Customer Reviews for

Dying to Read (Cate Kinkaid Files Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Great Light Mystery!!

Lorena McCourtney is a mystery writer I love to read. Her characters are interesting and at times, downright funny. She keeps it on the light side which I like. Good reading.

posted by 16962316 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

!

Another book ruined by plot spoilers bragging how they got the book for free for their 'honest' review. Well, they wanted a review, not a cliff note, rewritten book revealing the entire book. I refuse to buy a book after yiu rude selfish egotistical ppl tell eveything t...
Another book ruined by plot spoilers bragging how they got the book for free for their 'honest' review. Well, they wanted a review, not a cliff note, rewritten book revealing the entire book. I refuse to buy a book after yiu rude selfish egotistical ppl tell eveything that happens in a book. I seriously doubt the author or the publisher appreciates you telling the entire plot line costing them sales.

posted by 8888649 on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    I'm a huge fan of Lorena McCourtney's books. Her imagination is

    I'm a huge fan of Lorena McCourtney's books. Her imagination is unlimited when it comes to new plots and this book is no exception. I always try to guess whodunit as I read along and everytime she fools me and gives me an unexpected surprise and twist. Keep it up Ms. McCourtney. I can hardly wait for the next book in the Cate Kincaid series.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Move Over Janet Evanovich!

    Move over, Janet Evanovich! An unemployed Cate Kincade’s life is a mess: her social life, career, and haircut. Her PI uncle hires her to do her first assignment as an inexperienced private investigator. All she has to do is locate someone. But, of course, after she finds the person she can’t walk away. She goes from one predicament to a more complicated predicament and on and on. Some kooky characters, a murder mystery, and a budding romance move this cozy mystery along. The dialogue is witty and the action is snappy, making this a page-turner. The laugh-out-loud moments are delightful. Cate Kincade will be around for a long time. Can’t wait for her next adventure.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Fairness

    Is it fair to the author to rate down a book because you dont like a reviewer? Rate the book not the reviews.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    JOIN YOUR BOOK CLUB CAREFULLY. . .

    Cate Kinkaid is ...ummm....going through a career crisis. She always intended to be a teacher, but after graduating from college with a degree in education, she discovered that she just isn't a good teacher. She has had some interesting jobs since then, but nothing permanent. While waiting for something to turn up, she has accepted an offer from her uncle to work in his PI firm. Nothing too exciting; just an address confirmation. But when the address confirmation turns up a dead body and a long list of suspects, Cate finds her temp position to be more exciting than she ever imagined.

    Yay! This "cozy little mystery" turned out to be good! Certain phrases often worry me, and that's one of them. And to perfectly honest, I often worry about Christian fiction. Anyone who has read my reviews in the past already knows that, but I just have to say it; in the past, authors have had a hard time combining Christian values with either romance, murder, or dishonesty. They usually went heavy handed with the values and soft-soaped the "bad stuff". NEWS FLASH: It's a real world and bad stuff happens. So, when an author comes along like Ms. McCourtney and manages to realistically portray Christians in a real world, I'm happy. I know it's still fiction, and it's still a "cozy" mystery, but it's not too cozy. And that's the way I like my mysteries.

    5 stars

    “Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Cate is a young woman trying to find her place in this world --

    Cate is a young woman trying to find her place in this world -- and stumbling. When her uncle takes pity on her, she decides to help him out a little until someone answers one of the flurry of resumes she's submitted. But, things get pretty messy fast. Instead of a quick skip trace, Cate finds murder and a whole host of suspects including a ladies book club, a rich power couple and a particularly handsome handyman. Can she make her uncle proud or will she fail miserably at this, too?

    Lorena McCourtney is a very gifted writer. And this cozy mystery drew me in from the first page and kept me reading until the end. Cate is quirky, likable and I'm afraid I identified a little too closely with her bumbling -- but tenacious -- efforts to complete her mission.

    McCourtney's works always have a redeeming storyline, too. They are the ultimate feel-good cozy. In fact, I've read books from her Ivy Malone and her Andi McConnell series and loved them, too. If you like cozies, you'll love Dying to Read.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    DONT POST IF YOU HAVENT READ THE BOOK!!

    This is a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Move Over Plum....Make Room For KinKaid!

    This is the first book by Lorena McCourtney that I've had the pleasure of reading. I have to say that she is extremely talented and definitely knows what to give her readers when it comes to captivating, page-turning mystery! From start to finish, Ms. McCourtney held my attention and didn't let it go for anything! Cozy mysteries are always the best and this book is definitely a wonderful cozy mystery, along with being a great start to a sure-to-be exciting series! Mx. McCourtney introduces us to assistant PI Cate Kinkaid. What Cate thought was a simple task given to her by her uncle turned out to be so much more! Sent to the home of an elderly lady to check on her, Cate finds herself a dead body....and among a group of mystery loving suspects. She's not entirely convinced that the body found wasn't murdered. That's where the fun loving, often laughable moments come in as she seeks the clues to the puzzle, getting help from (and feeling some beyond professional feelings for!) the oh-so-cute Mitch, and dealing with a cat that can't hear a thing she says. Cate Kinkaid is sort of a Stephanie Plum of the Christian variety. Not officially licensed as a PI but definitely having the guts and attitude to jump in and tackle the situation.....err, ummm....situations that run amuck, and make the reader say 'seriously?!'???.... head on. I can definitely see this series gaining quick popularity and becoming a competition for the Plum series! And, I have to say, with the charming Mitch (and is he ever charming-definitely better than any Ranger or Morelli!) and the kitty of an unusual kind(um, yea. Don't ask!), you definitely get the laughs in this page-turning cozy! Oh and we can't forget Willow!!! Willow is a character that will make the reader feel like they are experiencing deja vu! I definitely recommend this laugh-out-loud, edge-of-seat, witty, charming mystery read to all those out there that are looking for a fast-paced story. It is 5 Book worthy, attention grabbing and filled with messages of faith, understanding and self discovery! I'll definitely be excited to read the next Cate Kinkaid File installment! Well done, Ms. McCourtney! *This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review*

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    I’ve read every book in the Ivy Malone mystery series b



    I’ve read every book in the Ivy Malone mystery series by Lorena McCourtney I could get my hands on so jumped at the chance to enjoy Dying to Read, a novel that revolves around the Whodunit Book Club and a murder.
    Job hunting, Cate Kincaid was hired to help her private investigator uncle while he recovers from surgery. Cate’s assignment is to find a granddaughter so the she can collect her inheritance. At the first stop—a place where the granddaughter previously was employed, Cate stumbles on a body.
    I seems logical to this young inexperienced PI that the rich woman died because someone pushed her down the stairs. But on the other hand, there were sleeping pills and evidence she walked in her sleep. So the police don’t list the death as a homicide.
    But clues keep popping up that show a whole bunch of people had reason to want the woman dead and Cate finds herself getting involved in trying to solve the murder.
    Contrary to the good sense God gave her and warnings from her new male friend, Mitch, Cate keeps snooping around because of the dead woman’s cat and the need to complete the job her uncle assigned her—find the young heiress.
    In classic Lorena McCourtney style this evolves into a great mystery that especially at the end keeps the reader awake at night and eyes open a while after the book has ended.
    The may be the best book the author has done yet. I recommend it.
    I was provided a review copy by the author and Revell Publishing, but opinions here are my own.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    A very enjoyable Christian mystery novel! Cate is a sweet bumbl

    A very enjoyable Christian mystery novel!

    Cate is a sweet bumbling PI. She fell into the job working for her uncle. With no training and his assurance that the assignment he has given her is routine she heads out. She only has to determine that a certain woman lives at a particular address. When she arrives at the house though, she is dismayed to discover a dead body. Is there really a mystery to solve or is her imagination running away with her. 

    This is how the merry chase for information begins. In addition to having no training Cate finds another problem in that she has no instincts for the work.

    It was a lot of fun to meet Cate and the other characters in this book. Lorena developed a wide variety of personalities along with their crazy quirks. I loved seeing what all trouble Cate managed to get into, much of it was her own making. Just as enjoyable was finding out how she got out of each situation.

    I’m looking forward to reading the other novels about Cate, as well as, the other series Lorena McCourtney has written. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    LOVE THIS AUTHOR!!

    This is another example of Lorena McCourtney's talent - she develops the characters in a fashion that you can't wait for the next page! Enjoyed everyone of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    To the news paper

    Info wolfclan and the kk are both getting ready to attack each other wolfclan at jfk eight result. <p> the kk the last leader silverclaw has fallen know a new leader is in her place know as fox <p>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Romance Novels

    I like curling up on the couch and reading a good romance book. I love romance storys.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I love Lorena McCourtney's Writing

    My first time reading Lorena's work was "Invisible". It was a free book and sounded like my kind of story. I read it in about a week's time (work and sleep had to be fit in somewhere) and laughed and enjoyed it thoroughly. I promptly went to the Nook store and purchased or marked for my wish list every one of her books!

    She did not disappoint in this new series. She Takes on the private investigation world with her humor and suspense throughout the whole book. I'm looking forward to her next installment in this series. I really like her style of writing and will forever be a fan of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Calud

    I love this book so much it is kind of remantic and sad but i still like it though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I thought this was a really good book. It was a light read and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    ?

    Is this a kids book

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lorena McCourtney in her new book ¿Dying to Read¿ Book One in Th

    Lorena McCourtney in her new book “Dying to Read” Book One in The Cate
    Kinkaid Files series published by Revell Books introduces us to Cate
    Kinkaid. From the Back Cover: All she wanted was a paycheck. What she
    got was a murder. Cate Kinkaid’s life is . . . well, frankly it’s
    floundering. Her social life, her career, her haircut–they’re all a
    mess. Unemployed, she jumps at the chance to work for her PI uncle, even
    though she has no experience and no instincts. After all, she is just
    dabbling in the world of private investigating until she can find a
    “real” job. All she has to do for her first assignment is determine
    that a particular woman lives at a particular address. Simple, right?
    But when she reaches the dark Victorian house, she runs into an hungry
    horde of gray-haired mystery readers and a dead body. This routine PI
    job is turning out to be anything but simple. Is Cate in over her head?
    The classic murder mystery tales are not dead they just took a long
    siesta that’s all. However, with “Dying to Read” nap time is over and
    it is time to do some serious investigating. There have always been
    amateur sleuths, most of them knew what they were doing this is the
    first time I have ever found an investigator that really didn’t have a
    clue as to what to do. Ms. McCourtney has given us a prize in Cate
    Kincaid. She is just a lot of fun and we are with her as she is just
    like us as most of us would not know what to handle an investigation
    either. This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not
    recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you
    sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. McCourtney is an
    excellent writer who knows how to twist your nerve endings as she
    tightens the suspense. I recommend this book, and I am glad I have
    found Lorena McCourtney and am looking forward to the next book in this
    series. If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors
    and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are
    available On Demand. To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free
    Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell
    Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The
    opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance
    with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides
    Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
    Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a
    division of Baker Publishing Group.

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2