Customer Reviews for

The Holy Bible English Standard Version (ESV)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3515 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2404)

4 Star

(428)

3 Star

(296)

2 Star

(150)

1 Star

(237)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

134 out of 138 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Version of the Bible

This is an excellent version of the Bible. It is a clear, refreshing, contemporary translation of Scripture. I had no trouble downloading it to my Nook and I am having no problems navigating around it on the Nook. Some reviewers said it was difficult to navigate. All I ...
This is an excellent version of the Bible. It is a clear, refreshing, contemporary translation of Scripture. I had no trouble downloading it to my Nook and I am having no problems navigating around it on the Nook. Some reviewers said it was difficult to navigate. All I do is click "go to...cover or table of contents." Turn to the next page and you are at the contents...a list of the Books of the Bible. Simply scroll down to the book you want to visit and hit select. You are immediately taken to the first page of that Book which in turn contans a list of all the chapters of that book. You can then scroll to whatever chapter you want, hit select and you are taken to the beginning of that chapter. All of this really takes very little time considering what a huge book the Bible is.

I am glad I made this purchase and would recommend it to you.

posted by refnookreader on March 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

164 out of 181 people found this review helpful.

Using the Table of Contents will help

When I first accessed the Bible after the download I immediately tried to do a search by Book, Chapter, Verse (Dan1:1) and found that that was unavailable. I was disappointed but soon realized that if I go to the Table of Contents I can easily locate the Book, then Chap...
When I first accessed the Bible after the download I immediately tried to do a search by Book, Chapter, Verse (Dan1:1) and found that that was unavailable. I was disappointed but soon realized that if I go to the Table of Contents I can easily locate the Book, then Chapter. The verse(s) within the chapter will be found by scrolling. I actually did my Bible study this morning using the nook and I enjoyed using it. I would recommend this eBook because the ESV's translation is one of, if not the best Bible translation to use when studying.

posted by BSnead on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    it's ok

    not all the features I would like to have but it works esp. since it was free

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Dn O Down loading as we speak

    Call me 1408 224 4811 i need some spiritual guidance im lost and people allways tell me i need him, so im ready to give it a try

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Really Good Bible - With Problems

    I would really like a NASB with the location (Chapter & Verse) at the top of the page, but who do you tell? All 6 Bibles I have reviewed so far just are not user friendly; even the special for NOOK ones. If you want to go to a new location you have to go back to the table of contents and start all over. There is no way of knowing where you are except by page number. This ESV is easy to read, and you don't wait long spooling up to move from location to location, but there is no word search, bible helps, etc. It is the bare bones model. My real grief is with Barnes and Noble. Other electronic readers are providing their customers with multiple APPS, GAMES, TV, VIEDO, MOVIES BELLS AND WHISTLES and we are stuck trying to get a book that will turn pages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Fine for Standard Reading, Navigation is Horrid

    A solid translation, of course, and if you're just looking to read a bible for longer stretches without a lot of skipping around, this does the trick. Utterly useless if you would like to look up various scripture references, however. The navigation is simply inadequate, which might be tolerable if a touch screen keypad were not at your fingertips at all times, reminding you that there's no reason whatsoever why you should not be able to just type a chapter and verse and go there immediately.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2002

    Great translation, poor production quality

    The ESV is a wonderful translation of the Bible, being a faithful update of the RSV done from an evangelical perspective. It is an 'essentially literal' translation, which places it in the word-for-word (formal equivalence) camp, giving due respect to the actual Words of God, while sacrificing nothing in terms of literary beauty. This is quite an achievement! Overall, the translation certainly deserves a reading and could well become the new standard version for the Christian church. That said, I am disappointed with the poor production values of this Bible from Crossway--at least in the hardcover I purchased. From the logo, to the cover, to the layout and general typography, this is an ugly Bible. The quality of the materials and processes (binding) is also disappointing. Given the quality of this translation, I'm frankly surprised that more care and attention was not afforded this Bible by Crossway. I'm contrasting this edition in terms of production quality and beauty with the first edition NIV I have from 1978, and also my current NASB in the hardcover side-column reference edition. These Bibles far surpass this Bible in production quality and beauty (Smyth-sewn binding, lovely, readable typefaces, nice layouts, etc.). This translation deserves a beautiful format. From the human viewpoint, for this version to take it's rightful place, it will require a publisher that can both pull off a quality Bible and market it successfully. I'm not sure Crossway is that publisher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    ESV ebook bible ratings&review ESV Bible rarings & review

    Great bible, light portble (love the cross refrences) and very useful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    I guess this is the most updated version, but still pretty old

    I don't know if Nook offers a newer version, like the NIV, or the New World Translation (which has JUST come out with a new and really great version). This is okay for a quick look up, or even for more in depth reading, but mostly I use it as research when I'm looking from my newer Bible to see what the changes have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    Recommended

    When I have used it I find it is ok.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Interesting

    I have a leather-bound NIV version, which i am more used to. But this Bible is also very helpful when you are trying to understand what some of the words mean, and also the meaning of the verse or subject. ESV, though, is harder for me to understand than NIV, and it can get confusing. Overall, though, a very nice Bible to have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Simpletouchglow

    Add me as a nook friend! aberry1282@yahoo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Useful

    A Bible on a Nook is so much easier to tote than a hard copy. I find the hot links and navigation handy. One suggestion is to allow more than the initial letter search in concordance. I.E. after typing E and jumping to that section you must scroll a long time to get deep into the E concordance items

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    To person on december 31

    Sup what are u having trouble with

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I have aa question...

    I am wondering if this is a diifferent version of the holy bible...well ive only read a few pages of the holy bible......if it is a different version can you please tell me how...thank you!!(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    :*

    Likee It Alot !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Scooby doo

    It is a triva book to test me on scooby doo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Nook friend

    I want to be your nook friend Anonymous January 15 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    50/50

    This bible is accurate but really slow. I use my real bible instead of this one because it is so slow. I'm glad it is free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Idk

    I WOULD N WOULDNT RECCOMEND IT BUT I AM ONLY 12 SOOO IDK LOL

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    have to be careful

    Would not use this as my primary version. Have found some questionable translation in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Alexis

    This is a great translation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15