will be reading them as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Good nook book

    Good nook book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Anonymous

    This was a creative, well written book. I recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Good book

    I enjoyed reading thid because of the constant moving of the story. Plus Trixie's constant ridiculous planning and scheming almost convince you that she is a little kookie when she is really quite intelligent with a very imaginative mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    good book

    I enjoyed this. suspenseful & good plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Enjoyed reading!

    The twist and turns made for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Fast paced

    Fast paced. Easy read that keeps you on your toes. Good writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    A fun read

    A quirky mystery with humor. Keeps the reader seeking the solution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Worth it!

    This was a very good book. Enjoyed from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Review

    Good book but with a very long plot. Just read the bool and it gets better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Recommended

    ?..

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2