Customer Reviews for

Each Little Bird That Sings

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Each Little Bird

    Wow! I loved this book! I finished it in one night. It was a great read from start to finish, except a few parts started to lose me. I mean, the ending was a bit confusing. Anyway, I really liked how Deborah Wiles talks about those sensitive subjects like death and friendship. She did a great job. If your considering reading this book, don't even hesitate. You'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Comfort in everything

    Each Little Bird that Sings is a wonderful book that introduces children to life and to death. Death is all around us and to some a part of our home life. Comfort Snowberger lives in a funeral home so she is well aware of what happens after death. For children it's wonderful in the way that it discusses how death is wonderful in ways and that we are here for a reason and we live in the hearts of those we love. For those with bratty relatives, it shows that when it comes down to it, one always does the right thing. In the end, Comfort learns a lot about death and more about those around her living and about the life that she lives. I would recommend this book to those searching for a little bit of meaning to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    A Good Book to read in spare time

    Each Little Bird That Sings By Deborah Wiles Have you ever lost someone? Have you ever lost an Uncle or an Aunt? Or even the friendship of your one and only best friend? Comfort Snowberger has. Comfort Snowberger lives in a funeral home with the motto of ¿We live to serve.¿ Her Aunt and Uncle suddenly die and her best friend has gone to the mean popular kids. Declaration ignores her and makes fun of her too. To make matters worse she has to hang around watching her annoying cousin Peach who cries at everything! Also, people die all throughout this story, but mostly the ones Comfort loves and knows dearly. Comfort goes through the entire struggle while maintaining herself from insanity. The story takes most place at Snowberger¿s Funeral Home and so does the action. Comfort tells the story throughout this book. The story has some excitement in the story but it¿s also sad. The book entertained me a lot in the story. If I had to talk about a genre for this, I would say it is Realistic Fiction. The author of Each Little Bird That Sings is Deborah Wiles and she also wrote ¿Love, Ruby Lavender.¿ The main characters are Dismay (her dog), Comfort, Peach, Declaration, Mom, and Dad. In the story Comfort loses a lot of people, but she still finds happiness. She never stops believing. When I read, in one of the parts it becomes clear. The Author did a very good job at writing this book that I could not stop thinking about how I thought everything looked liked in the story. I liked the book because it was sad mostly throughout this book but in the end Comfort found happiness. The group of people I think should read this book or most likely would is an age group of 8-12. Comfort loses a lot of people but the next one she loses is closer than she thinks. Read Each Little Bird That Sings by Deborah Wiles to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    Recommended read for all ages!

    'I come from a family with a lot of dead people.' This is the opening line of the book, which states without question what the issues of this book are about. Comfort Snowberger is a ten year old girl who lives with her family above their family-run funeral home. She has attended 247 funerals and has developed a clear cut view of what she believes death is about. Within months, her Great Uncle Edisto and Great-great-aunt Florentine pass away. Comfort's view of death changes as she experiences it in her own family. Her calm, mature attitude of death is contrasted by her annoying cousin, Peach, who just can't comprehend what happens when you die or understand why the people around him are dying. This emotional topic is presented in a way that is appealing to young readers by the quick wit and charm of Comfort. She writes the 'Life Notices' (obituaries) for the town, and refers to herself as 'explorer, recipe tester, and funeral reporter'. Her support system rests mainly on the companionship of her dog, Dismay, and her friend, Declaration, who has been treating her rudely. On the day of her Great-great-aunt Florentine's funeral, an accident involving Comfort, Peach, and Dismay changes the perspective of how to deal with loss and forgive yourself and others when faced with grief. Children will feel caught up in the moment and be able to relate to the feelings of Comfort during this time, but will hopefully learn through the example that she sets. Be ready to experience the emotions of Comfort and get lost in the moment as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A must read

    Having lived in her family owned funeral home, Comfort Snowberger is no stranger to death. This story tells of the struggles Comfort faces when coming to terms with personal loss. Deborah Wiles pulls readers in through the emotions and thoughts of Comfort. This book will fill you with many emotions from sorrow to excitement. I think readers will be surprised by the heartfelt ending. I do recommend this book for any reader who has dealt with the sorrow of loosing someone you love. As stated in the book, ¿missing someone you love is hard.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    too much dead talk

    I think this was a great book but it was kinda weird that the main charector loved to talk about dead people it was also kinda sad....but otherwise great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    a great Bluebonnet selection

    This book is a 2006 Texas Library Assoc. Bluebonnet pick. It's the best one since 'Because of Winn-Dixie.' I,like Comfort (the protagonist), grew up around the funeral business. We had a light-hearted way of looking at it too. This narrative brought back many happy memories for me. What an enjoyable book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1