BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do about It

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A "must buy" for the sole practitioner or small business

You need to buy this book if you're a small business person or a sole practitioner or artist of any sort thinking of starting a small business. Gerber has a very important concept that is so often overlooked: to turn yourself from an artisan to a business person, you ...
You need to buy this book if you're a small business person or a sole practitioner or artist of any sort thinking of starting a small business. Gerber has a very important concept that is so often overlooked: to turn yourself from an artisan to a business person, you need to stop working IN your business and start working ON your business.

The best way, he says, to think of this is to imagine if you had to "franchise" your business. Is the way you're doing things systematic enough that it can be replicated all over the country? In reality, of course, the odds that you WILL franchise your business are negligible, but the same method of thinking will allow you to:
...expand your business to include more employees
...allow you to go on VACATION with a free and easy conscience
....allow someone else to pick up the slack if you fall ill.

There are some other good points in here (the value of consistency, etc.) A definite must read for the small business owner.

Having said all this, I am not really sure why Gerber "revisited" his original E-myth. If you can find a copy of the original, it was even better, lacking the superfluous "sarah" character who mars and confuses this revised edition slightly.

posted by HyperionDn on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not for everyone......

I think that this book over-simplifies some businesses. If you are the owner of a "service" based type of business, (a few examples would be, a decorator, investigator, massage therapist etc.....), it is not as easy as to say that one can hire unskilled labor to run suc...
I think that this book over-simplifies some businesses. If you are the owner of a "service" based type of business, (a few examples would be, a decorator, investigator, massage therapist etc.....), it is not as easy as to say that one can hire unskilled labor to run such a business. There are many businesses owned by people, which "their" creativity/skill cannot be duplicated, like "putting pickles on a bun". There are a few ideas that may be of value for some people from this book, but unless you are actually "making" something in your business, this book doesn't have as much value. If you want to "franchise" your business or buy a franchise - read it. If you are the "person" that your business is about (again, examples that were given previously), you cannot expect to pay unskilled labor to duplicate your work, you will have to pay dearly for skilled-degreed/certified people, not to mention if your business involves going into other peoples homes, the environment cannot be duplicated either. I would suggest if you have a "creative" "service" business and need help to try to find a mentor in your field, or call a local trade school/college for help because this book won't.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A "must buy" for the sole practitioner or small business

    You need to buy this book if you're a small business person or a sole practitioner or artist of any sort thinking of starting a small business. Gerber has a very important concept that is so often overlooked: to turn yourself from an artisan to a business person, you need to stop working IN your business and start working ON your business.

    The best way, he says, to think of this is to imagine if you had to "franchise" your business. Is the way you're doing things systematic enough that it can be replicated all over the country? In reality, of course, the odds that you WILL franchise your business are negligible, but the same method of thinking will allow you to:
    ...expand your business to include more employees
    ...allow you to go on VACATION with a free and easy conscience
    ....allow someone else to pick up the slack if you fall ill.

    There are some other good points in here (the value of consistency, etc.) A definite must read for the small business owner.

    Having said all this, I am not really sure why Gerber "revisited" his original E-myth. If you can find a copy of the original, it was even better, lacking the superfluous "sarah" character who mars and confuses this revised edition slightly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Book E Myth was recommended to me by a good friend. He insisted that I read this book before I go into unchartered territories of starting my new business. I thank him everyday for pushing me to read this book. If you ever have thoughts of becoming a small business owner,or currently have a small business make sure to read this book. Michael E. Gerber must be physic, because it seemed as if he was reading my mind. The clarity in which he talks about why most individuals start a business was phenomenal. The way he described the average small business owner and there struggles really hit home. I re-evaluated my entire plan and thanks to Michael E Gerber and E Myth Revisited, my business has been successful from the start. Great Book, would encourage all entrepreneurs current and future to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Excellent read, but supposedly supporting website is disappointing

    Michael E Gerber's "The E-Myth Revisited" is an informative read, especially suited for the new entrepreneur / engineer or technician contemplating starting their dream business. The material brings to light a number of, "Oops I never thought of that", gotchas that are often the driving cause of business failure. My only reasons for not giving five stars, is that the referenced website is really no more than a paid services storefront, with no easily available synopsis or other material. I also think the book would have been better, had it included a set of appendices, that brought the various points together in a concise outline form, so that the reader could easily apply the process, without repeatedly reading through the book to find the area of current interest. Worth buying, just could be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Life Changing!

    My husband and I have both read this book and it has absolutely changed our lives. This is an absolute MUST READ for any business owner or aspiring entrepreneur. Easy to read and understand, this book provides simple, yet profound, solutions to implement into your own business (and life). If you follow Michael Gerber's guidelines, he will help you lay down a solid foundation for your business, assist you in defining your future (outside of the business), give you the ability to streamline your business' processes so that your business can operate regardless of whether or not you are there, and much, much more. SIMPLY AMAZING.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    American Common Sense

    This book is striking from the beginning because it was like a refreshing breeze on a hot and humid summer day. In an age where many businesses are chaotic, without vision, and without direction this book reminds us of the power, and wealth-building potential, of engineering, uniformity, and simplicity. While the book is targeted to small business many of the biggest corporations can definitely benefit from its wisdom. Some of the worlds' most famous franchises are evidence the utility of an engineered approach to business. In my opinion this should be required reading, and mastery of concept, for any executive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Before you quit your job, read this book

    If you are ever asking the questions, "Why dont I start my own business," or " Why do I continue to work for this crazy company," then you need to pick this book up and you are thinking about starting your own business, then this book is for you.

    This book is also for people who have a small business and are trying to make it grow.

    This book does what other books do not do. It describes people who are real good at a skill and say, it is time to start my own business. And after 4 months or so in, they are burnt out mad, unsuccessful and wonder why.

    This book is not a technical boring book. It is a real easy read and it is very pratical. I recommend this book before you quit your job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    Innovative thinking

    Book is an easy read and gives you tools for digesting problems with your company. It gives an interesting perspective to the makings and success of a small business, could even be applied to a medium size business. <BR/><BR/>The prototype is a lot of work and the detail envolved and why the prototype is needed is clear cut. Most of what is said is common sense, but we all need direction to get our minds thinking - it is a great guide for bigger things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Outstanding

    This might be the best book ever in terms of learning how a successful business runs around a 'system'. He uses great examples throughout the book. Using Sara as a backbone example, I like the way she tries to explain what she just learned in her own words (sometimes helps the point he just made 'click'). Make sure you have a highlighter for this one so you can keep track of all the useful information when coming up with your own system for your business! This book is priceless!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for ANYONE who owns a business or has a job

    This book explains the way business SHOULD be done. It tells how every business and every employer need to set-up and run their business. People need to quit thinking about their business or job how they would do it, and instead think of how to make it simple for someone else to do it. With a simple change in the way you look at your business or job, you can make huge, drastic changes in your happiness and productivity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    The E Myth Revisited by Michael E. Gerber stresses the importance of planning, organizing and running a small business with ethics, excellence, and a sense of responsibility to the owner, employees and the public. It makes the case for living, working and running a business from the best in us, doing what we love and giving back!

    I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    Easy Read, Great Resource

    Had started the original version from a friend and decided to get my own. Fantastic resource with modern day examples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do about It by Michael E. Gerber Average Reader Rating: E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small businesses Don't Work and What to Do about it by Michael Gerber

    A must have/must read for ALL small business owners and prospective entrepreneurs! I wish I would have read this book when I started my company over 16 years ago, it could have saved me a lot of unnecessary "brain damage"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    How to Build (or Repair) Your Small Business

    Most small businesses fail within their first two years, and the success rate after that isn't much better. In this book, author Michael Gerber shows why that is, and what can be done about it. Gerber begins with the reason most businesses are started in the first place (because an individual feels like they could do something better than their current company) and proceeds to explain the mistakes that most business owners make while starting and growing their business. Gerber shows that it is only through building and refining a system that a business can survive and thrive with or without its owner. The E-Myth is a great compliment to Kiyosaki's Rich Dad books, which speak to the philosophy of building wealth without getting much into the specifics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    All Present & Future Business Owners Should Read This

    Michael Gerber has done a great job in explaining why 10 out of 12 small businesses fail within 2 years after they're opened. This is an easy read that contains insightful and practical messages for business owners. There are three components to a business (technician, manager, entrepreneur). The problem with most businesses is they focus most of their time on the technical component of the business. Gerber uses a woman who bakes pies to illustrate. She may feel that since she makes the best pies in town, this will drive masses of people through the door. The problem is that couldn't be farther from the truth! Sales and Marketing bring customers to your business. This is part of the entrepreneurial hat the business owner must also wear. E-Myth is fantastic so if you want to decrease your chances of becoming a statistic, I recommend purchasing this book ASAP! - Dr. Matthew J. Loop (Author of 'Cracking the Cancer Code')

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    A concise guide for entrepreneurs and other dreamers

    Business owners typically learn about corporate pitfalls the hard way. After falling into a professional pit, entrepreneurs are forced to yank themselves up by their fraying bootstraps. Fortunately, Michael E. Gerber provides a well-written tutorial about business plans, strategic growth and employee management. He delivers an elegant dose of reality with strategic examples, concrete numbers and marketing insights. At times, some of the examples and scenarios are a bit sappy and repetitive, but the book scores points for delivering difficult lessons in bite-sized portions. We recommend this book to entrepreneurs and other dreamers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    What Every Entrepreneur Should Know About Their Business

    Michael Gerber's E-myth Revisited is a work of genius. Every entrepreneur at one point or another thinks that the only way their business will succeed is if they do all the work themselves. The key to any effective small business is to create a system that can exist without the owner's direct involvement, and that is what the E-myth Revisited teaches you. Michael Gerber's advice helped me grow my eBay business, Koss DVD, to over $1,000,000 in sales and become a top 200 seller on eBay. Read this book and prepare to take your business to the highest level! - Corey Kossack, author of eBay Millionaire or Bust

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    Found In Space

    I was at full attention for the entire CD set. The points were honed, driven home, and reviewed in Gerber's systematic style. Motivational, practical, encouraging and deeply knowledgeable Michael Gerber is passionate about providing readers and listeners with essential tools, and means of how to attain preparedness for the exciting ventures in ownership of oneself, and one's business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    A true how-to

    Gerber sums it up by saying, 'it's simple, but not easy.' This system can be applied to absolutely any business, but there are no short cuts to building a business that gives you the freedom all of us who decide to work for ourselves seek. There's a reason why so many top business coaches -- including my own -- consider this required reading for themselves as well as their clients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Good book

    I found the e-myth to be a good book. It covered why businesses fail as well as how to structure a franchies business. I think the book made some important points about things to be aware of for entrepreneurs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    How did he know me so well?

    This book was like a lightning bolt striking me and waking me up. Every sentence felt as if he was personally writing this book to ME. Every mistake he described -- well, I made it. But now I have a much greater understanding of what I am going to do to transform my business (a dental practice) to make it into the practice/business of my dreams. Structure, goals, future-orientation but how to go about it NOW. I simply cannot recommend this book highly enough for any businessperson who has struggled and not known why. Even if you have known why, but didn't know how to go about fixing it, this book will push you hard in the right direction. I'm recommending it to every businessperson I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3