BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dying to Read (Cate Kinkaid Files Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Great Light Mystery!!

Lorena McCourtney is a mystery writer I love to read. Her characters are interesting and at times, downright funny. She keeps it on the light side which I like. Good reading.

posted by 16962316 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

!

Another book ruined by plot spoilers bragging how they got the book for free for their 'honest' review. Well, they wanted a review, not a cliff note, rewritten book revealing the entire book. I refuse to buy a book after yiu rude selfish egotistical ppl tell eveything t...
Another book ruined by plot spoilers bragging how they got the book for free for their 'honest' review. Well, they wanted a review, not a cliff note, rewritten book revealing the entire book. I refuse to buy a book after yiu rude selfish egotistical ppl tell eveything that happens in a book. I seriously doubt the author or the publisher appreciates you telling the entire plot line costing them sales.

posted by 8888649 on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    !

    Another book ruined by plot spoilers bragging how they got the book for free for their 'honest' review. Well, they wanted a review, not a cliff note, rewritten book revealing the entire book. I refuse to buy a book after yiu rude selfish egotistical ppl tell eveything that happens in a book. I seriously doubt the author or the publisher appreciates you telling the entire plot line costing them sales.

    37 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I am in agreement with those who will Not Buy a book due to too

    I am in agreement with those who will Not Buy a book due to too Much Information on the review. I enjoy stories and read books of all kinds. Still when I see a book report in the customer Review section that details the entire book, I get very fustrated. This needs to stop.

    12 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Why buy?

    Why buy this book when it seems almost all readers got it free in exchange for a puffed up and overlong book - report.

    8 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Inspirational is one of the new genre combos now in mysteries

    My library does label these if it is very obvios even cowboy but if iit is a strong story with a church minister they dont for a very funny religios series sbout a church organist the choir and a lot of vicars read the tenor wore tap shoes mystery series the goody two shoes stuff is usually found in the romantic hallmark made into tv movies mostly nondenomenational more and more genre combo at least no receipes M A of Wi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Full disclosure needed

    The fact that this book has a Christian bent to it should have been disclosed in the overview. I don't personally need praying in a mystery novel. I stoppef teading at the first "let us pray.". Waste of my money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Horrible

    This book sucks who ever thinks so to should write back this book needs a totall raincheck this book needs to get burned in a fire it totally sucks butt who ever read this horeible book eyes ahould be burning and you might want to let a doctor take a look at that eyes of yours good luck to who ever read this stupid dying to read book so thats all i had to say so adeious am nmgos

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    It is a cute premise but...

    There were so many blind alleys and red herrings at such a rapid fire pace I felt like I was watching a berserk Roomba run through a crowded parlor. I never connected with the characters, many of whom were little more than names on a page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Good Writer, Unfortunate Tendency to Push Religious Beliefs

    This is a very good writer, but the frequent, and unnecessary, references to God and prayer leave the reader with an uneasy feeling of being unwantedly proselytized. Regrettably, I will avoid this author in future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Can't share Nook Books!

    Once again although this book was an easy enjoyable read I can't share it with anyone! I'm Tired of buying books sometimes at a premium that B&N will not allow me to share!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    A bad day

    If some of you went to leave you mom and stay with your dad it's ok . I am in the same why because my mom do not talk to me . She love me and i love me but so do not talk to me. And that make me made and i am still trying to find out what i did.and if she is made because i got in a fight at school. O well because the boy was messing with me first and so i was fighting him.yes i love my mom but i would like to stay with my dad and not my mom yes i will come and over when my dad come over. I went to stay with my dad more then staying with my mom. And i think that will help me behavior and help my grades

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    boring and unlikeable characters

    I picked this one up because of the Ivy Malone book, but I'm sorry I wasted my time with it. Cate Kincaid is barely a character, and what there is of her is not at all interesting. Even more irritating are the stylistic issues of the writing, namely loads of disconnected fragment-phrases trying to masquerade as sentences. I'm just glad this one was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    From roxie

    This is bull shet u bicth dont u think.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1