Customer Reviews for

The Holy Bible English Standard Version (ESV)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3502 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2394)

4 Star

(426)

3 Star

(296)

2 Star

(150)

1 Star

(236)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

130 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Version of the Bible

This is an excellent version of the Bible. It is a clear, refreshing, contemporary translation of Scripture. I had no trouble downloading it to my Nook and I am having no problems navigating around it on the Nook. Some reviewers said it was difficult to navigate. All I ...
This is an excellent version of the Bible. It is a clear, refreshing, contemporary translation of Scripture. I had no trouble downloading it to my Nook and I am having no problems navigating around it on the Nook. Some reviewers said it was difficult to navigate. All I do is click "go to...cover or table of contents." Turn to the next page and you are at the contents...a list of the Books of the Bible. Simply scroll down to the book you want to visit and hit select. You are immediately taken to the first page of that Book which in turn contans a list of all the chapters of that book. You can then scroll to whatever chapter you want, hit select and you are taken to the beginning of that chapter. All of this really takes very little time considering what a huge book the Bible is.

I am glad I made this purchase and would recommend it to you.

posted by refnookreader on March 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

161 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

Using the Table of Contents will help

When I first accessed the Bible after the download I immediately tried to do a search by Book, Chapter, Verse (Dan1:1) and found that that was unavailable. I was disappointed but soon realized that if I go to the Table of Contents I can easily locate the Book, then Chap...
When I first accessed the Bible after the download I immediately tried to do a search by Book, Chapter, Verse (Dan1:1) and found that that was unavailable. I was disappointed but soon realized that if I go to the Table of Contents I can easily locate the Book, then Chapter. The verse(s) within the chapter will be found by scrolling. I actually did my Bible study this morning using the nook and I enjoyed using it. I would recommend this eBook because the ESV's translation is one of, if not the best Bible translation to use when studying.

posted by BSnead on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 120
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Very Good Version of the Bible

    This is an excellent version of the Bible. It is a clear, refreshing, contemporary translation of Scripture. I had no trouble downloading it to my Nook and I am having no problems navigating around it on the Nook. Some reviewers said it was difficult to navigate. All I do is click "go to...cover or table of contents." Turn to the next page and you are at the contents...a list of the Books of the Bible. Simply scroll down to the book you want to visit and hit select. You are immediately taken to the first page of that Book which in turn contans a list of all the chapters of that book. You can then scroll to whatever chapter you want, hit select and you are taken to the beginning of that chapter. All of this really takes very little time considering what a huge book the Bible is.

    I am glad I made this purchase and would recommend it to you.

    130 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    You Can Improve ESV Navigation Greatly - Here's How

    The built in table of contents is a 127-page nightmare. However, by using this TOC and by taking about a half an hour you can create a bookmark to page one of each Book of the Bible. Page one of each book has an active TOC of each chapter within that book. When ready to navigate, click Contents, then click the tab named Bookmarks to see your links to each book. In this way you have reduced your TOC from 127 pages down to about 8. WAY faster than scolling thru the built-in TOC, and still have quick access to each chapter within each book.

    57 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Great for Devotional Reading

    This format contains only the text and the translation notes. It does not have reference notes, so it is not ideal for Bible study use. It is also not ideal if you want to jump from different books in the Bible. However, it is ideal for devotional reading. The text is laid out in paragraph format instead of the usual listing of verses. I found this really helpful, as I get a much better feel of the context of what I am reading. Add this eBible to your collection if you want to just sit down and read what the Word is saying.

    38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Easy to Use and Read

    Honestly, I was surprised at the navigational ease of this eBook Bible. The table of contents lists all of the books of the Bible and each book also has a table of contents for each chapter. Within 2-3 clicks, I am able to find the scripture I am looking for. The translation is easy to read and comprehend. So far, this is my favorite eBook Bible I have used.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Use this one along with ISBN-13: 9781605011134 KJV Bible

    This particular version listed above was made for use with the nook and you can go to any chapter and verse immediately. Where I go to church they read from the KJV so this one is perfect for church or jumping around. It only costs $.99, you can't beat the price for a Bible made for Nook use!

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    Brilliant

    My all time favorite translation. Clear to understand and close to the original language. Beautifully done for the nook and easy to navigate.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Great Pick

    I've been using my nookbook version for this bible and it's great. Once you get a hang of how to turn to each book by going to the contents tab. It's easy to maneuver from chapter to chapter. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a nookbook bible.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Outstanding translation, wonderful footnote navigation

    This is a wonderfully well-researched translation, very Nook-friendly, with convenient hyperlinked footnotes to make navigation a breeze (TO the footnote and BACK to the verse you were reading). The only caveat is that the Nook CPU is relatively slow, vs. reading a large publication such as this on an application such as NOOK FOR PC (which is exceptionally user-friendly and satisfying), so patience in reading this Bible on the Nook itself is indicated. One GOTCHA I ran into was that in navigating to one footnote referencing and navigating to the PREFACE, which did fully explain the origin of the Hebrew word in question, there was no way to conveniently navigate back to Matthew, let alone the verse I was reading, without laboring through the Table of Contents. In contrast, most footnotes allow ease of navigation by putting a hyperlink FROM the verse TO the footnote, and then the VERSE is hyperlinked at the front of the footnote (somewhat like a "back" button) allowing you to jump back to the last verse read. I wish the Nook had a "back" button, perhaps in a future operating system. Overall, this Bible is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for scholarship, readability, comprehension, navigation, and price -- it was $0.00 when I "bought" it. Contrary to the wisdom of "you get what you pay for", this Bible even at $0.00 is exceedingly valuable. I'm looking forward to purchasing the ESV Study Bible available from B&N for something like $9.99 at this writing, which I plan to read primarily on NOOK FOR PC for greater ease of navigation and a bigger screen to view study aids. The ESV Study Bible (not reviewed here) in paper format is supposed to be a real brick, requiring a backpack to lug around, per the reviews of others.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    great Bible for an ereader

    I've used one other Bible in my ereader, but this one by far is the better of the two. It is very easy to navigate, it has section headings, and this version is so readable. And of course, the price is right. I don't think you can go wrong with this Bible. I like it a lot.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    This is the best book ever. Period.

    This is my favorite version of the Bible.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Bibles are awesome! am I rightbor am I right! ?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!!!!!!

    first of all, the holy bible is the one book I cannot live without. Its for me and my other followers in christm will agree eith me that the bible is the key to our lives and living wthout it and a personal relationship with christ, is live living dead. Anyway. This version if the hy bible is easy to use witn the table of contents that gives you. A selecyion of books of the bible to ho to and read. This translation, personally I think is the best. Well anyway I have to go but, please buy the bible, its free anf it can change your life! THAKYOU

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended! Great life guide.

    Best book ever written. EVER. A life changing book about love, life, death. It has all the essentials: War, love, romance, humor, family and a hero~THE Hero.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    LOVE IT LOVE GOD

    Says it all

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Works great on my e-reader!

    I really like the translation and the way you can toggle back and forth between the footnotes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended, Must Have

    Love this version of the Holy Bible. It's also easy to use, it doesn't get stuck like some of the other nook bibles. It will not lock your nook book up that I've noticed and I look at it somewhat often. Thank you for your time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Its the Bible..

    Helping people for 2000+ Years..
    I like the translations and easy to read format.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Great

    Relatively easy to navigate, i think the nook simple touch has a problem with such a large book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    When i first got this bible i was so blessed because im not good at finding chapters and stuff but now i can go to 1 John 1:8 in a blink of a eye and its free! Great bible even if it wasnt free i would have still gotten it. Get it now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Excellent

    If you appreciate the ESV bible, this is a must have for your Nook. Clear, concise book, chapter and verse headings as well as the Crossway footnotes and helps.
    If you are considering an alternative to the King James version, I highly recommend the ESV Bible.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    go ananymous

    i second your notion

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 120