Customer Reviews for

Each Little Bird That Sings

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Yanks those heart strings!

    I don't necessarily like reading but my mom bought me this book and I decided since I needed to read for a class anyways I would just read this book, it had a beautiful cover and an interesting name. I was actually kind of excited to read it, and that doesn't happen very much!
    It seemed a little weird at first, reading about a family that lives at the towns funeral home, but it kept my attention. I'm not one for death but this gave me a whole new look on the passed on. The author did a WONDERFUL job at making you feel as if you were right there next to Comfort Snowberger, experiencing her trials as she told us of her life being a resident of the Snowbergers funeral home. The story pulled me in and I was hooked. I kept reading and the author started to add a little bit of drama to the story between Comfort and her best friend since child hood, Declaration. I think the author did a great job of getting you involved in their drama and made it easy to relate to what was going on in the story, I am a sucker for books with drama, this just added so much more to the story.
    The book got really interesting when a family death caused some of Comforts odd relatives to come stay. Peach, her little cousin, reminds me exactly of my annoying, but loving little ten year old nephew! that fact made it fun to read the story and easy to relate to Comforts "annoyance" toward Peach cause I know exactly how she feels! But you really get to see the softer side of Comfort toward the end when Peach is having a hard time excepting a horrible death that took place and comfort calms him and reinsures that everything is okay.
    The part I liked best of the story was the climax, when her and Peach were sucked into a life threatening flood and Comfort made a brave decision to let go of her loyal companion Dismay (her dog) in order to save peach. I believe I read this chapter twice because it just pulls you in and you feel like your right there with them mixed up in this whole situation.
    I would recommend this to anyone who has a problem dealing with a death of a family member or a beloved friend. Its also a great book for someone who likes reading heart felt, personal stories. I wish I would have had this book when i lost my dog because it would have helped a lot! This book is in my top ten picks, it was a cute story that could help someone with personal problems or it could just be a fun read.
    I loved this book and I would be willing to read it a couple times more for sure, I fell in love with it instantly and will most likely continue to love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    Very, very helpful.

    This book was amazing. It was so emotional and i felt like i was there with Comfort. I read this book when I was little and when my Great Grandma died, I read this book again and it helped my cope with her death. I would recomend this book to anyone that has hand a hard time with dealing with death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite books I have read this year!

    I thought this book was good from start to finish, and I never got bored with it. The only thing I didn't like was that the ending confused me. But, still good. I started reading this in school, then I took it home and forgot to return it... Oh well! I didn't have to pay for it, and it is a good book to read over again and again. But, I do feel bad for the guy who payed for it.. He was another student... But anyway, read this book!

    -Book_Worm_1998

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Each Little Bird

    Wow! I loved this book! I finished it in one night. It was a great read from start to finish, except a few parts started to lose me. I mean, the ending was a bit confusing. Anyway, I really liked how Deborah Wiles talks about those sensitive subjects like death and friendship. She did a great job. If your considering reading this book, don't even hesitate. You'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Extraordinarily Charming

    Very charming, this book is a feel good book. It is so cute. I loved it when I read it. I was eleven and I thought it was the best book in the world. I would definently recommend this for anyone from 8 to say 12. Its great. Its worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    This book is enchanting!

    Truly charming!This book is amazing! I loved this book.It shows how strong you truly are. I never wanted to put this book down. I think that this book is the best book ever written. Deborah Wiles is a wonderful author, and she should write more novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book touched my heart when I read it. You MUSTT!!! read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Comfort in everything

    Each Little Bird that Sings is a wonderful book that introduces children to life and to death. Death is all around us and to some a part of our home life. Comfort Snowberger lives in a funeral home so she is well aware of what happens after death. For children it's wonderful in the way that it discusses how death is wonderful in ways and that we are here for a reason and we live in the hearts of those we love. For those with bratty relatives, it shows that when it comes down to it, one always does the right thing. In the end, Comfort learns a lot about death and more about those around her living and about the life that she lives. I would recommend this book to those searching for a little bit of meaning to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    A Good Book to read in spare time

    Each Little Bird That Sings By Deborah Wiles Have you ever lost someone? Have you ever lost an Uncle or an Aunt? Or even the friendship of your one and only best friend? Comfort Snowberger has. Comfort Snowberger lives in a funeral home with the motto of ¿We live to serve.¿ Her Aunt and Uncle suddenly die and her best friend has gone to the mean popular kids. Declaration ignores her and makes fun of her too. To make matters worse she has to hang around watching her annoying cousin Peach who cries at everything! Also, people die all throughout this story, but mostly the ones Comfort loves and knows dearly. Comfort goes through the entire struggle while maintaining herself from insanity. The story takes most place at Snowberger¿s Funeral Home and so does the action. Comfort tells the story throughout this book. The story has some excitement in the story but it¿s also sad. The book entertained me a lot in the story. If I had to talk about a genre for this, I would say it is Realistic Fiction. The author of Each Little Bird That Sings is Deborah Wiles and she also wrote ¿Love, Ruby Lavender.¿ The main characters are Dismay (her dog), Comfort, Peach, Declaration, Mom, and Dad. In the story Comfort loses a lot of people, but she still finds happiness. She never stops believing. When I read, in one of the parts it becomes clear. The Author did a very good job at writing this book that I could not stop thinking about how I thought everything looked liked in the story. I liked the book because it was sad mostly throughout this book but in the end Comfort found happiness. The group of people I think should read this book or most likely would is an age group of 8-12. Comfort loses a lot of people but the next one she loses is closer than she thinks. Read Each Little Bird That Sings by Deborah Wiles to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    love it!!!!!!!

    this was a very interesting and good book........but i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    Recommended read for all ages!

    'I come from a family with a lot of dead people.' This is the opening line of the book, which states without question what the issues of this book are about. Comfort Snowberger is a ten year old girl who lives with her family above their family-run funeral home. She has attended 247 funerals and has developed a clear cut view of what she believes death is about. Within months, her Great Uncle Edisto and Great-great-aunt Florentine pass away. Comfort's view of death changes as she experiences it in her own family. Her calm, mature attitude of death is contrasted by her annoying cousin, Peach, who just can't comprehend what happens when you die or understand why the people around him are dying. This emotional topic is presented in a way that is appealing to young readers by the quick wit and charm of Comfort. She writes the 'Life Notices' (obituaries) for the town, and refers to herself as 'explorer, recipe tester, and funeral reporter'. Her support system rests mainly on the companionship of her dog, Dismay, and her friend, Declaration, who has been treating her rudely. On the day of her Great-great-aunt Florentine's funeral, an accident involving Comfort, Peach, and Dismay changes the perspective of how to deal with loss and forgive yourself and others when faced with grief. Children will feel caught up in the moment and be able to relate to the feelings of Comfort during this time, but will hopefully learn through the example that she sets. Be ready to experience the emotions of Comfort and get lost in the moment as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A must read

    Having lived in her family owned funeral home, Comfort Snowberger is no stranger to death. This story tells of the struggles Comfort faces when coming to terms with personal loss. Deborah Wiles pulls readers in through the emotions and thoughts of Comfort. This book will fill you with many emotions from sorrow to excitement. I think readers will be surprised by the heartfelt ending. I do recommend this book for any reader who has dealt with the sorrow of loosing someone you love. As stated in the book, ¿missing someone you love is hard.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    A must read book!!!!!!!!!!

    I think this was a very good book! Although it is a little sad, it is still a wonderful book! Deborah Wiles talks very dramatically at times and she makes a happy, but unhappy ending. This for sure wouldn¿t be a Disney movie. I had to keep reading, because it is a story that takes you away, into the world of happiness, sadness, and wonder to know how the story will end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Each Little bird that sings review

    This was one of the most exciting and wonderfull stories I've ever read! There was suspense and adventure throughout the story. It was an exciting heart warming story! It is about the best book I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    Fantastic

    Wow this book is great but really sad I cried while reading this book but overall it was fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    A spine-tingling page turning book!!!!!!!!

    This book was wonderful.All i wanted to do was keep reading!!!This would be a great book to get kids,being that i am a kid i highly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    too much dead talk

    I think this was a great book but it was kinda weird that the main charector loved to talk about dead people it was also kinda sad....but otherwise great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    a great Bluebonnet selection

    This book is a 2006 Texas Library Assoc. Bluebonnet pick. It's the best one since 'Because of Winn-Dixie.' I,like Comfort (the protagonist), grew up around the funeral business. We had a light-hearted way of looking at it too. This narrative brought back many happy memories for me. What an enjoyable book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2