Customer Reviews for

ESV Bible

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Best bible app.

Very easy reading and navigation.also you can do word searches with ease.i do my daily bible readings and note taking from this app.i also have the tecarta nasb and kjv,but the esv is my favorite translation.god bless!

posted by 6223818 on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing.

I wish I had not purchased this. I cannot read this past Gen 1:29. I have to go back to the menu to select Gen 1:30, and it wont let me. This was a total waste of money.

posted by 8583636 on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Works well. No big issues.

    I had tested the free KJV before buying this. To me, it works at least as well as any other, and simpler and faster than most others.

    Good: Simple things, like a fast index. Not much hesitation at all (I use the Tablet). I like red quotations, also, and the app from the same people that make our printed Bibles didn't have it.

    Bad: Nothing major, just a few minor things, if they're listening. Sometimes, instead of the ol' black-on-white, I'd like a toned-down page, like a light parchment or grey.

    In the book search, even with ample real estate, they use 2 or 3-letter titles for the books. While 'Luk' and 'Gen' can be figured out quick enough, you stare looking at '1Sa', 'Hos', 'SS' and the like. I bring this up because our Reverend will often refer to other passage during the sermon or the lesson. Now, my wife has the tabs all down her Bible, and has the same thing skipping around.

    And obviously, no, I am no Bible expert. That may not be a problem for many.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great app

    I like the new version of this program. It is better than the older program my wife has on her nook, multiple bibles and parallel bibles in one app is really neat. I would rate this app a 5 except for the zoom feature. Not being able to use 2 fingers is kind of a pain, having to go into settings to change the font sizei is not as nice as the way it was.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great App!

    Awesome app! Love that I can highlight and save verses to my notes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Very usefull

    Love this app, use it daily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    ESV APP

    It is fairly easy to use and took no time to learn. I like that I can access other Bible apps and materials from the one app.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Really like this app!

    So far l've enjoyed having this app on my nook. I am still learning how to use some of the items, but so far, so good. I am glad this perticular Bible version was offered because it is the version we use in church.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Love it

    Easy to navigate. Links with other bibles for quick cross referance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Great resource

    I am still learning how to use all of the features. So far I really like what I see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Tecarta does it again

    I have several bibles by Tecara and they all work well. Sometimes the search engine gives me problems (does not work) but otherwise it's great. I love that I can move from translation to translation and keep all my notes etc. all without leaving the program

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Very happy with it

    Easy to use. Have several versons by this app maker.
    Just wish i could make the font lager when i need to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Love the updates

    Didnt think this app could have gotten any better, but it did. I love everything about it. Ease of navigation, scrolling, saving notes, highlights, history, and so on. It helps me study the Word so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Update problems

    Having problems with the update. App opens and then immediately shuts down. Started happening right in the middle of church. But other than that, i loved the updates!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I use this Bible all the time.

    I like the easy book search. The underlined words give useful scripture. I wish I could highlight individual words. This is a realy good version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Happy BUT...

    I can't use app unless wifi available even though I have SD
    card and for some reason it didn't load on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Solid app

    This app has been a very helpful tool. I havehad this app for a little over a month and haven't had any issues with it. Love ESV Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Good resource

    Easy to navigate. Easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1