Customer Reviews for

Dying to Please

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

FABULOUS &AWESOME STORY!!!! .ANOTHER FAVORITE ADDITION TO MY LINDA HOWARD BOOK COLLECTION

BY TORI: I LOVED IT FROM BEGINNING TO END! CAN'T PUT IT DOWN!!! IT HAS ALL THE COMPONENTS OF A GREAT ROMANCE NOVEL. IT'S WITTY, GREAT STORYLINE, VERY ROMANTIC,AND TENDER AND YET IT SOOOO HOT AND STEAMY!!! I FOUND MYSELF CRYING AT ONE POINT IN THE STORY WHERE SARAH FELT ...
BY TORI: I LOVED IT FROM BEGINNING TO END! CAN'T PUT IT DOWN!!! IT HAS ALL THE COMPONENTS OF A GREAT ROMANCE NOVEL. IT'S WITTY, GREAT STORYLINE, VERY ROMANTIC,AND TENDER AND YET IT SOOOO HOT AND STEAMY!!! I FOUND MYSELF CRYING AT ONE POINT IN THE STORY WHERE SARAH FELT SO ALONE AND NEEDS COMFORTING AND CAHILL CAN'T DO IT DUE TO CONFLICT OF INTEREST AS A COP. LINDA, THANK YOU FOR DOING SUCH A FABULOUS JOB FOR BEING SUCH A GREAT STORYTELLER. LOOKING FORWARD IN READING YOUR NEXT BOOK.

posted by 17443636 on September 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay For Me

This book is romantic suspense, heavy on the relationship drama and light on the suspense. I loved some parts. The dialogue/banter between the two main characters had me chuckling at times. I liked both characters and the storyline was interesting, if not a bit predicta...
This book is romantic suspense, heavy on the relationship drama and light on the suspense. I loved some parts. The dialogue/banter between the two main characters had me chuckling at times. I liked both characters and the storyline was interesting, if not a bit predictable.

Unfortunately, for me, too many things didn't work. I found the story dragged, with lots of repetitious inner thoughts about the merits of each character getting involved in a relationship with the other. I didn't actually see much of a relationship. The two characters only seemed to interact when having sex. Then, at the end when the killer is revealed, the story feels suddenly rushed. I didn't think the investigation aspect was well thought out or enacted. The last of several times that Sarah is considered a suspect verged on the ridiculous.

Overall, the drawbacks took away from otherwise great writing and made this on okay read.

posted by BookAddictFL on September 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    FABULOUS &AWESOME STORY!!!! .ANOTHER FAVORITE ADDITION TO MY LINDA HOWARD BOOK COLLECTION

    BY TORI: I LOVED IT FROM BEGINNING TO END! CAN'T PUT IT DOWN!!! IT HAS ALL THE COMPONENTS OF A GREAT ROMANCE NOVEL. IT'S WITTY, GREAT STORYLINE, VERY ROMANTIC,AND TENDER AND YET IT SOOOO HOT AND STEAMY!!! I FOUND MYSELF CRYING AT ONE POINT IN THE STORY WHERE SARAH FELT SO ALONE AND NEEDS COMFORTING AND CAHILL CAN'T DO IT DUE TO CONFLICT OF INTEREST AS A COP. LINDA, THANK YOU FOR DOING SUCH A FABULOUS JOB FOR BEING SUCH A GREAT STORYTELLER. LOOKING FORWARD IN READING YOUR NEXT BOOK.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down

    Great balance between suspense and romance. Very hot, not only just the story but the underlying sensual story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Paisley

    Happy valentines day!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just Okay For Me

    This book is romantic suspense, heavy on the relationship drama and light on the suspense. I loved some parts. The dialogue/banter between the two main characters had me chuckling at times. I liked both characters and the storyline was interesting, if not a bit predictable.

    Unfortunately, for me, too many things didn't work. I found the story dragged, with lots of repetitious inner thoughts about the merits of each character getting involved in a relationship with the other. I didn't actually see much of a relationship. The two characters only seemed to interact when having sex. Then, at the end when the killer is revealed, the story feels suddenly rushed. I didn't think the investigation aspect was well thought out or enacted. The last of several times that Sarah is considered a suspect verged on the ridiculous.

    Overall, the drawbacks took away from otherwise great writing and made this on okay read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    This is my favorite of all Linda Howard's books and got me started on all her other books I love her, her books are very hard to put down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Loved it!

    This is the first book I read by Linda Howard and I could not put it down. Although Sarah and Cahill's relationship progressed pretty quickly, I felt it was realistic, as opposed to two characters simply jumping into bed together. Yes, Cahill's got the protective cop thing going on, but I loved how Sarah held her own and was just as tough. She's definitely not weak and helpless, as you can see from the very first part of the book. I really enjoyed reading this and was sad when it was over...I wanted more! Sarah and Cahill are pretty hot together. Maybe Linda should write a second book with them :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2002

    Excellent romantic suspense

    She¿s young, beautiful and sensual. Sarah Stevens is the perfect butler cum bodyguard for retired federal Judge Roberts who has received numerous death threats during his time on the bench. When two burglars break into the judge¿s home, Sarah disarms them by tripping one thief and landing a knock out punch on the other. When Detective Cahill arrives on the scene, he¿s immediately attracted to Sarah and she to him, but they both fight it because of previous hurts and future plans. <P>Sarah¿s crime fighting stills displayed in her current assignment land her on the television news that leads to her coming to the attention of a wealthy businessman who decides he wants her all to herself. Towards that end, he tenders a job offer but when she turns it down he kills her employer, hoping Sarah will reconsider his offer. At first Detective Cahill considers her a suspect. When she is cleared they enter into a relationship that is destroyed when a second murder occurs. Again Sarah is the prime suspect. It is at this point that the stalker/killer makes his move. <P>Aside from her unique profession, the heroine is so self composed, content with her life, and sure that she can protect herself in any given situation that the audience can¿t help but adore her. The story line of DYING TO PLEASE is a fun combination police procedural¿romantic suspense tale that has plenty of allure to attract readers of both sub-genres. Linda Howard is at her all time best in this crime thriller that is filled with plenty of action, suspense and romance, giving it a mainstream appeal. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the suspense, good romance and dynamite ending.

    Loved the suspense, good romance and dynamite ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    B

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Haiden

    Ya both of u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    The guy is killing people so he can get a...BUTLER? What a bizar

    The guy is killing people so he can get a...BUTLER? What a bizarre premise! Not enough action from the supposed expert bodyguard/sharpshooter extraordinaire-her character was weak. The cop wasn't bad. The whole premise, though was so silly that I was turned off almost from the start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Paisly

    He sexiicant sleepmore sexi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Here for u par...

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    My favorite

    It was great, her strong female leads never cease to please me :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great Book

    Love all Linda Howard's books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Great

    Linda Howard has not written a book I have not liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Recommended

    Linda Howard books are always entertaining & a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Great Read

    Linda,

    "Dying to Please" had a great story line. I would have absolutely loved it had it not been the overuse of the "f" word, and the explicit sex. How many times can you say "his ding-dong was going up and down like a yo-yo?" Or, "he couldn't sit down because he was so stiff." GIVE ME A BREAK !

    I do have a question: do all of your books have the above mentioned flaws ? I would love to read your books, if there is not this overuse of sex. Incidentally, I can see where you make it a longer book. By at least 25%.

    Sincerely,
    Helen

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Hero

    So, LH is always good for lots of story and a little nookie. This book was no exception. A little more violent and real life but still good. I like the guy a lot in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Romatic/Thriller

    This is the first time I think I have read one of her books and it won't be the last. In fact I really need to get to the book store and hunt for some more. The romance between the main characters is great , plus I of course liked the ending with the killer. I would love to find more books with these characters in them, even though I'm sure there aren't.
    A great book, highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6