BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

ESV Bible

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Best bible app.

Very easy reading and navigation.also you can do word searches with ease.i do my daily bible readings and note taking from this app.i also have the tecarta nasb and kjv,but the esv is my favorite translation.god bless!

posted by 6223818 on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing.

I wish I had not purchased this. I cannot read this past Gen 1:29. I have to go back to the menu to select Gen 1:30, and it wont let me. This was a total waste of money.

posted by 8583636 on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Best bible app.

    Very easy reading and navigation.also you can do word searches with ease.i do my daily bible readings and note taking from this app.i also have the tecarta nasb and kjv,but the esv is my favorite translation.god bless!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Wonderful translation!

    I have read many of the comments of other Bibles. I was almost afraid to purchase one because I might not like it. I truly love this translation. The scriptures are written in common language which is easily understand. It is arranged to where you can find the passages quickly. I use mine in Bible class and am usually at the text before other people have found the quoted scriptures. This company did a great job.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Works well. No big issues.

    I had tested the free KJV before buying this. To me, it works at least as well as any other, and simpler and faster than most others.

    Good: Simple things, like a fast index. Not much hesitation at all (I use the Tablet). I like red quotations, also, and the app from the same people that make our printed Bibles didn't have it.

    Bad: Nothing major, just a few minor things, if they're listening. Sometimes, instead of the ol' black-on-white, I'd like a toned-down page, like a light parchment or grey.

    In the book search, even with ample real estate, they use 2 or 3-letter titles for the books. While 'Luk' and 'Gen' can be figured out quick enough, you stare looking at '1Sa', 'Hos', 'SS' and the like. I bring this up because our Reverend will often refer to other passage during the sermon or the lesson. Now, my wife has the tabs all down her Bible, and has the same thing skipping around.

    And obviously, no, I am no Bible expert. That may not be a problem for many.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Disappointing.

    I wish I had not purchased this. I cannot read this past Gen 1:29. I have to go back to the menu to select Gen 1:30, and it wont let me. This was a total waste of money.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Great book

    Great buy

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great apps Bible

    Very easy to use. This is my new favorite electronic bible. I have the ESV and the free KJV. Love them both! This was definitely worth my six dollars!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Features are awesome

    Worth the small price. God bless!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Love this Bible app!

    Was looking for a Bible that aI could put on my nook and take to church and Bible study that had all the things a hard copy Bibke has. This is a wonderful fit for me. I got lost in my study last night. I really enjoy this!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Love this

    Great way to read and study God's Word. Easy to navigate from book to book and chapter to chapter.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great app

    I like the new version of this program. It is better than the older program my wife has on her nook, multiple bibles and parallel bibles in one app is really neat. I would rate this app a 5 except for the zoom feature. Not being able to use 2 fingers is kind of a pain, having to go into settings to change the font sizei is not as nice as the way it was.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No!!!!

    You cant get it for free i tryed yestarday

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Great app

    One reviewer said it was free online. Maybe, but this is a great product and worth the price...and the people who made this should be compensated. And no. I am not one of the developers :)

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great app

    Very easy to use. Easy to navigate, hi-light and the ability to see two bibles side by side is great. Recomend it highly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Great Bible app!

    I have several Bibles and Bible apps, and Tecarta is the best! Very easy to navigate, take notes and create bookmarks. I love how quickly I can change the translation, too. Great for church, study, devotion and daily reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    I've looked at a few bible apps, and this one ranks well. Howeve

    I've looked at a few bible apps, and this one ranks well. However, in Psalms and Proverbs, the chapter number blots out part of the first few lines of text. Those are the only two books I have found that problem in, so far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Bible

    U cant get it
    For free

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Fff

    I want witnes to my bff but don't to no how to HELP

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Easy To Use

    This app is my "go to" Bible. Easy to navigate, easy to use the cross references, and the updated version makes it easier to take notes and highlight passages. This is what I use in church, and at Bible study. Excellent digital version of the written Word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Frustrated

    I have this app in four versions. I prefer the ESV but when I tap on it I'm put into the New Living Translation. VERY FRUSTRATING!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Love This App!

    This is a wonderfully, easy to use, electronic Bible. You will not be disapointed! Give it a try!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5