Customer Reviews for

E.A.R.L.: The Autobiography of DMX

Average Rating 5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    February 2010 - Great Read

    I finally got around to reading this book and was not let down. I've always been a fan of DMX, and ever since I saw him perform live I became more interested in his story. Sure, a lot of his lyrics are rough and receive a lot of bad press for being violent, but he also has another side to his music that is deep and spiritual. All of his songs have meaning that connect to his real life. Without a doubt, this is a well written and emotional book where the reader will sympathize with D through his good and bad. Highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    NICK WIEMELT It's astonishing how DMX (Earl Simmons) overcame an

    NICK WIEMELT
    It's astonishing how DMX (Earl Simmons) overcame an extremely troubled childhood to become one of the most admired icons in 
    hip-hop music. When you watch a famous person on T.V. or listen to them on the radio the first thing that you think about is how rich 
    and famous they are, but you never think about how much they've been through. DMX went through many traumatic things in his life 
    such as being beaten by his mom, going in and out of jail, and being addicted to crack. He was far from shy in sharing the memories
    of his life, good and bad in this autobiography. As a child, DMX was abused by his mother and didn't have anyone to take care of him
    except for his grandmother, which his mother rarely allowed him to see. Growing up in the projects of Yonkers didn't make it any easier
    for him either. However, his passion for music opened a brand new door for him, which completely turned his life around. I really
    enjoyed this book, I couldn't stop reading it once I started. Autobiographies are my favorite types of books to read because they can teach
    a person a lot about life in general. Learning not only from your mistakes, but from other people's mistakes is crucial in succeeding in life.
    I liked this book in particular because it was very in depth. DMX tells the story of his life and finds a way to make it interesting and 
    intriguing. Most of the autobiographies that I've read are boring and don't keep me hooked, this one is different. I give this book five stars
    hands down, it is amazing! I recommend this book to anyone who is a DMX fan, everyone who likes to read about someone else's life,
    and everyone who is interested in knowing more about DMX. This book showed that you can achieve your goals through hard-work and
    dedication, also that what doesn't kill you makes you stronger. The life of DMX is an intense story that I suggest you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    This was the most detailed and well written biography i have rea

    This was the most detailed and well written biography i have read about any hip hop artist. It was great fans should read it'll shed some light on the artist that the music doesnt even capture than this book does

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    One of the best books to read to appreciate life and value things.

    DMX shows the value of life. The struggles he lived, he tries to show you the reader what life can be if your like him. Having no dad to give love and a mom who was to busy doing other things; DMX turns to a dog for love.
    A dog which is a mans best friend becomes DMX's best friend. Good Book to read for those who like real life stories. It's recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Hard life but easy future

    I think that Earl Simmons did a great job with the title of his autobiography. The title E.A.R.L. stands for ''Ever Always Real Life'' and that title explains his whole life with four words. I actually enjoyed this book and the title got me intrested in it because i wanted to know what the E.A.R.L. meant. DMX real name is Earl Simmons and thats where he got the title of the book from. In this book Earl talks about how his life was bad and how rapping changed his whole life around. DMX was a bad person and made plenty of mistakes and regrets some of them but still continue's his life. Alot of people didnt show DMX [Earl Simmons] support when he 1st started rapping but when he challeged someone on the corner and beat them in a freestyle match, his fame became big. When his popularity became big alot of people started to show him love and Earl didn't like that because when he wasn't popular people didn't show him any. His title is Ever Always Real Life and that means that,people won't show you love until your a celeberty or someone famous and that really pissed him off, because there were alot of times when he was poor an he asked alot of people can they help him and they couldn't even give him a dime, now that he's a famous rapper they want to show him some love. His father was never around to show him what's right and what's wrong, so that put his mother in a difficult position, she had to take care of him and his little sister and pay the rent, and work 2 or 3 jobs. His mother was a very hard working independent strong women who wouldn't accept anything from anybody because she knew that the lord will take care of her and her family. Earl was a talkative student and his mouth got him into alot of trouble in the classroom and with the police. This book takes place in his birthhood Yonkers, New York.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Couldn't put this book down, each page explained why DMX is DMX!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    long live dmx

    i finished this book in 3 days. just hearing about x's life from him makes me respect him even more as an artist and a person.good book for anybody

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    amazing

    I have read this book atleast 2-3 times everytime i read it i learn something new. This book got deep into dmx's childhood his imagination, feelings and redemption. I was trully great to see this from a rapper. I felt like i was sitting right next to him while he was telling the author how he was feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I have read mostly through all of this book and I got all the wayto when he gets out fo jail and then randomly someone stole this book out of my car.. SO i haven't finished it yet but what I read is amazing how far DMX has come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    Exiting, yet Honest!!

    I thought this was an outstanding book that should be read by all that don't understand. If you don't listen to rap you don't know what they're comming from, but I think this book shows its not always people who like to swear and talk dirty. But it is people who have true storys that are being expressed in a true art form. [Great Book]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Straight forward and honest, when i first read this book i read it in two days. Although i could not get tired of reading this book (7th time reading it) please come out with another. I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS BOOK ! I LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    SHOCKING/CRAZY/EVERYTHING I EXPECTED AND MORE

    This book is so so so so so so good.When u read this book u wont want to put it down,u can truly feel his emotions when u read it,when hes upset u are to etc.When ur towards the end of this book you'll just never want to finnish it,you'll want it to go on and on and on.I love this book with all my heart!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    X gonna give it to ya!!!

    After purchasing this book as a DMX music fan i soon found my self living his life through the book. This book shows what he has come throught to pursue his one and only live long dream. Any real DMX fan will appreciate this book and remember: Ever Always Real Life!!!!! Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    This book was amazing! It gets 5 stars for me...

    I HAVE SO MUCH IN COMMON WITH EARL SIMMONS (AKA) DMX. HIS BOOK WAS GOOD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    this book is gr8

    this is a gr8 book. he has a lot to tell... buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    X has entered the building.

    E.A.R.L is one of the best books I have read in a long time. I appreciate the chance to read about and gain a better understanding of the man behind the music. DMX is a talented and gifted man. The book left me wanting to know more about him. Keep up the work we love you X.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    X gon' give it to ya'

    I Personally have not read this, but i have read a lot about it. And X is my role model i look up to, so i think i will enjoy learning more about him. Much love to X. Peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    IM THA #1 FAN OF X DAT EVEN I HAVE CHANGED MY NAME INTO X

    I HAVE NT READ DIS BOOK YET BUT I KNO DAT IT LL BE DA ANSWER TO DA PEOPLE DAT Y I LUV X.I LUV HIM SINCE HE STARTED HIS CAREER AS A RAPPER BUT I DONT LUV HIM CUZ HE IS A RAPPER OR HIS SONG ARE GOOD BUT I LUV HIM CUZ I UNDERSTAND HIS WORDS. I M ALSO GONNA OPEN AN AGENCY HERE IN PAKISTAN ON HIS NAME N SOMEDAY I LL MEET HIM N SHOW HIM DA PATH IN WHICH HIS SOUL WILL GET PEACE.GOD BLESS HIM [AMEN].

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    wat i thot!!!

    dmx 2 me has been my biggest idol scince i can remember and when he came out w/ his biography i had 2 it but i thot i can never read that many pages but once i got it i couldnt put it down and have no regrets buying it because it was the best book in the world and b4 that i had never read a book more than 25 pages long by myself and raed this 1 in about 5 days b/c once u put it down ucant stop thinking whats gonna heppen next. SO BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    DMX LOVE

    I have been a big fan of x, since I was 15 years old. I love this book. I connected with him on some many levels (father, life, love, birthday and family). This book is like NO other! It also makes me have even more respect for him. I bless you in life X. You and your family. You have a good heart. If you don't have this book, it is your loss. One love Kahliah B #1 fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2